We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for”
Review of Grand Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Sea Resort
Ranked #65 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in order to go to the full moon party.

The hotel on a whole looks beautiful however we were staying in the cheapest room. So didn't expect much. The room itself was very basic, but good enough for what we paid. However on entry to room my boyfriend had to go round picking up lizard poo! Due to the many lizards that seem to set up home within these rooms.

Pools are beautiful and the beach is ok too, this made up for our room. However we paid very little!

Restraunt food is ok, however this was our 3rd week in Thailand and the western food was surprisingly better than the Thai food we had already had on our travels. However still ok and reasonably priced!

We found most people at the resort didnt speak good English at all, which made it difficult to communicate within the restraunt. Resulting in incorrect food orders for us and other guests. One thing that totally made up for everything was the free breakfast that was included in our room rate. Which was amazing and always spot on!

The lady in reception however was really helpful and spoke really good English. They also provide a free shuttle to the ferry port and a really reasonable 150baht charge to full moon party.

You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hpopcon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for Grand Sea Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Was here a while back and only rate it if you need a base for a short time nothin special I can remember. Rooms a bit musty .pool ok . Location good . Wouldn't go out of my way to recommend this one . I do admit the weather was bad so didnt help my week there any . Cheers

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Chillman68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This resort is not more than 3 km from the Thong Sala Pier.

Been there fist time on June, 2013, stayed there 2 nights and then Koh Tao.
They had 2 swimming pool, one between the beach and their restaurant, another one is somewhere near the entrance.
We had a lovely bangalow near the beach, very nice view.
The food was not bad and very reasonable price.


So, we decided to get back there again with family next 3 weeks.
Everybody were so happy staying there...

Room Tip: Ask for bangalow or cottage house near the beach.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamParami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Nice clean room, comfy bed, good shower room, would definitely stay again. There are two pools and can also swim in the sea. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and we also had other meals in the resort that were very reasonably priced.

The only negatives were a holiday employee not following through with requests for booking the ferry or organising a taxi. He did book the ferry after being asked twice. We had advised we were catching the early morning 7.15am ferry on our day of check out and made certain someone would be available on reception that morning with a taxi to the ferry. On that morning the reception was locked up, no sign of anyone and no taxi to ferry. The was a very stressful start to the morning. Had to just leave key and go out onto street hoping for a tuktuk (taxi). We did make the ferry and I phoned the resort later to sort out monies owed for food.

The only other negative was discovering the washing we had done that was returned in a plastic bag was not dry. This bag got packed as we were leaving the next morning and it was only 24 hours later we discovered a bag of smelly wet clothes instead of clean dry washing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank habbie200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I have visited here in the past, six years ago. What a change, i dont they have painted a thing. Service is not good at all. Cleaning the rooms takes asking and asking. Shower didnt work and was not fixed in my 3 day stay, not good at all. The location is great but the resort has lost it. I wont be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnny p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Location:
quiet, small private beach and peacefull neighbouring bay, 20min walk to Thong Sala (you will get everything you need there)

Resort: neat, 2 pools one near the sea, the pool lamps are not fixed and can fall out, kayaks for free

Room:
sufficiently furnished, beds were shaky, no safe in the room, things have to be stored in a free safe in the reception, a pump for the washing machine was making noises day and night

Restaurant and breakfast:
good, many different dishes but nothing special, normal prices

Staff:
At the check-in the receptionist tried to convince us that we haven't booked breakfast although our voucher says so.
Reception office hours should be 8-20 but at 10 reception was still closed, so we could not access our things in the safe. The staff at the restaurant was not helpful at all. Very annoying


Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank NilsUh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

It's quite a big resort but we had the cheapest room. AC and hot water, big bed and closet but not much else. Quite a big room but not really any furniture! Bathroom OK, little weird shower because when you used it, it sprayed all over the bathroom... outside our room was chair and a place to hang clothes to dry, not a private balcony though.

Staff was OK, nothing special to mention because I didn't really ask for any help. Breakfast is quite OK actually and included, fried eggs, some thai food, toast, cereal, coffee, bacon etc. Pool area nice but not enough sun beds. Big area but only like 5 sunbeds, weird! Little private beach area with a few hammocks and grass. Quiet location, very close to Monte Vista Retreat Center where you can do yoga. (Just be prepared on a 200 m steep steep hill).

20 min walking to Tong sala where they have a great evening food market, supermarket, stores, pier etc. 10 min walk further up north is the great Top Rock Bar. Some stairs to climb but a GREAT place to watch sunset and the staff is so nice. You can find cute little "hidden" beaches close to this hotel also, either by swimming out and to the right, or by walking a little up north and then down to the beach.

I guess all in all quite standard resort, maybe you can find nicer and better value somewhere else. But I liked the location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AT17A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.5 mi away
Baan Busaba Hotel
Baan Busaba Hotel
#58 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
44 reviews
1.3 mi away
B 52 Beach Resort
B 52 Beach Resort
#78 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beck's Resort
Beck's Resort
#42 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sea Scene Resort
Sea Scene Resort
#25 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
178 reviews
2.4 mi away
Milky Bay Resort
Milky Bay Resort
#18 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
769 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mandalai Hotel
Mandalai Hotel
#49 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sea Resort

Address: 152 Moo 1 Ao Nai Wok, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £22 - £427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Sea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing