We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bamboo Mountain View Phi Phi Resort
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Had a great time”
Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

I didn't stay anywhere else on the island, so I can't compare it to another place.

Location: it's out of the way, but the walk didn't bother me. I personally would prefer to stay closer to the action, but this was a nice little oasis for a few days! Be prepared for Mosquitos... you are in the jungle and will get eaten!!

Rooms: we were first at the VERY top of the property and wow... it's a serious climb! I'm a hiker so I didn't mind it, but anyone over the age of 50 needs to recommend a lower room... it's very steep in some parts (I had my big backpack on and had to cling onto the railing most of the way so I wouldn't fall backwards). We then asked to move to the lower room... much better! we had some interesting critters come visit... there are definitely cracks for them to come through so make sure you expect that! The shower wasn't anything to write home about but it was warm and as a backpacker, it's a total bonus!

Breakfast: standard. You have a few choices and its filling, so it works.

The pool was awesome and the people staying there were loads of fun! I had a great time. Who needs a fancy room when you're outside the while time?!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamrobyn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    5
    15
    17
    80
See reviews for
9
43
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Please read the reviews - we wish we had done so prior to booking this hotel! First, we had to wait on the boat dock for almost 45 mins for the staff to find a cart to haul our luggage. By the time he finally came back, all other passengers on the boat were long gone. The hotel was a long way from the city center. It was situated next to the sewage holding pond (quite smelly) and up a very steep hill. Not at all convienent if you want to go to the beach. Since it was such a long walk, the hotel staff gave us some bottled water upon arrival. Our room was difficult to access as we had to climb up some very steep stairs with no hand rails. If I wasn't there to give my Mom a hand, she wouldn't have made it up there. The room had no AC and the bathroom was pretty scary looking. We asked the staff if they could upgrade us to the room with AC, but they would only do so with a steep price increase. We told them the difficult room access would make it impossible for us to stay there. They were very intransigent and refused to negotiate or accommodate our requests. We finally left and said we'd find another place. As expected, they refused to allow any refunds. It was easy to find nicer accomodations at better prices right in town and close to the beach. We were very glad we never stayed here, even if we didn't get some of our money back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoiseDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Provo
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Do not book this hotel ahead of time. You won't get your money back because when you go there, you'll be like us and not stay a single night there. We lost our 2 night stay but it was worth not staying there. I could not get into the room without help because the stone steps to the room are so tall and they don't have a railing. The room is so drab and dirty. The bathroom was gross. You have to walk up a tall hill to get there and along the way up is a smelly cess pool you get the privilege of walking next to. The pictures of the resort are not anything like the real thing. Don't say I didn't warn you. Buyer beware!

Room Tip: No room is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aljoProvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2012 via mobile

You get what you pay for as they say! The place is about a 10/15 min walk from the beach but because there is no real taxi service on the island it does feel like a good walk in the heat with your backpack on! However the room is clean & ours didn't seem to have any bugs, we paid for a/c & this worked fine. The lighting was pretty poor & the security of the windows made of glass slates which don't actually shut wasn't that great but it was good for the price. We were lucky as only on first floor so no issues with security but I'm not sure if I'd have been happy staying on the top floor with all those steps! The pool was ok, a few little bugs but that's bound to happen by 4pm in the afternoon! I'd say if you want the experience of a bamboo hotel it was good for the price.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lucy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Very basic rooms, not somewhere you want to spend much time! A bit run down, but generally clean and ok for a couple of nights for the price.

A bit of a trek up a steep hill from the pier and many steps up to the rooms, so be prepared!!

Better accommodation for the same price available......

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We booked this hotel trough thai tourist center in bangkok for 3 nights, but we didnt stay one night. We arrived to the hotel and the room had damp patches, it smelled bad and the toilet was the most horrible thing, it was poorly build and full of insects. we though the hotel was good because of the price but we run away. additional, the hotel is situated far from the city, we had to walk around 15 minutes to get there. In conclusion this hotel is like the brochure shows, it is not even similar. We met two German girls in this hotel and they were complaining about the service and the hotel, they didn't have water in their room, and one of them got serious allergies because of the room. As advice, if you visit Ko phi phi is better to get there and look for hotel, dont book anything from agencies.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejita25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

The place was fine for the price but it really is NO FRILLS.

After trying to climb up half a mountain to get to the "resort" you then need to negotiate stairs that are very high. Once you have done this, as long as you haven't broke your neck, you can count on an evening of insects moving in the walls.

On a plus;
It's cheap.
It's far from loud music on beach.
It was clean inside rooms.

Room Tip: Go see the place before saying yes or no. If you recon you can handle it then good luck :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
635 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Garden View Bungalow
Phi Phi Garden View Bungalow
#32 of 62 in Ko Phi Phi Don
69 reviews
0.1 mi away
View Garden
View Garden
#48 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Phi Phi Arboreal Resort
Phi Phi Arboreal Resort
#37 of 62 in Ko Phi Phi Don
217 reviews
0.4 mi away
Orange Tree Phi Phi Island
Orange Tree Phi Phi Island
#35 of 62 in Ko Phi Phi Don
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
B Place Guesthouse
B Place Guesthouse
#16 of 62 in Ko Phi Phi Don
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Mountain View Phi Phi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Mountain View Phi Phi Resort

Property: Bamboo Mountain View Phi Phi Resort
Address: Moo 7 Tumbol Aonang Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 88 Speciality Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo Mountain View Phi Phi Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bamboo Mountain View Phi Phi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Mountain View Phi Phi Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing