We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed opinions on this one...”
Review of Chunut House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chunut House
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Mixed opinions on this one...”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

In retrospect, we shouldn't have been staying in this part of Phi Phi. I am no longer the drunk 19 year old Australian I once was, and Phi Phi town probably would have held more appeal for me back then than it does now.

Still, we booked what we booked and what we booked was Chunut House.

We were put into room 10 on arrival. Hint - request anything else...it's right on the pathway, noisy, and has a thin wall to an adjoining room. We requested a change, and on night 2 were put into the far nicer room 6 up the hill a little. Better all round. By bungalow standards, it was nice enough.

As others have noted, the walk into the noisy-bit is flanked by a dump on one side and a sewer on the other. Less than pleasant. Breakfast consists of some fruit, a toaster, and a woman frying eggs. Not much.

However the saving grace for us was the service...they were really great, super helpful on everything we asked, sorted out tours and all kinds, and really went above and beyond for us, and this was greatly appreciated.

Room Tip: dont book room 10, get a bungalow up the hill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toomanymatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    28
    35
    17
    26
See reviews for
11
68
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kanazawa-shi, Ishikawa, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Not what we expected, but we liked the exotic garden and decoration, also the location is very good and it's not noisy. Our room was not the bungalow what made us very disappointed, but for one night it was ok.

Room Tip: Rooms in the bottom is not bungalow, just a simple room.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marcel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

When we arrived our first reaction was that people were very nice and friendly. The room was not what we expected. We paid for 2 nights but decided to leave after one. On photo's it looks fine but in reality it is something else.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel7674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I stayed at Chunut House with my sister when we visited Koh Phi Phi in February this year. The hut we stayed in was right next to reception. It was very clean and staff made up our hut everyday - they replaced towels and made the beds. The room was very spacious and contained a fridge and bookcase. There wasn't really anywhere to unpack your clothes but we didn't mind. The bathroom was adequate, but you had to make sure to keep the door closed between the bathroom and the bedroom because mosquitos could get into the bathroom. The water temperature and pressure was good. The walls of the hut were quite thin so you could hear people walking past so we were woken quite early in the morning. As other reviews have mentioned, there is a sewerage "lake" that you have to walk past to get to Chunut House but you can't smell it once you get there.

Koh Phi Phi is small enough to walk anywhere and the closest beach to Chunut House is Lo Dalam. Swimming at the beach is not the greatest because the water is usually filmy from the fuel of longtail boats that pull up to the beach. You can hire a longtail to take you to a secluded beach with better water if you are keen to go swimming but beware of jellyfish.

There is a great bar on Lo Dalam called "Slinkys" - lots of fun after dark. Also "Reggae Bar" is great. They have staged Thai boxing shows and tourists are welcome to get in the ring and fight against each other for a free bucket of thai whisky. I would recommend "DMC Restaurant and Bar" for some excellent Thai and western food. Try the garlic and pepper calamari. So good!

There is a little massage parlour at the end of the road that leads up to Chunut House that does great cheap Thai massages. We got one everyday.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hetho2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Not been to Koh Phi Phi before so booked this accommodation on the strenght of the reviews on Trip Advisor. The young lady on the reception desk was very friendly and extreamley helpfull along with all the staff. The rooms were ok, a little basic for the price we paid, (2,300 baht per night), a wardrobe would of been nice and a fridge that stays on 24 hrs, rather than connected to the switch on the wall activated by the key card. So when you left for the day or evening when you returned your water was warm. The main issue with the accommodation for us was the location. It is quite a walk from the beach, bars and restaurants and to get to it you have to walk past the smelliest sewage plant, plus at the moment there is a massive contruction site nearby too with noisy machinery and site rubbish everywhere. Until the building work has finished and the smell from the sewage plant is iradicated, you may want to give this place a swerve. Overall, friendly, helpfull staff, bad location, too pricey.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentNick_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We went to this hotel because it was highly recommeded in Lonely Planet. The room was a little bit dirty and the AC didn't work. The good thing was that it was near everything and we didn't ear the noise

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XanaIgreja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Terre, New Caledonia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Going with Lonely Planet's top pick, we booked the hotel online for a 2 night stay. As soon as we got there, we wanted to leave but ended up staying that night and left first thing in the morning.
We had to walk through a dump site to get there and the smell was really bad. The bungalows are cute on the outside and that's about it. The bathroom was terrible. The towels are stained and grey. The view was overlooking a little road filled with garbage bags everywhere.
This place is not worth the money. I wouldn't have stayed there for free!
I wish I wouldn't have relied on some of the reviews posted for this hotel. My husband and I are really not picky but this place was definitely the most disappointing part of our trip to Thailand.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Framate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.0 mi away
Gypsy Sea View resort
Gypsy Sea View resort
#19 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
279 reviews
0.0 mi away
J.J. Bungalow & Guest house
J.J. Bungalow & Guest house
#27 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
#3 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Papaya Phi Phi Resort
Papaya Phi Phi Resort
#4 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
455 reviews
0.0 mi away
Viking Natures Resort
Viking Natures Resort
#1 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,529 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kitty Guesthouse
Kitty Guesthouse
#5 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chunut House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chunut House

Property: Chunut House
Address: Moo 7, Phi Phi Don Village, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 88 Speciality Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chunut House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chunut House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chunut House Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing