We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from the noise, close to the beach. Awesome view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Las Flores, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Far from the noise, close to the beach. Awesome view”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Great experience in Koh Phi Phi. Second time in the island but first time staying in this resort. Well.. actually it's not a resort, it's just the Beach!!! Excellent location, excellent view in the morning. it's far from the noise and special for couples. The food is also good. Only thing that could be improved a little bit is the service. More friendly staff will definitely make the difference.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emiliano A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    322
    167
    67
    53
See reviews for
148
460
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Paradise Pearl was quite a disappointment. The hotel grounds are nice, and its location is excellent, right on a very beautiful beach, but this is pretty much all the hotel has going for it. There is nothing about this place that is straight out awful, but there are enough small (and not so small) annoyances that makes it a let down all around. Here's a quick laundry list that you might want to consider before booking this place:

Staff: The staff was unpleasant, unfriendly, and unwilling to help. This is particularly striking given how friendly and polite Thai people are in general.

Food: Breakfast was awful, the worst food we've had in Thailand. We had better luck with the a la carte menu for dinner, which was not amazing, but pretty decent.

Bedroom: Our room was OK at best (we stayed in one of the M rooms). The sheets they provided had stains and holes in them. We asked that they replaced them, which they did, and the new set of sheets also had holes in them. Electricity in the room is only available when the room key is in a designated slot, and they only give you one room key. This can be very inconvenient sometimes, especially because the only way to close the bedroom door is by locking it with the key. If you try to close the door without locking it, it opens back up, letting mosquitos (which are abundant) into the room. I found myself in the situation that I wanted to go for an early morning walk, while my husband was sleeping, and my choices were to wake him up to let me out of the room, leave the bedroom door open, or take the key with me and leave him without any power. Again, not the end of the world but pretty annoying.

Bathroom: The bathroom was bare, full of patches, and the shower was pretty bad. The worse thing about it was that the sink faucet was one of those faucets that you have to press in order to get water, and this one in particular you had to press every 3 seconds. This gets old pretty fast.

Internet and cell phone signal: Internet is only available at the restaurant, and even then, the signal is poor and the connection very very slow. There is no cell phone signal (from any of the Thai operators) in the room. There is signal in the restaurant area, but it is very spotty.

Location: Location was the primary positive feature of this place. The hotel is on Long beach, which is a nice and relatively uncrowded beach. To get to the main town you can either take (and pay about $4 per person each way) a long tail boat ride, or walk for 20-30 mins. The walk is scenic, but includes going up and down hills, so might not be for everyone.

Overall, my impression of Paradise Pearl is that it is a wasted opportunity -- it had so much potential to be a great, relaxing, laid-back piece of paradise, but the service and amenities are so lacking as to make it at best a mediocre overpriced bungalow. I will not return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aposales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We had been given room M1, a standard beachfront. Location wise we couldn't of asked for more, our room was a hop, skip and a jump onto the beach and sea views were nothing less than perfect. However the interior was slightly less than, I appreciate we didn't pay top dollar for the deluxe room but the room we stayed in, the decor was seriously old fashioned and in need of a facelift.

We happily did the 2km trek over the the main town on a number of occasions and enjoyed the stroll. Others may not, suggestion would be to get the longboats which leave regularly.

I found the staff unfriendly, during the day no one really seemed to smile or acknowledge your existence whilst in the evening it seemed mostly children working in the restaurant waiting tables, all of which seemed far more interested in chatting amongst themselves than serving. Saying that I did pay for an all over body massage on one of the hotels beach front beds and the ladies in there were extremely friendly, polite and good fun.

Without a doubt the hotels big selling point is it's location, one of the most beautiful parts of the world I've ever seen, with its crystal clear waters and white sand. If you are content spending your days laying on the beach with the occasional dip in the sea and snorkel session then look no further. Might be worth paying a little extra on the room though ;)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maloni12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed in Q3.. fantastic room, massive balcony and bathroom.

Resort is located on Long Beach, 2k walk to town - tough going if you struggle with hills but there is a long-tail boat ride but we paid 200 bhat each for the pleasure one way.

Breakfast was included in our room rate and eggs cooked to order was great. Lunch and dinner at their restaurant was great, nice to sit during the afternoon when the sun was too hot.

Great having a mini-mart and ATM otherwise it is a long walk to town.

Had fantastic massages on Christmas eve, listening to the sea = perfect

Reception were very helpful

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I would definitely stay here again, the location is idea as it's at the end of the beach in a cove. The huts are right on the beach, one of the only establishments that have immediate access. We booked one of the modern rooms but when we made the reservation, they were sold out and they offered us one of the family huts (larger and more expensive) but they weren't very modern. These could use an upgrade, however they were extremely spacious and comfortable considering we weren't really in the room that much. The A/C wasn't getting cold, so we asked the front desk to look into it and it was fixed when we came back. Plenty of hot water and good water pressure.

The on-site restaurant was disappointing and would not recommend eating there. Service is poor, they got our order wrong twice and the quality was not worth the price. Instead we walked over to the Phi Phi The Beach Resort for dinner and lunch which was much better food and service. I would recommend this place, the front desk people are extremely helpful and sorted out a private boat to Phi Phi Ley which is a must.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the more modern rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukcurtisnish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My wife and I stayed in a K type bungalow for 3 nights and loved every minute of it.

Resort is located on Long Beach, which is a 30 minute walk or a 10 minute long-tail boat ride from Tonsai. They offer free pick up and drop off service in a private long-tail boat from and to Tonsai Pier so getting in and out is not a problem.

Our bungalow was less than a minute from the beach and beautifully decorated in traditional Thai style with all modern amenities - bar fridge, electronic safe, tea/coffee making facilities, television (which we never turned on) and air conditioning. Bungalow was well furnished with a big cupboard, separate dressing table, desk, couch, book shelf and an additional single bed. We really enjoyed the large outdoor courtyard, with glorious views out to the beach and sea.

While they rent out sunbeds to day trippers visiting Long Beach, hotel guests are given priority and staff were happy to set up sunbeds at locations of our choice whenever we needed them.

Breakfast was included in our room rate and there was a good combination of Asian and Western choices, with eggs cooked to order. Lunch and dinner at their restaurant was great (see separate review for details).

WiFi was free but slow, especially during lunch time and afternoons, when there were a lot of people using it. Resort had an on-site mini-mart and ATM which accepted overseas cards (MasterCard and Visa).

My wife tried their spa - massage was average but prices were higher than independent massage places in Tonsai.

All staff were pleasant, especially the ones at reception, who helped out with maps and provided directions to walk to Tonsai and the Phi Phi Viewpoint.

Room Tip: It is worth spending extra for beachfront bungalows, look at the map on their website for details.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VikBajaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

All I can say about this place is that there was a poor tourist staying at Paradise Pearl who drowned to death in the sea during my stay on Long Beach. Having alerted the staff when we got him out of the water (thanks to another tourist who heard us screaming), there was not even ONE person who worked in the area who knew any life-saving or had any idea how to handle this.

There were staff members who came out whilst hearing us scream, who saw this guy on the beach being given CPR by another tourist, and just laughed. Other members of staff from other resorts kept on telling us to get him onto a boat and take him to the hospital in Phuket (a few hours away!!!!). There is a medical centre on the other side of the island, which is a 45 minute rocky walk, or a 15 minute boat ride, however I can't imagine that they are equipped to deal with situations like this. If you are traveling here, please look out for each other, and I suggest you try and find out if there are any tourists staying on the resort who may be a doctor. I hope his friends and family can gain some comfort from knowing that there were tourists there who helped out as best as they could and really cared for him, even if the staff didn't help out at all.

The next morning I went to speak to reception to find out if the guy was ok, and tried to speak to the manager to explain that they need to teach their staff basic life support, but the receptionist fobbed us off and said this was the first time this had happened.

Whilst it was unlucky that this happened whilst on my trip, it gave me insight into the horrible attitude of everybody working on Long Beach, and now I want to share my experience with everyone in order for them to take greater care and be aware that accidents do happen, but you are not in the best place for these accidents to be taken care of.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HolidayManiac1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
1.0 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
635 reviews
1.2 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#13 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,286 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
#15 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,398 reviews
2.0 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#10 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort

Property: Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Address: 138 Moo 7, Long Beach | Ao Nang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#4 Family Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi Paradise Pearl Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing