We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
J.J. Bungalow & Guest house
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Phi Phi Banyan Villa(Ko Phi Phi Don)
US$70
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Phi Phi The Beach Resort(Ko Phi Phi Don)
US$135
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$177
US$151
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
P. P. Palm Tree Resort(Ko Phi Phi Don)
US$86
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Zeavola Resort(Ko Phi Phi Don)
US$343
US$221
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$176
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$59
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
P.P. Erawan Palms Resort(Ko Phi Phi Don)
US$84
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Tohko Beach Resort(Ko Phi Phi Don)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Phi Phi Hotel(Ko Phi Phi Don)
US$49
US$45
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
19
63
47
15
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
63
47
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet at nightwater treatmentnice poolthree nightsjjislandclimbluggagevillage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2010

We booked this hotel from phuket after reading the reviews on here.
Very friendly staff,big rooms and only a few minutes walk from the beach/nightlife.
People have complained about the smell from the sewarge works when walking past but its not that bad.
Not ideal if you;ve got problems walking as the bungalows are up very steep flights of steps

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karlnvicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We had initially decided to book for 1 night in JJ Bungalows just to have somewhere when we first arrived in Phi Phi, then we intended on looking around and checking into somewhere else (if we could find somewhere better) for the next 3 nights. But we ended up staying in JJ for the 4 nights.

The rooms are spacious with a big TV and bathroom, fridge with water everyday and a nice balcony to sit on. The first night we did have some problems with mosquitos - they were everywhere outside the room buzzing round the lamp - literally hundreds - then we found that there was a gap in the window and they were coming into our room, but we grabbed our stuff and ran down to reception and they put us in a new room straight away which was much better!!

We didn't have much interaction with the staff but they were friendly and smiled and said hello everyday and always did a great job cleaning our room.

As previous reports have said it is a good location in that it is far enough away from the bars so you can get a decent nights sleep, but it is bad in that you have to walk past the sewerage point every day but this doesn't affect the room as there is no smell there.

Phi Phi is a gorgeous island, we had a great few days there joining in with the backpackers and partying, watching the Thai Boxing and chilling out on the beach in the day. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love2travelCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

This was such a great place. We arrived on Phi Phi with nothing booked but a vague idea of area we wanted to stay. We passed JJ's and hubby decided to have a peek. He came back impressed. We looked at another place ad then came back. Good decision! The girl on reception was so kind and helpful, gave us map and advice straight away. We got a large room for 800 bhat.

Great value for the island. The room and bed were huge! Nice new large TV with cable, clean and decent bathroom, air-con, 2 free bottles of water. Nice balcony area with seats. Yes there are cheaper rooms to be found on the island but I doubt they would be anywhere near as nice.

We had no problems with staff, as some other reviews commented on this. Yes their English is not great - but this is Thailand! We can make a bit of effort too! All the staff we dealt with were very polite, helpful and smiley.

Ah, the waste treatment facility - somewhere that must be passed if you want to get to beach and town quickly. Can't complain really as it's a necessary evil. Smell very bad for about 1 min but the whole thing is camouflaged with tropical garden so it's not TOO bad!

Ko Phi Phi is gorgeous, stunning island but we were shocked at the amount of rubbish on the main beach. worrying sign for future. The island itself was full of youngsters on gap years so sometimes felt like we were in Benidorm or Ibiza with the amount of drunk kids out of it on whiskey buckets!

The beach on the ferry pier side of the island is quieter and very pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ezziebahnezzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

I and my boyfriend stayed at JJ's for a few nights last February .
We booked a deluxe bungalow as the standard one didn't look very good on the internet site. And we weren't disappointed at all. The bugalow was great indeed : really clean, well-furnished and spacious ! It was situated on the top of a hill ( those steps were very steep to climb but a good exercise !), and just a 2 min walk away from Phi Phi Village but still far enough from it not to hear all the loud noises of the party town.

The staff wasn't very kind to us, they didn't even say hi when they'd see us, but this isn't really important, we have to bear in mind that people don't really speak English in Thailand but at least they're always smiling, unlike the JJ staff but oh well.

The hotel is located right next to a waste water collection and it horribly stinks in the morning when you have to pass through it to get to the town / beach. Fortunately you can't smell it from the hotel !

On the whole, I'd recommed the deluxe bungalow to anyone for the reasons I've already mentioned and for the price too, it's good value. On the contrary, the rest of the hotel looks pretty old and would need some renovatiions.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

Really nice rooms on a hill (have to be fit to climb the steps every day ;-)). Takes about 10 min. to walk to the nearest beach (though you have to pass a sewage plant to get there). Generally not to far away from anything you need but far enough to get some peace and quiet on a lively part of the island.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sawasdee2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews