We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We love Grand Sea Resort.. Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Sea Resort
Ranked #57 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“We love Grand Sea Resort.. Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

we have been coming to Koh Phangan for 7 Years. Grand sea resort is my new favorite place. We rent the basic room since we are on a budget, staying in Thailand for 3 months. The staff are very helpful and go out of there way to see you have a wonderful experience. The location works for us , nice beach close enough to town if you want to walk. The other hotel guest are on the higher end not too many loud parters like some other places. . For the price, location , quality is high. We are still here and having a grand time.

Room Tip: Beach villas are beautiful ..we stayed in the guest house. Rooms are large and perfect. Seems like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lori r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    32
    28
    18
    18
See reviews for
14
49
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

I had high expectations from this place after seeing their website - and I have to say that they beat my expectations on all counts. The minute I entered, I went "Good lord, this place looks AMAZING!". The rooms were very big, very clean and had great views. They were also much nicer than they looked on the hotel website.

The staff was very friendly and very helpful at all times. The swimming pool was at the nicest possible location. The resort is right on the beach.
We paid for one week despite staying there only four nights (because of the New Years' peak season rush), but inspite of that I would say that the price was very reasonable for the kind of place it was.

Minor downside: The breakfast was very average, it was the same 3-4 things every day.

But other than that - I would definitely love to stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Superior Guest House rooms, so I can't speak for any other category, but these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khunger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logan City, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

My wife and I stayed for 11 days and we had a wonderful time. Each and every staff member was helpful, fun and courteous. The family owners are also the most friendly I have met. would stay again in a heartbeat. didn't want to leave. I have read some of the more negative reviews and think you should not blame the resort because you picked a resort in the wrong place for your needs. Location is fine for a relaxing holiday. Also remember this is not an expensive hotel and I believe you certainly get much more than you pay for. Great Job Guys. Cheers Mate. And remember its marvellous what a difference Milo Makes!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DnKKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Grand sea resort
Conveniently located within a 15/20 walk of the Thong Sala pier. The beach in front of the resort is nothing to write home about but the hotel's 2 swimming pools are tranquil and clean.

Delicious breakfast, if a little disorganized! They probably had a skeletal staff since it was still the low season.

The hotel is walking distance from various scooter rental shops which are the best way of getting around the island and discovering the islands best beaches which are on the north west coast.

The hotel offers a taxi service to Haad rin beach for the full moon party.

Overall, a great place to be stay on Koh Phangan if you're looking for somewhere relaxing and laid back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mairead M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airlie Beach
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Booked up to stay here over the full moon period. You have to book for 4 nights to secure a room during this time which was not great. Overall the resort is very pretty and huts very cute and traditional from the outside. However the interiors are very basic on the inside which is typically Thai. I think some if the comments about the staff are unfair as any dealings we had with them were always pleasant and helpful. We was unhappy with the first room we were put into ad it was high up and I had hurt my leg they were happy to move us no problem. A lot of the staff that work on the grounds don't speak any English so this can be mistaken for rudeness. The pool and beach area here is really beautiful.
Wifi however is shockingly bad and didn't work at all for the 4 days we was here. Staff had no co from over this and suggested using the local Internet cafe, which was frustrating as the website advertises wifi and as the rooms are quite expensive you would expect this to work.
All in all not a bad place to stay rooms are basic for the price you pay but clean with good air con and complimentary water. Also a decent buffet breakfast is included in price.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustineCupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed at Grand Sea for 1 night only before Full Moon (23-24th of July) and it was awful experience.
Location is not good enough - too far from Haad Rin, and what is important, the location is not suitable for spending time in the hotel itself, so you obliged to spend 150-200 batt per person to escape from there. The coast is dirty and absolutely unsuitable for swimming.
Rooms are very basic (but it's normal for the region), but bed linen was really dirty. We had a hole in bed-sheet and large yellow stain. The air in room smelt moldy! Probably the reason was that the room was very close to swimming pool...
So our advice is to spend money on something less luxury-looking, but closer to Haad Rin.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NathalyaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel for a few days over the June '13 full moon party period.

From the outside, this hotel looks more like a palace you'd see in the cities. It really is a nice building. However, inside it's a very basic hotel. Cheap bedding, push down taps (those you get in public toilets that automatically stop quickly) and a strange shower/bathroom which is more like a concrete shed attached to your room.

It's as if the hotel has changed ownership and gone into budget mode since being built.

The rooms are very spacious, the breakfasts are good, and the staff are very friendly and helpful, but you don't get the extras you'd expect for that price - in Thailand, at least.

Also a long, bumpy taxi ride to Haad Rin (100 baht each - don't pay more)!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy9l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.5 mi away
Baan Busaba Hotel
Baan Busaba Hotel
#64 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mac's Bay Resort
Mac's Bay Resort
#47 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
1.3 mi away
B 52 Beach Resort
B 52 Beach Resort
#76 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Mandalai Hotel
Mandalai Hotel
#42 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beck's Resort
Beck's Resort
#40 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
4.7 mi away
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
#65 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sea Resort

Property: Grand Sea Resort
Address: 152 Moo 1 Ao Nai Wok, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Sea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing