We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
P. P. Palm Tree Resort
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel.”
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Set amongst the hustle and bustle of the 2 main beaches in Phi Phi Island, this little resort is great value. We booked a pool access room and utilised it every day. The hotel is set around the L shaped pool. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The location of the hotel is great – while it is in the centre of "town", you are protected from the sound of any nearby bars. Unfortunately, the smell around the hotel was sometimes difficult to stomach - our room entrance seemed to back onto a drainage of some sort, which meant the smell would seep under our front door - nothing that a few pillows couldn't stop!

Its a great little hotel, inclusive of breakfast and a lovely pool. They don't however allow for a late check out, which did put us out for a few hours..

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g_to_the_bo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    359
    134
    52
    47
See reviews for
35
360
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Islamabad
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2010

Nice place to stay. I booked the Pamtree Suite--which is a large bedroom with a fantastic bath, and found it to be excellent. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnIslamabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

This hotel is perfect for a trip to Phi Phi.

The rooms were smaller but definitely not cramped. Modern bathroom, large tv, balcony, comfortable king size bed. The hotel and the rooms are kept spotless which is refreshing.

Breakfast was really reasonable. Lots of fresh food and a cook making eggs to order. Put the toast through the machine twice though!

On stepping off the ferry, the hotel had sent a representative to meet us which was unexpected and very welcome. He took our bags and wheeled them to the hotel for us. (they hold a sign for the hotel as you get off the ferry so you just need to go over and he will have your name on the list if you have prebooked).

Perfect base as it is literally a 5 minute slow walk to the beach and all the restaurants/bars/shops are on the doorstep.

We first booked one night here so that we could look at the rooms at some of the other hotels around the island but it soon became very clear we were in the perfect hotel for our stay as the price was reasonable and the location was great.

We booked through agoda which offered slightly cheaper rates than with the hotel directly. If you havent prebooked, there are some tourist information stands at the ferry port so you can get directions or book there. My advice is to go snd have a look and either book directly with the hotel or use the internet cafe right outside (2 baht per minute).

the only slight downside to this hotel is that it can be a little noisy at night time as you can hear some of the bars nearby. IT doesnt seem to go on that late and did not keep us awake.

Worth taking the boat tour around the islands and Maya baya as its truely stunning.

Great find!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saraellen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Was greeted on the jetty by staff who had a push buggy to carry everyone's bags back to the hotel. Staff were friendly and well presented. The room was good, didn't get a chance to try out the pool the three days I stayed, but it looked inviting. Lacked an elevator, but there isn't too many steps (I tend to take the stairs so isn't an issue for me).

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingmonkey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

great hotel location, fabulous value, and nice rooms. Our rooms had a slight musky smell from the humidity, but our friends room next door was fine. Otherwise, for a very tropical location, it was a clean hotel. The pool are was really great, and the complimentary breakfast was tasty. The hotel loses 1-star because the staff is not the friendliest.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maphopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

This is another of the post Tsunami hotels that have sprouted up on Koh Phi Phi.
The resort ticks all the boxes for sleep quality and relaxation. The building and fittings are all fairly new with access to everything the island has to offer within a few minutes walk but tucked away in a quiet corner which offers a great night's sleep after your exertions.
If you can spring for the extra go for the pool room. This gives you direct interest to the unusually shaped swimming pool which is a boon as the central beaches have all been radically commercialised and no longer provide good swimming opportunities.
Very few minuses about the resort. Breakfast is predictable and unchanging. There are maybe a tad too many rules and regulations but the law abiding among us should have few problems. Finally, the resort is strictly non smoking so those with a heavy habit would be better served elsewhere.
Overall a lovely place at a reasonable cost. Worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthseaRangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

There is not much else I can say about this excellent hotel that others haven't said below (nice rooms, great pool, good location but no late-night noise, good service, etc.). The only bad things I can say are the beds are a little hard, and we often had cleaning staff pushing their noisy carts through the halls early in the morning.

We paid 2000 baht a night, which was discounted a few hundred baht off the quoted rate. Thus, if you are counting every penny while on Ko Phi Phi, look elsewhere. However, if you can afford it, stay here. I will note that it might be a good idea to reserve ahead if you want to stay at the Palm Tree, even in the low season. We got a room, but I saw others asking and being told they were full.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank velz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#14 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Hotel
Phi Phi Hotel
#8 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi Villa Resort
Phi Phi Villa Resort
#12 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
1.3 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to P. P. Palm Tree Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about P. P. Palm Tree Resort

Property: P. P. Palm Tree Resort
Address: 125 Moo 7, Ao Lo Dalam Bay | Aonang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — P. P. Palm Tree Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your P. P. Palm Tree Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
p.p. Palmtree Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
p Palmtree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing