We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE - unfit for humans”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bamboo Mountain View Phi Phi Resort
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE - unfit for humans”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

I have learnt the hard way that tourist locations use the term 'resort' very very loosely...
My boyfriend and I were in a room at the very very top.. The walk up was enough to cause an injury - walking up steep uneven steps, and rusty steel slats that are falling away from the frame in places.. The room was not fit for humans, the bathroom was a grey prison cell - the walls and floor weren't even connected in places, and no hot water (big surprise). There were mosquitoes everywhere, the 'bed' is a dirty mattress on the floor, unknown stains on the concrete floor.. I could go on and on.. Bottom line is we had to get out of there as soon as possible, it's an awful place and I don't know how management could possibly offer that up as accommodation!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank alyce612941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    5
    15
    17
    80
See reviews for
9
43
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We booked directly through the bamboo mountain website in November last year only to turn up on January 3rd to be told they were "overbooked". No apology, no care factor and to make matters worse we
argued for the best part of 90 mins with the absolutely horrible woman at the desk to even get our money refunded. We eventually had to speak with head office in Bangkok to arrange this.

A basil faulty skit could not be better written than our experience. Two British lads arrived 2 mins behind us to await the same fate and had to ring the UK on their mobile phone at vast expense to negotiate their refund.

Cannot comment on the rooms, however the location is not right in town (probably not a bad thing considering the music goes until 5am every night on phi phi) and is up one of the steeper hills on the island.

On the walk up there however we passed what looked like a charming sewerage plant (enormous fetid body of water with 'floaties' literally metres from the reception/rooms), at least 3 metric tonnes of rubbish and a series of funky smells that will haunt me until I'm old and grey.

Do not bother!!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rani E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

We went to this hotel in January 2014 with my wife, 4 yr old daughter and 3 month old daughter.

First of all, the place is a long walk from the pier so make sure you call them to come and pick up your luggage (if you really intend to stay there after reading my review).
When we finally got there, they provided a room that was higher on the mountain. The path to reach the room was uneven concrete steps very steep by moments. I had to make sure to walk close to my oldest in case she fell or missed a step. The room was (I thought) a joke when I saw it (keep in mind we paid 3,000 baht /night). It is made of wood and palm leaves and we noticed large stains of what seemed to be rotten material. Strangely enough one of the beds was sloped towards the low end of the slope and the other bed was right next to a large boulder that was part of the room (!). The mattresses, although they were covered with bed sheets gave me the impression that many sweaty people had lied on them before or had done other activities I rather not think of. Our A/C was not working and the lock to the outside door is an actual lock you would use for a gym locker. The worst part though was the bathroom; it is an extension of the cabin and is not even completely sealed off, i.e. any bugs or small animal that feels like coming into your bathroom can do so at his own leisure...horrible! I am not afraid of bugs, but I could just imagine a spider crawling on my spouse leg at night if she went to the bathroom.

They eventually changed us room because the A/C was broken; the other room was minimally better but still had an "outdoor" bathroom.

We were supposed to stay 5 nights in Phi Phi but we left the next day. The only good thing I can say about this hotel...motel...log cabin is that the staff was helpful and understanding. Unfortunately for us the manager was not there during our one night stay so we paid this horrible room full price!!!

Conclusion: this log cabin is overpriced for what you get. It's a 1-star in my mind and should not cost more than 500 baht / night but since everyone wants to go to Phi Phi they overcharge.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JW1979Mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

I have travelled a lot and this has been the worst hotel I have ever been. You almost need climbing equipment to get to the hotel especially to the rooms.
The rooms are disgusting. No closet no chair, unthinkable awfull smell and so dirty that we didn't want to enter the bungallow. For Phi Phi a very remote location. The stuff was very rood. We called booking.com to cancel the booking amd told the booking about unclean rooms. As soon as the booking told us to take the pictures and to send them they sent their staff to clean the rooms which couldn't be done since the rooms were completely disgusting.
And they were telling people that they have no vacancies but were still offering rooms over agoda and booking.
One last time - DO NOT GO TO THIS PLACE.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuela0330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Me and my friend had booked in for Christmas Eve and then 2 nights afterwards. We had paid the full amount (5,040 baht) to the hotel. Unfortunately we had been delayed with our flight and arrived a day late on Christmas day. When we arrived at the hotel they said we hadn't booked in and that we needed to contact booking.com as it was them who had our money. We rang booking.com and they said they hadn't taken any money away from us and that because we had arrived a day late the hotel had given our room away to someone else. Still in a battle to try and get our money back. The staff were rude and didn't care. Also when we were there a family had booked two rooms and were told that there was only one available for them, however the room they had been given had orange water wall over the bed. The staff were rude to them too. Awful place!!! Do not stay here. Do not give these people your money

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peachie_pie_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This place is just not good. Do not stay here if you can avoid it. The location is fine as it is only a 10min walk from the bars/restaurants on Phi Phi and the hill is not an issue. However, everything else is.

The stairs to get to the rooms are poorly made, so much so I had trouble being able to lift my foot high enough to reach the next step as I went up. The rooms are incredibly basic (no closet, table/chairs etc) and for the price they want you can get much better on the island (eg. Maney resort directly adjacent to this resort). I will confirm the bathroom window lacked a pane of glass and instead was bars covered with fly wire. Overall I could see why, when other places on the island were fully booked, this place had vacancies. Unless you can get a dirt cheap price find somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I have no idea what possessed me to stay at this place in the first place. In any event, I book by room, saw how disgusting it was, that the doors wouldn't even lock from the inside, locked with a padlock from the outside, and glass panes were missing from the windows. There was no way I was going to sleep there, especially as a young, female, solo traveler. There wasn't even an actual wall in the bathroom. It was literally pieces of Bamboo tied together...

I argued with them about a refund and they refused. When I got back to the US I contacted my credit card company to get a reverse of the charge a spent three months going back at forth as the hotel kept sending completely false information about my time there to my credit card co. Luckily I was able to provide hard evidence that they were lying and all charges were reversed. I wouldn't have my worst enemy stay at this place. It was horrible.

Room Tip: Don't get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicoya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
635 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
#15 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Garden View Bungalow
Phi Phi Garden View Bungalow
#32 of 62 in Ko Phi Phi Don
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
View Garden
View Garden
#48 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phi Phi Arboreal Resort
Phi Phi Arboreal Resort
#37 of 62 in Ko Phi Phi Don
217 reviews
0.4 mi away
Orange Tree Phi Phi Island
Orange Tree Phi Phi Island
#35 of 62 in Ko Phi Phi Don
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Mountain View Phi Phi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Mountain View Phi Phi Resort

Property: Bamboo Mountain View Phi Phi Resort
Address: Moo 7 Tumbol Aonang Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 88 Speciality Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo Mountain View Phi Phi Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bamboo Mountain View Phi Phi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Mountain View Phi Phi Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing