We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
J.J. Bungalow & Guest house
norton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Ok this hotel I booked for deluxe room which I was very unhappy with , don't get me wrong but the rooms looked really good , but for what I pay,d 2200 baht a night was a night mare , there was no wifi unless u pay 100 baht an hour , staff not very welcomin , and even better everytime it rained the room turned into a shower leaked everywhere , and when mentioned , she shrugged her shoulders as if to say what do u expect me to do, I'm not the type to wing or moan but for what I pay, d I did expect better.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NortonPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    59
    43
    12
    12
See reviews for
9
69
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed at JJ Bungalow for 5 nights in March 2012. We were met at the pier by a member of staff who took our bags to the bungalows which was great because it is a good 20 minute walk in the heat. We arrived at the bungalow and were instantly disappointed. Considering we paid 1,800baht a night the room very much didnt meet our expectations. The walls and floor are bare with marks, scratches and cracks. The furniture is horrible and looks like it hasnt been replaced for years. The bed felt like i was sleeping on a pile of bricks and the bathroom was awful and smelt. Wi-fi is not included in the price and you will part with 100baht of your hard earned cash for an hour of very slow poor quality Wi-fi. The staff don't seem interested and are very unhelpful. We have been travelling for 3 months now and we are not fussy in the slightest about accommodation but this has been the biggest disappointment of our trip so far. The pool is actually very nice but this is the only positive we could think of. One last warning, the bungalow is situated near to a waste management unit so a walk to the beach/shop/restaurant will greet your nostrils with an awful stench.

I understand that Phi Phi island is expensive compared to its neighbours but we discovered far better rooms for cheaper than we paid. Shop around!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2fatpigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The rooms were amazing. Clean, with a perfect access to the swimming pool. Hot water, fridge, complimentary bottled water. The only downside no complimentary breakfast or wifi. Otherwise no complaints. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malaa1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannes
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Good surprise, at our arrival at the pier, someone from the hotel was expecting us. He helped us with our heavy luggage. At the reception, the woman was very kind, she even upgrades up. We had a deluxe bungalow. The room was really nice and large with a terrace and a view on the swimming pool and a very large bathroom.
The hotel is very quiet and located only at 5 minutes from the main street and the beach ... A very nice stay !!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

On a recent 1 night stay in JJ Bungalow we were awfully surprised by the roughness of the staff who showed absolutely no interest in helping or providing a btter service. the hotel is located relatively far from the beaches and close to the water treatment plant which makes the walk to the restaurants disgusting.

Rooms were beyond baisc, although AC worked pproperly. Toilets were disgusting and overall the room was dirty. I strongly recommend not to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FeloNei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The rooms were dirty, the beds terrible, the bathroom even worse, and service non-existent. Paying for this room is a joke. A hostel would be better if this were the alternative. The only good thing is the location. Look elsewhere for sure. I went there based on review on tripadvisor which is typically reliable and has usually worked for me. This would be a good example of the exception.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeoNYtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Good hotel, located in some 5 minutes from the party beach and in 10 minutes from the pier. so - easy to get anywhere you want and not noisy at night. deluxe rooms are great - big and clean. nice staff and no drawbacks actually noticed. i would stay there again when going to phi phi!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trubo4ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.3 mi away
JJ Residence
JJ Residence
#6 of 62 in Ko Phi Phi Don
284 reviews
0.8 mi away
Viking Natures Resort
Viking Natures Resort
#1 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,520 reviews
21.1 mi away
Sunwaree Phi Phi Resort
Sunwaree Phi Phi Resort
#30 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
#2 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Dream
Phi Phi Dream
#7 of 62 in Ko Phi Phi Don
286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Papaya Phi Phi Resort
Papaya Phi Phi Resort
#4 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J.J. Bungalow & Guest house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J.J. Bungalow & Guest house

Property: J.J. Bungalow & Guest house
Address: 95 Moo 7, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 88 Speciality Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — J.J. Bungalow & Guest house 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your J.J. Bungalow & Guest house reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
j.j. Bungalow Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing