We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely little hotel in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phi Phi Arboreal Resort
Ranked #35 of 63 Ko Phi Phi Don B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Spent two nights in Phi Phi in this hotel. There are a lot of stairs to climb to get to this hotel however the lovely staff met us at the boat port, and helped us with our backpacks (on check in and check out). And once your up there, it is so worth it for the view, plus your almost half way up to the view point.
Those who are used to five star luxury probably will not enjoy a stay here, or even on Phi Phi at all, as the rooms are quite basic but they are very clean and all have air con and fridge, and the maid will make the bed up and replace towels for you daily. No complaints!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linzi c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
There are newer reviews for Phi Phi Arboreal Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

I am so glad that many reviewers complained about the stairs because it made my getting a room that much easier at this wonderfully located placed. Being practically half-way up to the island Viewpoint, I was able to ascend for sunrise and sunset in just a few minutes. The view from my bed over the balcony is almost as good. Breakfast or drinks in the lobby also afforded the same mesmerizing vista. The room was basic but clean. A/C control was not working but was fixed shortly after I told reception about it. I was met at the ferry station by the hotel porter who carried the luggage to the hotel, including up the steps. On checkout, my bags were transported to the station as well. Now, that's service worthy of a good tip. Sure, the manager was a bit abrupt but she was probably just tired of people complaining about the steps.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Really no problems here at all. Nice clean room with comfy beds, quiet air con, nice view, away from the madness down below. It doesn't take long to get down the hill at all, the steps are no problem whatsoever. This has been the most expensive place we've stayed at but then its Phi Phi so we expected that. All in all I've got no complaints at all.

Just to note, we didn't eat here on the basis of previous reviews.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinheadplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Nice staff, Nice room , Amazing view!
Stairs is no problem to a normal human... ( My weight 95 kg, smoke and party...)
It's Thailand people, not NYC...
Spent 4 days at this resort, would do that again!

Room Tip: Family room 2...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Avoid unless:
You are prepared to clean your own room.
You speak thai, nobody speaks good english, night staff just don't.
You love eggs, since it's basically the only thing you will get for breakfast.

It's 220 steps up the hill to get to the room I booked, could be terrible for some.

Stay away from the restaurant, food is not well kept and you could get sick.

Wifi available ONLY at the reception (about 100 steps from you).

Certainly this can't be called a hotel and it's not even close to what you image from the pictures. The view is good and the locations is great if you don't care to hear the noise from nightlife everyday from like 9pm to about 4am.

You can take everything if the price is right, but in this case it expensive and awful. Please avoid.

Room Tip: Just make sure you are not overpaying
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JuanPabloChile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Ok I must not have been to the same hotel than the other comments there or maybe something has changed since the very bad reviews as I actually liked the place. Yes the rooms are uphill (very close to the view point) and you have to climb. 200+ steps to get there but wow the view is well worth it. Stayed there for three nights from 29dec to 1jan. It was pretty expensive compares to other Thailand accom but it was New Years and we booked pretty late.
anyway the room we were in was really clean and we had hot water in the shower. Real toilets that flush and a fridge with complementary water and a kettle/hot water dispenser for tea/coffee in the morning.

The noise from the beach bars and parties does carry but I had earplugs so it did not bother me. Koh phi phi is a party island so if you're looking for relaxation, go to another island!

Re: the restaurant, Breakfast was included in the room price and comprised of a juice (orange or pineapple), eggs, toast, some weird looking piece of ham and sausage (I did not eat them) and a coffee or tea. If you don't want that, the restaurant has other stuff on their menu. I would not recommend anything that isn't really well cooked or seafood as the people traveling with me all fell sick from a bad squid at our New Year's Eve dinner there.

So overall, nice clean room with good workout everyday from going up the stairs and very nice view but stay away from the restaurant.

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank Julieoz14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The ugly,miserable, unfriendly place I have ever been .The reception area was unacceptable ,covered with asbestos,The breakfast was a egg diet every morning.The room furniture was old and screeched,room housekeeping was horrible ,smelly,the bath was small no window and the tiles old and various antic models.
Wifi available near reception but poor signal
No swimming pool only 150 stairs
Up to 4 am the music beat for beach party you can hear it.
Room price was for 5+ stars ,paid in september through Asia web direct,never use this agency!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 16061999aida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.3 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#6 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
641 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
#12 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
274 reviews
0.0 mi away
Papaya Phi Phi Resort
Papaya Phi Phi Resort
#4 of 89 in Ko Phi Phi Don
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibiza House Phi Phi
Ibiza House Phi Phi
#39 of 63 in Ko Phi Phi Don
337 reviews
0.7 mi away
P.P. Maiyada Resort
P.P. Maiyada Resort
#38 of 63 in Ko Phi Phi Don
300 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chongkhao Resort
Chongkhao Resort
#12 of 63 in Ko Phi Phi Don
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Arboreal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Arboreal Resort

Address: 125 / 148 Moo 7 Ao-Nang, Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: £16 - £521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phi Phi Arboreal Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Phi Phi Arboreal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Arboreal Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing