We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Disgusting” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of PP Charlie Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
PP Charlie Beach Resort
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Southampton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We booked for 5 nights.. And wish we had not! On arrival we had to pay 1000 baht to secure our room key...not mentioned on booking...? Masses of rules and charges for bedding towels etc.. We saw people in reception on booking out being charged 400 baht for towels that the maid did not replace when cleaning rooms, we had this too but had the mind set to go chase them to get more at the time of cleaning the room.. So be mindful of this...
The construction site beside the rooms is going on all hours as is the music in town and can be heard in the rooms. They were spray painting the rooms and did not warn us, we had to leave our room till late at night as the smell made us both pretty sick!
The grounds of the resort are filthy and that's putting it politely. The staff I think live in the slums which are on the resort grounds between the rooms and getting to the beach, pool and restaurant for breakfast. Piles of rubbish left on the pathways which smells putrid!
I could go on but will just end this review with warning DON'T GO!

Room Tip: Go for top of the range to get below average rooms or don't bother at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakandjil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    94
    132
    96
    191
See reviews for
40
192
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

The good things:
1. Location: close to the beach and beach parties
2. Pool: amazing pool, nice view from the pool and good temperature.
3. Nice breakfast not to fancy but well enough.
4. Nice room but not at all like the picture
The bad things:
1. The bathroom is not convenient, because when you take shower the water goes everywhere; the water power is very low therefore when you take a shower you take ages to rinse your hair
2. You need to leave a deposit of 1.000 Barth, because there is many rules, like in case you leave stains on the bed linen, in case you smoke, in case you vomit, etc. Also you will be fined if you leave the AC while you are outside the room.
3. No WIFI in the rooms
4. Lots of noise from the construction site
5. The rooms are not dark enough to sleep because the curtains are very thin and white

Room Tip: try to take a room far away from the construction site!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crewonholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We are regular visitors to Phi Phi and love the location of PP Charlie. It is cheap so expect a very basic service and room type. It not somewhere to stay if you are after a resort experience but its location is hard to beat and the price is very cheap. There was a lot of young people there, probably not the most family friendly place if you have young children. We took our 9 year old daughter there and it was fine, simple, basic, not super clean, but fine for a short stay.

Room Tip: Be aware there are bar/nightclubs on the beach very close by to PP Charlie so ask for a room away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsTowball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Undoubtedly the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. I have no idea how it has achieved a star rating as a hotel as it is little more than a hostel. We had to carry our bags from the port as there was no one there to meet us and when we did find any staff they had no interest in helping us. The room was dirty and displayed a sign detailing charges for leaving excrement, urine blood etc on towels or bed sheets. The whole place looked like the Tsunami happened yesterday. DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL !!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

This is the worst hotel I have ever seen. Sleeping on the beach would probably be cleaner ! I had to go to the doctor twice because I was bitten by bed bugs, just like every other girl I saw at this hotel. The staff are rude and disgusting, especially the manager. DO NOT STAY HERE !!!! I do not have one positive thing to say about this hotel !

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Lots of things bothered us about this hotel, from the moment we checked in till we left two days later. Hotel reception staff could not in any way be called pleasant or helpful, you have to deposit 1000 Baht for "the room key" despite the fact that they charge you for the entire stay upon check-in. This is so they will have leverage when check out time comes and you accidentally have make up on one of the towels, or a speck of blood on the sheets. There are fines for everything, complete [--]. We hated it here and spent as much time away from the room as possible. The location is good, but it's a small island and almost everything is in a good place. The pool is indeed overlooking the ocean, but loud music is playing constantly so you can't stay there. Even on the beach, away from the pool, you were disturbed by this. And the rooms weren't even close to the pool, which I guess in this instance was a good thing. Breakfast was barely ok.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RenoRaines72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

When we booked this hotel on-line we we're attracted at the "beautiful pool picture" they show you. What a joke !!! It looks NOTHING like this, and the pool is about 5 min walk from the actual resort, they share the pool with their "sister resort" The pool is dirty and falling apart.
Upon arrival, we were shocked how dirty the rooms are and the staff's attitude. It was SO BAD, that we chose to walk away.
We booked for 2 nights at THB1200 per night and it was so bad, we were chose to loose our money. We walked away and stayed at the Phi-Phi Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.2 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phi Phi Hotel
Phi Phi Hotel
#8 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.1 mi away
P. P. Palm Tree Resort
P. P. Palm Tree Resort
#12 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#14 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi Villa Resort
Phi Phi Villa Resort
#11 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gypsy Sea View resort
Gypsy Sea View resort
#17 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PP Charlie Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PP Charlie Beach Resort

Property: PP Charlie Beach Resort
Address: 104 Moo 7 | Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand (Formerly Phi Phi Charlie Beach Resort)
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — PP Charlie Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PP Charlie Beach Resort is a three-star beachfront resort known for its outstanding style, comfort and service. The property lies along the most beautiful beach in Phi Phi island and yields breathtaking panoramic views of the Loh Da Lum Bay. PP Charlie Beach Resort offers an extensive variety of services, including romantic honeymoon packages, banqueting, weddings, the best scuba diving in Koh Phi Phi, sportfishing, exciting adventure tours, snorkeling trips, superb cuisine and sea food, and comfortable rooms, all set against the captivating tropical scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your PP Charlie Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Charlie Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing