We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a quiet hotel in central area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
P. P. Palm Tree Resort
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Reviewed 17 February 2011

Among all the hotels on Phi Phi island, this one is lcoated at the best area. Being in the central downtown, Palm Tree is surrounded by numerous shops, restaurants, pubs, diving agencies, even an open market where you can buy raw fresh fruits and sea foods, unless you fancy to organize a bbq party by yourself. It is noisy outside, but very quiet inside. Once you walk the stone lane and enter the lobby, the noise is shielded. You can enjoy a nice sleep, meanwhile DJs of nearby pubs are thundering.
Another virtue--it is very close to two beaches. Central Phi Phi is narrow, and two beaches facing north and south make Phi Phi centre like a belt, and Palm Tree is like a hole on belt. You can reach any one of them in 10 min walk.
The staff are nice and helpful. I need to point two persons. One is a burly and kind-looking bell boy, who always meets tourists at the pier and guide them to the hotel. He never hesitates to carry your bags, no matter how big, like ours. The other is the lady cook at kitchen. She usually do the fried eggs and omelets during breakfast. We bought a pineapple at Phuket and brought it all the way to Phi Phi. I went to kitchen one night and asked her a favor to cut it. She dropped her work immediately and took over it. I told her it was good enought by just cutting it into big pieces like people doing a watermelon, but she peeled it, removed all the black remainings of its skin, and finally cut it into slices, all with her big knife, and smile.
Our room is at second floor. It is nice. TV has a good range of channels. I didn't miss the sensational and emotional 4:4 game between Newcastle and Arsenal. How lucky! but I should have watched it at nearby pub with some pints. How unlucky!
One thing: the shower spray-head can't be set on the wall. It's always hanging-down. I supposed to tell it at reception during check out but I forgot. Another thing I forgot is my room number.
In general, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 363 of 788 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2011

We stayed here for five nights with a group of friends, and found the hotel to be very conveniently located. We paid the extra for one of the pool access rooms. With some of them you can dip straight into the pool, but others went directly onto the courtyard/garden. Ours went onto the courtyard which was still fine, just not quite what we'd expected!

On Phi Phi there are very few hotels that have pools, so we were glad we'd opted for one that had! It was roasting during our stay, and so was great to have the option of a dip and a sun lounger (although there are only about eight)! I'd first visited Phi Phi around 4 years ago, and found it a lot quieter than it is now. On the first day we went down to the livelier Loh Dalum beach and found it pretty dirty. There was lots of rubbish along the beach which was such a shame, so we didn't bother again.

The hotel provided a tasty varied breakfast, clean/good sized rooms, helpful staff, fresh beach towels every day, and an ideal central location. The hotel also has a security guard patrolling at night who will disperse any troublemakers. Not such as bad thing considering all the people drifting around, wasted on cheap thai rum!

Would I visit Phi Phi again? Probably not, I think it's had it's day and is turning into a bit of a tourist trap. There are still plenty of beautiful island to escape to nearby (such as bamboo), but with the sheer volume of visitors Phi Phi receives I'm sure these places will go the way of Maya Bay.

Would I recommend this hotel? Definitely! You could do a lot worse on Phi Phi, (and some of my friends did!). If you're a first timer to Phi Phi it's worth paying that little extra.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grassy_Lemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We stayed one night at this hotel and booked it while at Phi Phi island through a travel agency there. It is so much cheaper if you book that way rather then online. You will be paying a lot more online so it's really not worth it.

We stayed in the pool entrance room which was really cool! The pool is great!

The rooms are clean and the bathroom is good too. There is a frosted screen between the bathroom and bedroom so it's very romantic (if that's the right word to use) watching your partner having a shower lol.

When exiting the hotel you are right in the heart of the city. We didnt have trouble sleeping even though the hotel is close to nightclubs.

Not too far from the beach but i would still prefer a hotel closer to the beach. I like to be lazy when im on holidays so that's the only reason for the 4 stars instead of 5. That and that the room didnt feel luxurious. It felt really standard.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nsehic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

When searching for a hotel in Phi Phi we came across countless bad reviews. Phi Phi Palm Tree was no exception - however the hotel itself is GOOD (I wouldn't say great - but then most places in Phi Phi at this price don't sound great either). The service however isn't great. The staff really don't interact with the guests and you don't get the usual Thailand smiles. In saying that thought, the rooms are clean and maintained everyday (although a bit stingy on toilet paper). The pool is lovely. We were out everyday on the beach and came back to a clean room before heading out again. It's centrally located between both beaches and the price is reasonable. The hotel is a little soulless as they have a restaurant that no one is ever in and the pool bar never opens, so if you after interaction of warmth from the staff - don't go here but if you're after a clean, nice room - give it a shot.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wal70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

I stayed four days in the and of january in this hotel andd it was perfect. The place it is very well localized and the staff was very helpfull. I stayed in the Palmtree Suite and it worth every penny that I paid. Definetly I would come back. The only thing I missed it was an internet conexion.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NULVIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

We paid 115USD for a pool access room including breakfast(which were a nice buffet with out being anything special).
The room was nice and so was the pool.
Hotel is located right in the heart of Ton Sai village.

The staff seemed kind enough but we only stayed one night and didn't have so much contact.

You could use the very modern and good fitness center in a nearby hotel for a small fee

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jegerenlampe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

P. P. Palmtree resort was a lovely hotel in the heart of Koh Phi Phi. It has a glorious outdoor swimming pool in the middle of the accommodation buildings. The staff are friendly and efficient, and the rooms are clean and luxurious.

The only downside would be the predominantly western menu in the restaurant! However there are plenty of great thai restaurants on the island to go to anyway!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Sophie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#5 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
#9 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#16 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Hotel
Phi Phi Hotel
#7 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
899 reviews
1.4 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#10 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to P. P. Palm Tree Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about P. P. Palm Tree Resort

Address: 125 Moo 7, Ao Lo Dalam Bay | Aonang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: £55 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — P. P. Palm Tree Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your P. P. Palm Tree Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
p.p. Palmtree Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
p Palmtree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing