We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Substandard and awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
J.J. Bungalow & Guest house
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The rooms were dirty, the beds terrible, the bathroom even worse, and service non-existent. Paying for this room is a joke. A hostel would be better if this were the alternative. The only good thing is the location. Look elsewhere for sure. I went there based on review on tripadvisor which is typically reliable and has usually worked for me. This would be a good example of the exception.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeoNYtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2012

Good hotel, located in some 5 minutes from the party beach and in 10 minutes from the pier. so - easy to get anywhere you want and not noisy at night. deluxe rooms are great - big and clean. nice staff and no drawbacks actually noticed. i would stay there again when going to phi phi!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trubo4ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

From getting off the ferry at Tonsai pier in Phi Phi we were surprised at how much Phi Phi has changed from our memories a few years back. This has become more of a party island now and attracts a much younger crowd.
The island itself is having a lot of construction and building work done but everything is still only accessible by walking so if you have a massive ruck sack or case, be warned that JJ Bunglows is the other side of Phi Phi (about a 20 min walk) but is only minutes from Loh Dalam beach which is a good thing as this beach is far better than Tonsai.

JJ Bungalows is very basic although the rooms are far bigger than we expected with a balcony. The rooms were clean and the air con was very good which is all we wanted as this was only a base for our two day stay. The staff were very friendly, they have security cameras which helps and the pool looked new with really nice sun loungers but the surrounding area itself is very dirty.
With ref to previous comments about 'poo garden' we didnt smell a thing when walking past, it just looked like a garden to us, what we were more surprised to see was the rubbish everywhere you looked but we blame that on the surrounding building works that are happening at the moment. If you want a base very close to the beach and nightlife (but away from the main noise - although you do hear a little) then this is a good base but if you want the extras such as a safe, breakfast, nice balcony with a view etc then this is not for you!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We stayed five nights at JJ Bungalow and were not disappointed with our choice at all. Ko Phi Phi is jammed full of guesthouses and hotels of various price and quality, but we were happy we read some reviews and stayed where we did. Our bungalow was large and had air conditioning and served as a good respite from the heat and bustle of Phi Phi. The location is quite close to the village but a bit outside which makes it quieter than places along the beach. The walk is nothing to worry about, less than 5 minutes to restaurants and maybe 10 min to the pier.

The staff were mostly absent and/or kept to themselves, although when we locked ourselves out of the unit the woman at the front desk helped us get into the bungalow. No real complaints but you certainly shouldn't choose it based on staff friendliness or helpfulness. But for a clean, comfortable, quiet room amongst the craziness of Phi Phi it was well worth it.

Room Tip: Pick an air conditioned room to beat the heat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuartN957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We stayed here last year and decided to come again.Same friendly staff,same nice wooden bungalows, same steep steps :-) Though there is now a swimming pool which is nice after a day on the beah etc.
The road(?) up has seen alot of changes with new hotels and shops being built, and the smell form the sewerage plant wasnt noticable at all.Would we stay again?- same same :-)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karlnvicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

This is no resort. Expect basic rooms- quite large and clean, and basic necessities-fridge, tv, chairs, dresser, hot water. No fancy shower curtain or towel racks. Given that hotels in Phi Phi are relatively expensive, this was good value for money. And given that you'll spend most of the day at the beach, you'll not really need much more.
While the room and the private bathroom were spotless clean, the bathroom by the pool was kept extremely dirty, so avoid at all costs! Also there are sacks thrown around in some areas of the premises, making some parts look quite untidy.
Lots of cats in the premises, some even try to enter the room at times.
Another negative was that there is no staff around after 11, and the locker room area is not accessible, so if you are walking in late and need something from your locker, your loss!
The location is not the best, but Phi Phi is a small island and it only takes a 5-10 min walk to get near the shops and restaurants. The poo garden didn't bother me at all...perhaps the sinus kept the smell away :)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ratherdumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

The location is excellent, close to everything but far enough that it is quiet. Rooms were big, not much of a view but there is a big balcony. It was clean. Didn't really interact or see the staff too much. Breakfast not included but that is okay because it is close to many places that serve good food. I would stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amarcz29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.3 mi away
JJ Residence
JJ Residence
#6 of 64 in Ko Phi Phi Don
302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kitty Guesthouse
Kitty Guesthouse
#5 of 90 in Ko Phi Phi Don
210 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunwaree Phi Phi Resort
Sunwaree Phi Phi Resort
#36 of 90 in Ko Phi Phi Don
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
#3 of 90 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,317 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cobble Beach
The Cobble Beach
#17 of 90 in Ko Phi Phi Don
412 reviews
0.8 mi away
Viking Natures Resort
Viking Natures Resort
#2 of 90 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J.J. Bungalow & Guest house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J.J. Bungalow & Guest house

Address: 95 Moo 7, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: £28 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — J.J. Bungalow & Guest house 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your J.J. Bungalow & Guest house reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
j.j. Bungalow Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing