We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For the price you pay it can't be better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gypsy Sea View resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gypsy Sea View resort
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
bocas del toro
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“For the price you pay it can't be better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

Thai style bungalows beside a quiet pedestrian road, which is rare in Phi Phi, yes the room is basic but I've seen a lot of thai people living in bungalows like this so I was quiet happy to experience it, and believe me it wasn't bad at all. Just make sure you are looking for something like this before heading there and you will enjoy it. For the location in my opinion it cant be better, Phi Phi is a very noisy and very busy place sometimes and this is located in one of the very few quiet places in town.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cabesagua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    95
    76
    30
    23
See reviews for
18
145
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa, Vietnam
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights. Gypsy Village is two places Gypsy 1 and Gypsy 2. There is only a short walk between them but after the long walk from the pier in the heat its not what you want, especially when you see the standard on the Gypsy 1 accommodation to the Gypsy 2. The check in was not the normal Thai welcoming, we were faced with a cold faced 'person' who seemed to have an attitude problem, which was maintained our whole stay. The male staff there were very happy and helpful. Gypsy Village doesnt collect you from the pier so you need to get there yourself. If you get stuck ask at the dive shops as they are normally english speaking and very helpful. As you come off the boat at the Tin Sai Pier turn left and just keep walking and walking for about 20 mins and after a few corners you eventually reach reception.
The room was basic and so was the bathroom. There was no safe deposit box in the room but you have the holes for a padlock on the outside of the room so worth taking your own. The room was very hot during the day and night, it cooled slightly at 2-3am but the rest of the time really hot. The fan on the celling is a desk fan size that rotates round in a circle.
The room is cheap (£14 a night) but its just a place to sleep as there is so much other stuff you can do on the island. Its close to the beach (about 500m).
I would 110% suggest hiring a private long tail boat from the beach for half a day from 12-1pm until 7pm-ish. We did this as a group of 4 and paid 2600b, went snorkelling, saw bamboo island, Maya Bay, Monkey beach and the best sun set i have ever seen. You cant see a full sunset on Phi Phi because of the location of the mountains so the best place to see it is in the sea, then wait an extra 10 mins until the sun has nearly gone down and enjoy the colourful sky!.
Ps. the picture in the review of this posted by another traveller isnt what you actually stay in, this is the view from the Gypsy 2 Village.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston Upon Hull
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

This is a fairly basic facility. My bungalow was small but clean, with en-suite facilities. There is a wi-fi router in reception, but the receptionist wouldn't give out the passcode, which is unusual. The room was fairly small, and the air-con option is very expensive, as was the basic room. It appeared that prices had already started to rise to peak-season prices, but then this seemed to be the case elsewhere, so not unique to them.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CellBlockH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2011

On a very hot day we found this hostel. From the outside it looks really nice: pink lovely small houses. Upon arrival the room looks okay. But then you start to notice the smell: it smells. Also there is no airconditioning and no hot water. 900 bath is too much for this place.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikPol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

Friendly welcomming, quiet, helpfull, friendly, good location, private bungalows, spacy rooms but nothing to put your bags on or luggage in. Ants in the room. No wifi, free snorkels. Good price according to other places on the island. 10 minutes walk from the main pear.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank igloblok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.8 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#4 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi Hotel
Phi Phi Hotel
#8 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Villa Resort
Phi Phi Villa Resort
#10 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.5 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#14 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#13 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gypsy Sea View resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gypsy Sea View resort

Property: Gypsy Sea View resort
Address: 63 Moo 7 | Ao Nang Subdistrict, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand (Formerly Gypsy Village)
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gypsy Sea View resort 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Gypsy Sea View resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gypsy Village Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing