We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top spot to chill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mai Pen Rai Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2009

Our second visit to these bungalows and they didn"t dissapoint. Delightful beach location with an out of the way vibe helped by the transport to and from by way of local ferry and exciting songthaew ride over the so called road. We had a bungalow on the rocks which is basic but with an excellent bathroom built into the rocks and magical sea views from the deck. The restaurant on the beach serves excellent thai dishes at great prices. The beach offers excellent swimming both at low and high tides unlike the other side of the Island.. Overall for 400Bht a night this place is fantastic value for money if you are looking for a place to relax swim, read and eat.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynneandcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2009

If you are looking for a laid back and easy going atmosphere this is the place to be.
Mai pen rai bungalows are accessible by a 40 min drive from Thongsala or by the sea with a longtail boat, you really need a 4 wheels drive jeep because the road in the middle of the jungle is very bumpy. (I really don't suggest you rent a scooter because it could be really dangerous for the road condition and for the approaching big suv's, since in some curves you really don't see if there is another vehicle approaching)
There is the resort pick-up from Thongsala everyday at 1pm at 150bath one way, taxi rate is around 800bath and you can get a jeep rented for 700/1000bath a day.
For the first nights we had a family bungalow that was located on a small hill facing the beach.
The wooden bungalow had 1 double bed and on the upper floor two single beds, there is a fan in every floor, mosquitos nets over the beds, a really cool bathroom made with real rocks, a private terrace with one hammock and a table with chair with a wonderfull view over the beach and the sea.
Prepare to be a bit on the wild side, since bungalows don't have hot water (but it's really not such a big issue, it's really hot outside), there is a power cut from 1am to 11am (and as for the cold water, it's not an issue, going around at night with a torch makes the place even more special) As the place is near the jungle there are some insects, but no problem at all. just the flies while you were eating were annoying. For mosquitos just get a lotion and no problem.
For some nights I moved to a bungalow on the rocks, same layout of the family bungalow but it was just one floor and for 2 people and it was facing the sea directly (location is a bit far from the beach compared with the bungalows on the hill and those direct on the beach, but just a 5 min walk) the view is amazing and so realaxing when you lie on the hammock with the sound of the water crashing on the rocks.
The mai pen rai has a restaurant where you can have breakfast, lunch and dinner (the spicy papaya salad and the mai pen rai curry are delicious).
other restaurants available are from the other bungalow resorts nearby, two restaurants on the hill top with a great view and 2 on the beach (one is the mai pen rai) and another next to the mai pen rai.
At night there is not much to do, but sometimes there is a dj playing live music and the atmosphere is so laid back, very nice; a tv with satellite programs and dvd is also available for guests.
There are also some excursions available, we took a daytrip to Ang Tong National Park and it was nice.
A wi-fi connection is available (obviOusly WHEN power is on) and there are also some pc'S available for those without one) it's not free.
On the beach you can also rent kayaks at 100bath-hour
I really don't reccomend this place for people looking to be pampered or a fancy place neither for older people with moving problems then the way to the bungalows is not so easy, being over the rocks. (just the beach bungalows are easy accessible).
as read on a previous review I really don't find that some of the people working there are not in the mood to do it. LING (if i can remember the right name) looked maybe at first time rude but she was so funny and all the other stuff are nice and corteus.
For the price you pay and for the atmosphere this is the place to be, MAI PEN RAI!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadster76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2009

You definitely have to accept being in a secluded place, 45 mins far from reality, in a golden prison of beach, water, nice food provided by the restaurants of the small bay ( I counted 5 in total) and nothing more than that. It's full of insects, the electricity cuts out at midnight, the bungalows are very basic and there is no hot water. There is no room service and the cell phones have no network. if you want you can connect to the internet from a wi.fi spot at the reception. I bought a card to connect from the i-phone, it just didn't work! The staff are ok, more like friends than actually people serving you in the Thai way.
I'll tell you something: once you get there, you couldn't care less! You just enjoy, wake up in the morning, spend your day at the beach or take a boat to go somewhere, you come back and before midnight you are sleeping already. The more I think about it the more I wanna go back! Get carried away...

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

I had read the amazing reviews and was really looking forward to spending time here. However although it is a nice place and isolated it was not what I was expecting. The rooms are basic and nice but be warned that there is no hot water and electricity only runs at certain times of the day. Also we found that because it is in a jungle the amount of insects and lizards etc is unreal. The lady who owns the place is nice and so are most of the staff but one or two seem to have a huge problem with being there. you will need to bring a torch to get to your room at night and the sand on the beach is more gravel then sand. It is still a lovely place and the bungalows on the rocks have an amazing view which makes all the stress of getting there nearly worth it. It is a lovely place but a bit on the wild side.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidays649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

A place that makes you forget every single thing, and all the worries in the world. time doesn't matter and neither does money.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramin87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

The beauty of this place is that it is so remote - a perfect getaway for a few days.

Getting there was an adventure, taxi bus on very bumpy roads (which made it seem all the more remote and attractive) and when we got there it was nothing like we had expected... it was much much better.

Great huts on the beach, a stone's throw away from the sea and a great bar/restaurant to boot. A quiet and tranquille atmosphere with really friendly staff.

Simply amazing and the perfect start to our holiday - if you don't go here, you will miss out on a great experience.

Thanks to all at MPR for a wonderful few days!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wolfie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2009

Hi everyone!
If you are loking for a place like you imagine Robison Crusoe was, this is it! It's on a private beach situated for itself surounded by a manifiquant jungle. You can choose from bungalows on the beach, river or on rock, all of them are very special and with a lovely interieur. After a day on the beach, relax on the balcony or get a drink at restaurant which is situated right on the beach. The owners are are very very nice, they make sure that you will spend a unforgetable holiday. Try all the food they cook, it's good, fresh and tasty. It's nice to stay at Mai Pen Rai for several days, but it's even better to stay for several weeks, as longer you stay, the more you get in touch with the real paradise!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bananamen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Pha Ngan
1.9 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#37 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
255 reviews
7.7 mi away
Seetanu Bungalows
Seetanu Bungalows
#22 of 412 in Ko Pha Ngan
498 reviews
4.1 mi away
Smile Bungalow
Smile Bungalow
#68 of 412 in Ko Pha Ngan
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Haad Khuad Resort
Haad Khuad Resort
#79 of 412 in Ko Pha Ngan
69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plaa's Thansadet Resort
Plaa's Thansadet Resort
#10 of 113 in Surat Thani
50 reviews
6.7 mi away
Beck's Resort
Beck's Resort
#42 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Pen Rai Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Pen Rai Bungalows

Address: Than Sadet Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 412 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £11 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mai Pen Rai Bungalows 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mai Pen Rai Bungalows, one of the oldest resorts on Koh Phangan - the place of pleasure for nature lovers and Artists. For an experience of the old Koh Phangan, this is the place to come away and forget all the stresses of the outside world. Mai Pen Rai is situated in a paradise infringed with swaying palms, and green turquoise waters. Here at Than Sadet the bungalows are built in harmony with the nature around with prices to suit travellers and back packers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mai Pen Rai Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai Pen Rai Bungalows Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing