We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mai Pen Rai Bungalows
Nearby Hotels
US$81
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan(Ko Pha Ngan)
US$835
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan(Ko Pha Ngan)
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$223
US$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Neptune's Villa(Ko Pha Ngan)(Great Value!)
US$31
US$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
US$153
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baan Manali Resort(Ko Pha Ngan)(Great Value!)
US$40
US$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Divine Comedie(Ko Pha Ngan)
US$47
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveller rating
212
84
45
29
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
84
45
29
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson the rocksfamily bungalowmosquito netkoh phanganbeach bungalowlaid backparadise on earthno hot watersurat thanifull moon partyfriendliest staffthai foodspent nightsrelaxing staybeautiful beachbaht per personelectricity
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 390 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed 6 nights in January 2012 at this resort. The bay itself is absolutely breath taking and it is one of the most beautiful and secluded spots I have ever seen.

However, the experience of our stay in Mai Pen Rai Bungalows was a bad one, deciding never to use this resort again during any future stays in Than Sadet Bay.

The bungalows are splitted between a row placed directly on the beach and a few scattered on a small peninsula which is devided from the main land by a small river, flowing into the bay. Our bungalow was on this small peninsula. We rarely had running water during the morning, the morning toilet for two persons becoming so a tricky task (with no water!) and nothing flushing away.... Each morning we reported this to the staff of the resort, nothing happened, we were just told, someone would look after it, however, nobody did... For the entire 6 days we received one toilet paper roll only, the bins were never emptied and no staff was being seen looking after any of the other bungalows either.

You have to go across a „swimming bridge“ in order to reach your bungalow on the small peninsula. During the day, it is fun jumping from one part of the bridge to another, during the dark this may mean that you make an unvoluntary swim.

During the last day of our stay, we experienced a tropical storm with typical heavy rain. We were in our bungalow during the rain and after it stopped, we wanted to go for dinner as we had not eaten the whole afternoon, waing for the storm to pass.

Our bridge was gone!!!

We could not pass the „small“ river as during the storm it became a wild tossing river !!! No contact to the actual resort was possible and we were lucky to have saved a half bottle of drinking water in the bungalow, meaning at least we would have something to drink during the night. We stayed awake, trying to figure out whether it will be possible for us to leave the resort at all during the next day. Our neighbour (an Australian guy) was trapped on the other side during the night, unable to reach his bungalow on the peninsula. Next morning we met him in front of his door and he said, he swam across the tossing river during the night...

We packed our things and luckily, there was a boat which took us to the main land. Looking back at the small river (which now was the original smooth itself) we were wondering if this was the first time, the resort experienced such a storm ...

The bungalows on the small peninsula, many of them designed as family bungalows, are absolutely unsuitable for families with small children due to the very unsafe passage across the bridge!

Than Sadet Bay is worth a visit. Mai Pen Rai Bungalows is not.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Luisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Mai Pen Rai bungalows are a lovely place to stay. We kind of knew what to expect after reading many reviews and the resort lived up to our expectations!

It is a very chilled and relaxed place and the rooms and bathrooms are nice. We stayed on the rocks which was really unique and had great views. The rooms on the rocks may be difficult to get to if you are not physically able or very unfit or if you have a large, heavy suitcase with you!

We arrived in Koh Phagnan on the last ferry of the day and managed to get the last taxi to Than Sadet of the day so unless you want to pay a fortune for a taxi to get to the resort late at night, try to get an earlier ferry or ensure you don't miss the taxis around the time of the last ferry arrival.

There is a safe at reception you can use as the rooms are not that secure.

Just bear in mind a couple of issues we had whilst staying at Mai Pen Rai: keep tally of your own tab because the staff calculated the total wrong and tried to overcharge us. Remember what laundry you hand over because all of my underwear went missing! When I asked the staff about it they were not very helpful and told me to check again so when I insisted they check through all of the other laundry bags they eventually found it was mixed in with other people's.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 02kel02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

With the trails of Asia becoming harder to make your own we felt lucky to have found, we feel by chance, this remote and relatively untouched piece of paradise. We travelled by scooter over roads that may have helped this little pocket of Koh Phangan remain so relaxed. There were 3 of us staying in a 3 bed family bungalow. These are built into the rocky point of the cove with unobtrusive views of the ocean and cove. Making it feel as if we were the only ones there. A hammock set up on the front deck became my bed and i woke to the most breath taking sunrises over nothing but ocean!
With most of the islands having rather shallow waters surrounding them. Than Sadet beach is blessed with deep clear blue water right on your door step.
If you want to experience an island getaway at true island pace then this is the place. The owners and staff have perfected the level of attentiveness and service that you would require from such a getaway. And the food is stunning and well presented.
Im truely torn between telling everyone about this place or keeping to myself!
I'll be going back for a longer stay next time. thanks for the wonderful stay.

Room Tip: any of them
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lucas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed here for 1 week in a family bungugalow on the rocks.
We loved it!
Our children ( 4 and 6 years old) had a great time and are still talking about this place.
good food and great vibe.
The view was also one you have never seen before
only one minus; the laundry was not really good, it was still a bit wet when we got it back and not clean. But this was the only minus we could find
We come back for sure

Room Tip: when you stay with children the family room is great
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaenPascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012


We stayed at Mai Pen Rai back in December 11, and although we were hit by the bad weather that came in over Christmas we still had a wonderful stay. 

We had a bungalow on the rocks - it was family sized/duplex so huge for the two of us! The build quality was amazing. Obviously we saw a few ants and the occasional spider, but they kept out of our way. This is built on the edge of a rainforest so is to be expected!

Getting through the cave to our bungalow was a challenge during the storm waves - suggest either wearing some waterproofs or travel up the cliff via Plaas and Silvercliff to avoid the cave route if the waves do get too big! Also a torch is essential for getting back at night.

We found the service to be friendly and the food great (particularly the breakfast). Did find the food and drinks a little pricey though, and found ourselves going to Silvercliff to eat most of the time (it was worth climbing the steps!)

Apart from the weather the only other downer was the Christmas buffet - very expensive for the food that was served and in retrospect we wish we hadn't signed up for it. Maybe if it had been better weather and there had been a BBQ/fire on the beach it would have been a different experience.

We wanted somewhere to stay for Christmas that was a bit cut off from the rest of the world and where we could relax, and Than Sadet/Mai Pen Rai was definitely just what we needed!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HopperGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews