We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean room & scenic pool area” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of PP Charlie Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
PP Charlie Beach Resort
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean room & scenic pool area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

This was the most expensive accommodation throughout our 2 week trip & the one we were dreading the most having read the reviews.

Staff were not particularly helpful or friendly. Thankfully we didn't really need any help with anything! That said, both check in & check out were fine & there were no extra charges.

PP Charlie is linked with PP Princess (not physically, they probably have the same owner & are adjacent). The pool is over the Princess side & breakfast is also served here. Bit of a walk from the room (we were in A block) which is in turn a little way from reception.

The room was pretty basic but was clean & the a/c was effective. Bathroom was also clean & the shower was fine. Apparently the rooms in the other block (D) are newer. We requested one of these but didn't get it but we did pay the lowest peice so not surprising.

The pool was fantastic - one of the most scenic places we've been to with the backdrop. If you are after a quiet pool experience you need to go up after breakfast until about 1230. During this time the music is quiet and relaxing. After this time for the rest of the day it is very loud and more dancy - fine if that's your thing, but we decided the beach was better for us in the afternoons!

Phi Phi has changed so much since my last visit 5 years ago and the atmosphere, attitudes of locals & the island itself are now almoat unrecognisable. It's still fun and it's still beautiful, but there are far too many people descending on such a small place - it's unsustainable.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank han57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    98
    134
    98
    191
See reviews for
40
197
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Overall room ok. Was staying at triple room(family room). The only disadvantage is that all different room types are located so far away from each other. I have friends who stayed in economy room and another stayed at Charlie room, we are all separated so so far away. Wifi only available if your room is near to the receptionist / front desk. It took us more than 5 mins every time we want to get back to the room from the main entrance front desk. Other that that, everything is ok. Well for that price, it's acceptable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cynnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Myself and my friend booked here last minute for 5 nights from Feb 1st-6th. As we were arriving on Chinese new years day accomodation was hard to find anywhere. Most places were booked out. Pp charlie was our most expensive accommodation in our trip so far and after reading reviews we were dreading going there. On arrival the receptionist was after catching 3 people for 1000thb for scuff marked sheets. She even had them in a bag when they came to the desk and demanded 1000thb each. We were reluctant staying but we couldn't cancel as it was new years day and cancelation at the time was mid January!

On our booking we requested a twin room, on the sheet they showed me it said "customer entered request" but didn't say what. So she kept telling me they only had a double room.
I informed her that I also sent 3 emails regarding a twin room but she said she didn't get them. Even tho I showed her the delivery emails from my phone.

After checking in- she told me she would give us a twin room. The two security men we met working here were very helpful. One brought us to our room which was a double so when went to reception she changed it to a twin room finally.

The room was clean, very clean in fact. We had no problems with it! There are two elaminated sheets in the drawer to inform you how much you pay if you get paint, vomit, blood etc on bed linen. Its very detailed and completely ridiculous.

Our 5 nights went fine. Location was ideal. We never used the pool as beach was so close. But we did have breakfast ONE morning! I wouldn't recommend it. Although there was a variety of food- everything needed a good scrub and we didn't feel well after it. Go to breakers bar instead for breakfast!

Checkout was fine and we got our 1000thb key deposit back. We may have been lucky but this accomodation was better than we thought

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bakpackr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a stopover en route to Phuket form Krabi having previously visited Phi Phi three years ago. Probably the poorest standard accommodation we stayed in throughout our stay. Didn't bother with the breakfast and got the early ferry. More student backpacker than hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Narcotic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

This is a good location but this is the only good thing. When we went to check out they refused to give us our 1000 baht key deposit back, they accused us of taking 2 bath towels!! Which we didn't as we are backpackers the towels where dirty to start with. When we explained to them we didn't take they said that when we recieved new towels we didn't give the old ones back (which is not true) the staff don't care about you and were very unhelpful and rude they just kept laughing at us! All they want is your money and that's it. Would never stay here or recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemsb15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarfalla, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Must be tje worst hotel on phi phi. Our bathroom was horrible, they've only cleaned tje bathroom using the handheld showerhandle thingy and sprayed it all down. No wiping or anything on the walls or mirrors. Staff is rude and uninterested in helping. Crap hotel are my final words.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGustafsson10002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed here for 1 night. Was advised bad things before we went but found it really nice. We had bellboy carry our large bag all the way to hotel and to our room. Staff friendly enough, room was good with air con and clean, the pool was cleaned and open, with a swim up bar. also had great beach and view over it. breakfast was also good. recommend it to people.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.2 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#14 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
0.1 mi away
P. P. Palm Tree Resort
P. P. Palm Tree Resort
#12 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Phi Phi Hotel
Phi Phi Hotel
#8 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi Villa Resort
Phi Phi Villa Resort
#11 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phitharom Phi Phi Resort
Phitharom Phi Phi Resort
#25 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PP Charlie Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PP Charlie Beach Resort

Property: PP Charlie Beach Resort
Address: 104 Moo 7 | Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand (Formerly Phi Phi Charlie Beach Resort)
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — PP Charlie Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PP Charlie Beach Resort is a three-star beachfront resort known for its outstanding style, comfort and service. The property lies along the most beautiful beach in Phi Phi island and yields breathtaking panoramic views of the Loh Da Lum Bay. PP Charlie Beach Resort offers an extensive variety of services, including romantic honeymoon packages, banqueting, weddings, the best scuba diving in Koh Phi Phi, sportfishing, exciting adventure tours, snorkeling trips, superb cuisine and sea food, and comfortable rooms, all set against the captivating tropical scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your PP Charlie Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Charlie Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing