We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good stay (apart from the last night)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
J.J. Bungalow & Guest house
newcastle upon tyne
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Another good stay (apart from the last night)”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Following my enjoyable stay in Feb this year, I stayed here again for 2 nights in May.

We quickly changed rooms after realising we had some young noisy Russian kids in the room next door (I had 4 nights in the same room in Feb & didn't hear a thing virtually, this time, it was obvious after 30 mins that the kids next door were not people you want to spend any time nearby) , & had a great quiet 1st night in our new room further up the hill. The 2nd night, the A/C completely failed unfortunately late in the evening & nothing we could do but endure the night as best we could.

I still think its a great location to stay, an easy walk to both bays, pretty quiet & good value for the size & quality of the room. One thing to note, just 2 sockets in the room, for the fridge & tv, so you have to plan when you want to charge phones, cameras, laptops, Kindles etc.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaynewcastle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    59
    43
    12
    12
See reviews for
9
69
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This place has big and clean rooms. It is about 7 minutes from the beach at loh dalum. The hotel has a small supermarket inside it which is great. The bathrooms are clean and room service is good.

It is far enough from the beach to drown out the loud noise but close enough to walk it down easily. Phi phi view point is about 10 minutes from this hotel.

The only downside is that the AC is sometimes not very effective as the rooms are quite big.

All in all, great value for money. I recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PawanGupta1388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

A little bit far from tongsai bay, but adventage is quite enough for sleep. We book the delux room about 2000baht/day, hot water is great, a/c is strong enough, king size comfortabale bed and the whole room made by wood, that make me feel great. disadvantage is have to clam some sharp stairs. And the bath room seems quite old, need repaire

Room Tip: The place build base on a small hill, so choice higher room u can get more quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liyihua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
601 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Cant complain too much about this place. We paid for the middle of the line room with wood panel walls which were just lovely. The room itself was huge, the a/c worked well, the hotel was located about 15-20 mins from the dock and about 5 mins from the edge of town making it perfect for us to be close enough to the food and excitement but far enough to be able to sleep well at night. You could barely hear the club music at night, not enough to bother. There were about 4 flights of steps for us to reach our room but we expected that and due to the geography, anything outside of the main town area will have steps. My only complaint was that for the price, I expected a separate shower area. Instead I got a shower head in the middle of the huge bathroom. There was also no hose or bucket or anything to rise our feet off after coming in from the ocean so with or without shoes, you still tracked sand inside. There was no breakfast but in 5 mins your in town and have 100's of options, the Internet was fast, only one set of towels for both the ocean and the shower. Reception hardly spoke English. You do walk past the water treatment area so it does smell pretty bad, but only for a minute or so.

Room Tip: There are three "levels" of steps, so if you want less steps, ask to be closer to the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

A great central location, less than 10 mins walk to the main beach, & the main shopping area which has plenty of bars/shops/restaurants etc. I was amazed you weren't disturbed by the noise/music at all, which is very important to me.

A few reviews have noted the smell from the sewage works you walk by, I only noticed it once & must have walked by at least 20 times in 4 days. Its nothing to worry about at all, unless you're really sensitive.

The room was one of the largest I've had on my trip, cleaned everyday, A/C good, fridge, and good value for Phi Phi. Better than my 3600baht a night room at the Bay View Resort the previous year. The swimming pool was lovely, although there didn't seem to be any mattresses or pool towels available for the sun loungers (although I didn't ask.

I would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaynewcastle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

JJ bungalow has all you could ever need when staying in Phi Phi. Rooms are large and kept exceedingly clean on a daily basis.
The accommodation is a little out of town which means that it's quiet at night if you want to sleep, but also only a 5-10 minute walk into the hustle and bustle of the centre where it all happens.
Staff are friendly and helpful.
If you're looking for a good base to drop your bags and go exploring it's fantastic.
The swimming pool (added since I last visited) is also a nice and cool place to spend an afternoon away from the crowds.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GazzaBryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

The location is particulary good, you dont hear night noise from partying people, BUT you must go through water cleaning plant (really smell) or you must go through way around unoccupied pieces of land with LOT of waste and smell too - so choose :-( we have basic air con bungalow, pretty basic used room with strange bathroom( no shower room, shower is just looking at you from the wall by sink. Very strong Aircon - too much for us, daily fresh towels are good. Not worth the money you spent I think :-(

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Bob123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.3 mi away
JJ Residence
JJ Residence
#5 of 62 in Ko Phi Phi Don
283 reviews
0.8 mi away
Viking Natures Resort
Viking Natures Resort
#1 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,517 reviews
21.1 mi away
Sunwaree Phi Phi Resort
Sunwaree Phi Phi Resort
#31 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Dream
Phi Phi Dream
#7 of 62 in Ko Phi Phi Don
286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kitty Guesthouse
Kitty Guesthouse
#6 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Papaya Phi Phi Resort
Papaya Phi Phi Resort
#4 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J.J. Bungalow & Guest house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J.J. Bungalow & Guest house

Property: J.J. Bungalow & Guest house
Address: 95 Moo 7, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 88 Speciality Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — J.J. Bungalow & Guest house 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Booking.com so you can book your J.J. Bungalow & Guest house reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
j.j. Bungalow Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing