We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down by the service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
PP Ingphu Viewpoint
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We had emailed to arrange a pick up at the pier. A guy told us to stand aside as we got off the ferry for twenty minutes and then told us no one was picking us up, he didn't even bother to give us directions, just walked away. The climb wasn't bad even with our packs but Ingphu isn't signposted from the road so we missed it until a local told us to backtrack. You enter of the road where you see the sign for 'Ma Ney Resort', on the way to the viewpoint. shortly after you will see the Ingphu sign. We were hot and tired and faced with a very rude receptionist. Fortunately a young guy offered us cold water and carried one of our bags too show us our room, we really appreciated this. Room was great, big comfortable bed and bathroom, very clean. Great views!!! Well worth the extra walk (still less than 20mins from pier!). Didn't eat at the restaurant or use the pool as we only had a very short stay. Great restaurants in town very close by.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
There are newer reviews for PP Ingphu Viewpoint
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights with my friends in a room for 4 people. The room was reasonably well kept and had the basic required facilities, although it was very cramped and small. Relative to other hotels in Thailand, you don't really get much for your money either. The location is also fairly poor, unless you enjoy evening walks up steep, poorly lit hills. All in all, a generous 3/5 rating is the most this hotel deserves.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toby N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Having read the reviews on the hotel we thought we might have made a mistake by booking three nights in advance - it wasn't a mistake at all! The hotel is great, lovely rooms, quiet, awesome and clean pool, and really relaxing place to be. The staff were very attentive and kind, helping us out with anything we needed very quickly and efficiently.

To address some of the 'bad' points listed by others;

Yes it isn't in the centre of the island, it is approximately a 10-15 min walk away from the centre, however this is not a difficult walk at all apart from a steep road that is actually very short. Besides if you want to get away from the noise it is perfect. The walk certainly isn't 'scary', we found it actually quite fun to walk back late at night - all adding to the experience.

The steps at the hotel are step and a bit all over the place but guess what - its a moutainside hotel! Did you expect an escalator?!?!?

The view is good, not amazing but nice all the same. To hear it described as a 'cesspool' makes no sense to me at all - please do not listen to anybody that says this.

It seems that most of the complaints on here are dealing with issues that can happen at any hotel. It would be a shame if anybody listened to the people condemning this place as they would miss out on a great stay and a really good hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

After reading the reviews on here we were a little apprehensive about what to expect from this accommodation. When we were arrived there was someone to meet us at the pier and then our luggage was transferred to our room! We were greeted by staff who offered us water. We arrived early and they advised us that our room should be ready by 1.15pm so we went to find somewhere to eat. Our room was lovely, they decorated our bed, it was clean with a balcony! There are steep steps to get to the rooms but we never found this a problem - in fact we quite liked the exercise after all the Thai food we have been eating. The pool is clean, not many beds that's only down side. The location is far enough from the main town so it's quiet at night (phi phi really is a party town!) but close enough to walk in (takes about 10 mins). I don't really understand the negative reviews on here, maybe there are some rooms not as nice as others (unsure). For what we paid we were more than happy and would recommend to anyone

Room Tip: We booked a fan room to save cost but it is hot at night in Thailand - temp doesnt really drop so we...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clairerees1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

It's a nice place to stay - but not for backpackers

Massive trek outside of the main area of Phi Phi - meant we spent hardly any time in the room and if we forgot anything it was very annoying

Also quite scary to walk back to at night

Saw the reviews about the steps but wasn't expecting that! So many slippery steep stone steps which aren't lit at night !

Room was ok - nothing special. Being up on the mountain was cool but for the price and the location it is not worth it

Stayed a few nights then moved to blue diamond dorms - much more central, cheaper and more fun!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emelia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My partner and I booked the hotel as a last minute part of our holiday. We only had one real requirement - air conditioning. Monsoon season it may be but it's still extremely hot and humid. We arrive on the island of koh phi phi son to be met with a mass of men shouting taxi, a normal greeting in Thailand. We soon learnt that they were assigned to different hotels as transporting luggage and guiding you to your destination. Bit different but part of the fun. We arrived at the hotel, which we had previously been advised had a lot of stairs. A stairway led us to a view of a nice pool and a welcome with cold water. Unfortunately the girl advised that they didn,t have air-conditioning but did have a fan. We'd previously stayed in a room where we struggled with the air on and didn't sleep until it was sorted, so we knew we wanted air on, however the girl was very nice and my partner suggested we see the room before we made our decision. The hut was quite a climb, by which we were very hot and the fan was pitiful. We declined the room and stayed elsewhere. The receptionist was very apologetic but she couldn't deliver what we had booked.

Room Tip: If staying a koh phi phi son, you will play the same price as on phuket for a third of the standard...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lullyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

Firstly- all the reviews mention the stairs- in my experience it wasn't the incline that was the problem- it was the fact that half were shoddily nailed together 2 by 4s with nails sticking out! Add some rain- and you have a prime opportunity for a broken arm.
Avoid his hotel. Although the rooms are ok and have a decent view, in order to get to this hotel, you have a hike!! Poor location and ITS NOT WORTH THE "view". The view in front of the hotel is the island reservoir aka CESS pool. Craziest part- We had ALREADY PAID FOR THIS HOTEL AND STILL MOVED TO A DIFF HOTEL!! It was cheaper than a hospital trip for a broken limb. stay at phi phi casita. Hopefully hotels.com will add Phi Phi Casita to their hotels soon. After all the disappointment, hotels.com attempted to contact the hotel for a reimbursement for me for a week with no luck! Thankfully they helped reimburse me themselves for part of our expense.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank realmackoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.2 mi away
Phitharom Phi Phi Resort
Phitharom Phi Phi Resort
#26 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
204 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi Cozy Seafront Resort
Phi Phi Cozy Seafront Resort
#31 of 89 in Ko Phi Phi Don
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Dream
Phi Phi Dream
#7 of 63 in Ko Phi Phi Don
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Papaya Phi Phi Resort
Papaya Phi Phi Resort
#4 of 89 in Ko Phi Phi Don
463 reviews
0.4 mi away
Orange Tree Phi Phi Island
Orange Tree Phi Phi Island
#34 of 63 in Ko Phi Phi Don
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
J.J. Bungalow & Guest house
J.J. Bungalow & Guest house
#27 of 89 in Ko Phi Phi Don
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PP Ingphu Viewpoint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PP Ingphu Viewpoint

Address: Moo 7 | Ao-Nang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: £9 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — PP Ingphu Viewpoint 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your PP Ingphu Viewpoint reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pp Ingphu Viewpoint Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing