We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, noisy at night!”
Review of Baia Baia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baia Baia
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, noisy at night!”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed at the Baia Baia resort for 5 nights. It is one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen, and this hotel is right on the beach on the prettiest side of the island. In the daytime it's really peaceful and relaxing with such a chilled out atmosphere and stunning scenery. There's lots of trips to do and a snorkelling boat trip is well worth doing to see all the cast of Finding Nemo! At night time it turns into a party every single night - we didn't mind the noise as we were up for the parties, but if you want to sleep at night this is not the place for you! Our bungalow was literally vibrating with the bass of the music on the beach which was a good distance away! If you do want to party, you will have the time of your life - fire shows, UV face/body paints, amazing barbeques, cheap booze and dancing in the sand all night. We had a great time here and I will never forget it! Some people have said that the staff were rude but we did not find this at all - the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful, as are most Thai's. There are also lots of restaurants nearby which do amazing food. We ate so well here!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    20
    9
    13
    18
See reviews for
2
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

This was our second time staying at this hotel. We had stayed here about 4 years ago and it was fine. The bungalows are cute. The water in the bathroom trickles in and don't expect a fresh towel until 6 p.m. the next day, due to the outsourcing of laundry services off of the island. The location is beach front. All of this is manageable, however, in the 4 years since we've stayed here, Koh Phi Phi has built up A LOT and there is way more going on. This has made Baia Baia a horrible place to stay.

At night...the tranquil beach turns into a throbbing, bass pounding, beach rave. Baia Baia is right in the middle of all of the beach clubs and party scene. We didn't sleep at all. The bass pounding, club remixes stop at 2:30 a.m. The music at the near by beach cafe, which also blasts into your room, starts at 10:30 a.m.

After the first night, we asked if we could move hotels, well with Agoda we had pre-paid, sure, we could leave, but we couldn't get a refund. We now know why this hotel won't give refunds. If you want to sleep, you would have to leave. A lot of people must try and get refunds.

We decided to buy earplugs, which did little to stop the blaring Katy Perry music at 2:00 a.m. I actually cried one night, I was so frustrated by the noise. After this, I decided to suck it up and pay for another hotel. Unfortunately, we were also there during the high season and every hotel went to was full. It was another night "sleeping" in da club.

After 4 nights here, I was ready to get off of Koh Phi Phi. It's really sad that most of my time on Phi Phi was spent sleeping during the day on the beach because I hadn't slept at night.

I still have a headache when I think about "sleeping" here. So...stay here...unless you want to sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nsb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012 via mobile

Booked a one night stay here on Agoda. Never actually stayed because when we showed up they were full due to overbooking. The staff was rude and insinuated that it was our or Agoda's fault for only booking one day ahead of time even though the manager admitted to not checking her email in the past 24 hours. To her credit, she did call Agoda and get us switched to another hotel but only after claiming that we must have booked the wrong day (we refuted by showing our confirmation receipt) or that it somehow wasn't their problem. Would not recommend unless you're looking for a headache and a waste of an afternoon.

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
Thank sovls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on a recommendation from a family member. We stayed in a room as opposed to a bungalow. We are paying 900B a night since its the low season, which is pretty reasonable. However, it's definitely in a party spot!! There are a number of beach bars within walking distance and they blast music until the wee hours of the morning. If you're looking for somewhere romantic, or traveling with kids this is NOT the place for you. The room was clean, comfortable bed, mini fridge and A/C, they claim hot showers but I've yet to have one.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bella Bella, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2011

This cute little hotel has rooms and seperate bungalows steps from the beautiful beach of Phi Phi Don Island. Spend the extra money and get a bungalow-they are clean and cozy but remember you are staying on the beach in Thailand so you might encounter a cockroach and sand in your room-be forgiving.The reception is friendly and accomodating and speak very good English. The beach bar in front has great food and atmosphere with a thatched upper level which is great for getting out of the rain and has a great view.
It is however right in the middle of the bars and clubs which play loud music until 2am. We never found the noise a problem but if you are in Phi Phi to relax and chill find another place to stay. If you love the night life and being in the center of the action then this is definately the place for you-we LOVED it. The location was convienent and central and we would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Proceed with Caution. This place is beautiful, the rooms are cute and clean and it is literally on the beach in thailand, but as you can see below, it is LOUD - from music at the bars nearby. We thought we could tough it out, but we couldn't. I loved loved loved it, but I needed sleep too!

Unless you are passed out or out until the bars close (around 3am), sleeping won't happen. Meanwhile, the restaurant with it, Ciao Bella is DELICIOUS!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USAOkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Nice place to stay very close to beach but can be loud at night if not going out. Food in ciao bella is very good.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.3 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#15 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Phi Phi Good View
Phi Phi Good View
#11 of 62 in Ko Phi Phi Don
87 reviews
0.5 mi away
Phi Phi Beach Front
Phi Phi Beach Front
#21 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apache Beach House
Apache Beach House
#46 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orange Tree Phi Phi Island
Orange Tree Phi Phi Island
#35 of 62 in Ko Phi Phi Don
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
B Place Guesthouse
B Place Guesthouse
#13 of 62 in Ko Phi Phi Don
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baia Baia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baia Baia

Property: Baia Baia
Address: 9 Moo 7, T-Aonang A.Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 88 Speciality Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Baia Baia 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Baia Baia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Baia Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing