We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Room, quiet and walking distance from the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
J.J. Bungalow & Guest house
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent Room, quiet and walking distance from the beach”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The room was lovely, all wooden interior and very large with a veranda out the front. Very homely. The bathroom wasn't amazing but it was ok. There were a few sets of stairs to our room but the staff were helpful and carried our luggage up to our room for us. We took the card key out of the socket at night time as we had one set of lights that just wouldn't switch off!

We would stay there again, the on site shop was very handy and the rooms were brilliant.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 115 and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMikeReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    59
    43
    12
    12
See reviews for
9
69
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle upon tyne
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in mid-January, still a good place to stay & not too expensive, away from the noise, but still close to the beach.. My 2 previous reviews from 2013 cover everything really.

The first 2 nights, we could hear the couple next door through the walls talking & coughing a bit, I don't know if they talked loudly, or if this room had a particularly thin dividing wall. It was a bit off-putting

We did find the pool very cool on this trip, perhaps the vegetation around the pool could be cut back a bit, to allow more direct sunshine onto the water

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaynewcastle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

stayed in the family bungalow room over new years with my girlfriend. We were taken a back by the the room it was massive with tele big fridge etc.

We were provided with two bottles of water each day which was a nice touch.

Pool was real quiet and refreshing after a long day or night.

Only noises we heard when outside around were monkeys and birds in the nearby forests!! Amazing

Did get woken up once or twice with monkeys on the roof, didn't mind as we found it fun.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tommyc855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessenderlo, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We have stayed at both JJs and this one (the one on the hill called the bungalows) is best avoided. Poor location. Gobs of steps. The other one is nicer. Staff are ok, but face it, this entire island is burnt out on tourists. It may be their income, but they need a day off from us.
So, if you go, try the other JJs...or somewhere else entirely.

If you have not been to Phi Phi, just expect tourists, tourist food and little peace and quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

First impression was quite good. Lovely staff which even carried our bags into the room. The room itself has been terrible. Deluxe room with blood on the bed sheet, mould all over the bathoom. No alternative room. We left after one night. So just don't come here, you will find way better places on phi phi for that money.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Florian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile


Stayed here for three nights. Very overpriced for facilities available compared to what we got in other places for same if not less per night and we have stayed at a lot of places over past few weeks. Rooms are clean(bathrooms fairly clean but definitely in need of a deep clean) and staff very friendly. It's at least a 15min walk from pier and difficult to find we had to find jj guesthouse to get directions! Complex was very quiet at night which was nice but still a lil bit of a walk from main streets can be annoying as it is a dark road you have to walk up. It's average accommodation overpriced. If u are travelling for few weeks and trying to save your money to stay at nice places one in while don't pick this one to spend almost €60/night.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Traveller1986882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Came to the island for a night and unfortunately chose this to overnight.
Reports say you are met at the pier. Yes you are then you have to walk about 3 kilometers in searing heat lugging your suitcase.

There are so many twists and turns to get there with many unsavory sights and smells on the way.
On arrival you need to climb stairs,ups and downs to get to a scarce but clean room

Very very basic.
Pool is clean and has to be found via a series of stairs !

The quote that the beach is 250 m away. Well that may be ...... As the crow flies.

Never again.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2david1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.3 mi away
JJ Residence
JJ Residence
#6 of 62 in Ko Phi Phi Don
286 reviews
0.8 mi away
Viking Natures Resort
Viking Natures Resort
#1 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,529 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kitty Guesthouse
Kitty Guesthouse
#5 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Sunwaree Phi Phi Resort
Sunwaree Phi Phi Resort
#31 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
40 reviews
1.0 mi away
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
#3 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,268 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cobble Beach
The Cobble Beach
#13 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J.J. Bungalow & Guest house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J.J. Bungalow & Guest house

Property: J.J. Bungalow & Guest house
Address: 95 Moo 7, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 88 Speciality Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — J.J. Bungalow & Guest house 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your J.J. Bungalow & Guest house reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
j.j. Bungalow Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing