We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Bungalow, great for partying!”
Review of Baia Baia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baia Baia
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cute Bungalow, great for partying!”
Reviewed 31 January 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights with my friends. We arrived in the afternoon and were taken to our cute bungalow by a guide from the hotel, they picked us up right from the pier.The bungalow we stayed in was located right on the beach, which was excellent. The bungalow was clean and even included a bathroom. The water in the bathroom was from a well, so it smelled kind of strange. They provided towels and free internet. At night, there were loud beach parties right near our bungalow. But, we came to have fun on Koh Phi Phi,so we were in a great location. I'm not sure what time the parties ended, but they went on pretty late.
In conclusion, this was a cute bungalow, with average service and it was a little expensive. The location is perfect, as long as you came to party until late at night! This is not somewhere to bring young children.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nsb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    19
    9
    13
    18
See reviews for
2
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
China
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2009

If you are young, energetic and ready to have an amazing experience on Ko Phi Phi Don, then book your room at Baia Baia. Located on the chilled Lodalum Bay side of the island, housed literally on the beach, and joined by the delicious Ciao Bella restaurant, a stay at Baia Baia is a must.

I came with a group of five other young travelers from the US and the UK. We currently work as English teachers in China and this was our week-long holiday during China's Mid-Autumn Festival. Upon arrival to the main pier of Ko Phi Phi Don, we were immediately greeted by a very friendly Thai local who worked for Baia Baia. He quickly carted our luggage to the other side of the island without difficulty. As we walked through the little bamboo gate entrance, under the tall palms trees and past the workers quarters, I became a little worried about where exactly we were staying. However, this initial concern quickly transcended into sheer bliss when we arrived at the reception desk at Baia Baia. The uploaded pictures should give it more justice than my description, but simply put, seeing the turquoise blue water, the white sand and a young couple sitting at a table on the beach drinking piña coladas immediately put me and the rest of my weary group at ease.

We stayed in the guest houses and our rooms looked just as they were presented on the website: immaculate, stylish and comfortable. Being the typical AC-addicted American, I could not have asked for a more powerful air conditioner; we could have chilled meat in there it got so cold and let me tell you, nothing feels better on sunburned skin than smearing yourself with aloe vera and cranking down the AC.

Each room came with an easy-to-use personal safe, a refrigerator, large wardrobe, double sink washing basin and shower with hot/cold water. They had maid service every morning in which they changed the sheets and towels, tidied the room and supplied your fridge with two new bottles of water. There was even a small hose outside each room for washing the sand off your feet.

As I mentioned earlier, Baia Baia is ideal for the young and energetic in that if you enjoy partying, you are in the perfect location (in between two beachside bars/clubs). However, if you prefer a bit more solitude in the evening then I recommend staying at Baia Baia’s sister hotel Marine House located near the main pier, away from the commotion of the bars but still very close to all the action.

Although Marine House is not on the beach, it does offer a higher level of refinement than Baia Baia and is ideal for those with children or those not eager to party into the wee hours of the night. I wish the family who wrote the only negative review about Baia Baia would have stayed in Marine House instead because, yes, given Baia Baia’s location in between two bars/clubs, the music plays until around 2AM and can be uncomfortable to some people. But then again bear in mind that this IS a party island and people come from all over the world to have a good time.

All in all, I highly recommend staying at Baia Baia. It is clean, safe, comfortable, ON THE BEACH, and is operated by the incredibly friendly and accommodating Italian Luciano Butti (who, by the way, survived the tsunami and wrote a compelling book detailing the event). I can’t wait to stay here again on my next trip to paradise! Oh did I mention that it was only about $20 USD per room per night?! And yes, Luciano’s restaurant Ciao Bella serves up some amazing Italian and Thai food too that you can eat at a table with a mojito ON THE BEACH all of which are only a few steps from your room. Now that is the best value on the island!

GRAZIE MILLE LUCIANO E LA BAIA BAIA!
- Mason T.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mturner902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2009

I stayed here with my boyfriend for 1 night and another in their sister hotel Marine House. Had a great time, the staff were really helpful and friendly. They advised me on the best Phi Phi Ley trip to do - which was great fun. The bungalows are basic but with lovely touches like candles and pebbles in the showers. The location to the beach is fantastic (20 second walk) if you have a bungalow at the front you can see the beach. The Italien restuarant Caio Bella did really yummy Italian food with imported ingredients for a good price. Really enjoyed their pizzas. The only down side is the proximity to the music on the beach which goes on most of the night. Do not stay here if you want the quiet life but if you want to enjoy Phi Phi for the fun loving place that it is i definately recommend it! Its sister hotel nearer the Marina is gorgeous with lots of pretty paintings, lovely rooms, is very clean and quiet. So if your after a quieter time then look up Marine House. I don't think Baia Baia deserves the bad reviews its had - go there and have a look for yourself!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2009

There is a serious problem with the water in the bathrooms. It smelt strongly of sewage and was very unpleasant. The rooms were dark and the surroundings untidy. Otherwise the rooms were clean and well decorated. The heavy bass coming from the bars next door continued until 4am and made sleeping difficult. The staff seemed a little arrogant and the restaurant Ciao Bella was not bad but probably the worst Italian owned restaurant we came across. Baia Baia was the low-light of our 6 week trip in Thailand.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twotaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Roma
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2008

Baia Baia is the perfect location if you like a wonderful sightseeing, night life, gorgeous sea food and good cocktails. The resort, due to its position, can offer all of these things.
The staff is helpful and friendly, and rooms are very clean.
Ok, maybe the high volume music until late can dissuade some people from staying there, but... did you come to Phi Phi to sleep?

Thanks again, Baia Baia!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Veleno75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2008

If you're looking for a cheap bungalow right on the beach with a party type atmosphere then this is your place. Be ready for loud music from two beach bars next door that play thumping music well past 1:00 AM. If you like piece and quiet then I definitely wouldn't stay here. The walls were literally shaking all night to dance hits old and new.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — loud music basically in your room
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boston_mike99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2008

We were really looking forward to our stay here following looking at the website. Firstly we were scheduled to be picked up at the pier. As it is monsoon season, it was heavily raining when we arrived but there was no sign of our guy. Eventually he turned up and was really unhelpful and made no apology despite us being the only ones left and soaking wet. We found reception to be surly. The rooms in the bungalows themselves are small but relatively comfortable. However one of our biggest gripes is that our balcony overlooks the bars rubbish dump, not exactly the views we thought we were paying for! Also there is a beach bar next door which is incredibly noisy and open until the early hours of the morning. You will not be able to sleep here, the bungalow may as well not have windows or walls, you can feel the bass when you are in bed. In fact there are 3 bars in earshot, if you want to party all night it may not be a problem but these bungalows are not in a backpacker's budget. The management was incredibly unhelpful and really did not want to know about our concerns. We were meant to stay for a week but checked out after one night. We have been travelling for 10 months and this is one of, if not the worst place we have stayed.

Also the restaurant attached to the bungalows Ciao Bella seems to get excellent reviews but our food was bland and overcooked. The owner seems more interested in watching the tv than whether his guests are happy. Cannot discourage from staying here strongly enough. Phi Phi is definitely not paradise, please don't come here is that is what you want. We wished we had stayed in Koh Tao.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.1 mi away
PP Princess Resort
PP Princess Resort
#16 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
306 reviews
0.5 mi away
Phi Phi Good View
Phi Phi Good View
#12 of 62 in Ko Phi Phi Don
85 reviews
0.1 mi away
B Place Guesthouse
B Place Guesthouse
#11 of 62 in Ko Phi Phi Don
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apache Beach House
Apache Beach House
#47 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orange Tree Phi Phi Island
Orange Tree Phi Phi Island
#34 of 62 in Ko Phi Phi Don
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stones Bar Dorm Rooms and Restaurant
Stones Bar Dorm Rooms and Restau...
#12 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baia Baia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baia Baia

Property: Baia Baia
Address: 9 Moo 7, T-Aonang A.Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 88 Speciality Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Baia Baia 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Baia Baia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Baia Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing