We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£20
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
£18
Easy and fast booking
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
jerome c
London, United Kingdom

Nice hotel - but the stairs will kill you

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Jan 2011
Having read the reviews, I was prepared for some 'exercice' to get to my room.
And indeed... I'm 32, run about 20K a week, cycle and play football. Well, after 3 nights in the hotel, I was cursing those stairs.
Because you do have to come back to your hotel a couple of times minimum a day, it gets so physically demanding that you will put everything you can in your bag not to have to come back to it.
Yes, once up there the view is amazing. But you would only do it once, not 3 times a day.
Shame because the hotel was nice and the staff good.
Between that and no stay in phi phi, i'd still prefer to come. But I wish I took a hotel in the village.
Date of stay: January 2011
Trip type: Travelled solo
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£105
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £95
  • Hotels.com
    £98
1.4 miles from Phi Phi Arboreal Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Private Pool Villa
Booking.com
£82
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £68
  • Hotels.com
    £76
0.2 miles from Phi Phi Arboreal Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
The Pool at Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Booking.com
£36
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £94
  • Agoda.com
    £30
  • Hotels.com
    £94
0.4 miles from Phi Phi Arboreal Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
£105
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £93
  • Expedia.com
    £157
0.7 miles from Phi Phi Arboreal Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
£49
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £47
  • Hotels.com
    £81
0.5 miles from Phi Phi Arboreal Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Booking.com
£117
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £109
  • travelup.com
    £115
2.8 miles from Phi Phi Arboreal Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Phi Phi the Beach Resort is a dream location for any visitor looking for either an eventful or relaxing holiday. Situated on the quiet Long Beach, which overlooks the stunning Maya bay island, our hillside villa views are unbeatable.
Booking.com
£61
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
    £55
  • Expedia.com
    £60
1.3 miles from Phi Phi Arboreal Resort
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
£41
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £31
  • Expedia.com
    £53
1.0 miles from Phi Phi Arboreal Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
Booking.com
£102
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £90
  • Expedia.com
    £114
2.5 miles from Phi Phi Arboreal Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
    £48
  • Agoda.com
    £29
  • Expedia.com
    £37
0.5 miles from Phi Phi Arboreal Resort
Pool
Beachfront
View more hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveller rating
32
76
74
42
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
32
76
74
42
64
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 288 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Our rating is based on the hotel being on Phi Phi. Compared with hotels in other destinations then they would all be lower.

Phi Phi is a very picturesque island and is very lively over New Year as we expected. Due to being very busy we booked in advance as there weren't many good rooms available.

We chose to go mid-range price wise over New Year. A lot of hotels doubled their prices over that period. It still was expensive at around 85GBP per night but we wanted to be there so were happy to pay.

The hotel is a hike up towards the viewpoint as other reviews have said so we weren't surprised by this. Although it is hard going it was worth it for the view from the balcony. (260 steps to our room at the very top). We decided to stay up there as we thought it might be quieter for whenever we chose to go to bed, but the noise from the beach bars amplified itself towards the hotel. Not a problem if you want to stay up until 4am (which was a typical quiet time) as we did on NYE. :-)

Generally the accommodation on Phi Phi is aimed at backpackers (or the very rich). The rooms at this hotel are bungalows on stilts on the hillside. For the island the quality was good however in comparison with other locations we visited, it was average. The bathroom is a little odd as it was plastered but not properly painted or tiled and you have to close the blind between the bathroom and the bedroom.

An excellent part of the service is the guys who meet every ferry and will trolley your bags through the town and then carry them (2 or 3 at a time) up the stairs, and will deliver them to the ferry when you leave. Worth a generous tip!

If you are going for the destination, want a good base with standard amenities (tv/fridge/safe etc), and don't mind some exercise, then this is a good option.

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 December 2010

The hotel is located up on the hill on the way to view points.
The room was really comfortable and modern with terrace.
The reception woman was very nice.
The breakfast included was quite standard.
The view points are very close, about 5 mints to the 1st one. The beach is a little far, about 10-15 mints walk, the same distance to the pier. Well, if you are young and not that lazy it will be ok.
The hotel porter will pick your luggage at the pier.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serik1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 December 2010

The best thing about this place is the breathtaking view. And I mean breathtaking in more ways than one as it comes with an arduous hike up steep stairs. So be warned not to stay here if you have a heart problem or are prone to forgetting things in your room!

We hadn’t booked accommodation on Phi Phi in advance (the ultimate sin) and reception offered us a 3-night special, which was 500 baht less per night off the standard price. The room they offered was moden and spotlessly clean, with white tiled floors, spacious and comfy bed and good-sized bathroom. It had a huge wooden balcony with aforementioned breathtaking view – and this, along with the reduced price was the reason we decided to stay.

Breakfast was nothing to write home about – omlette and toast were edible, but sausages were plasticky, coffee was Nescafe (this is the norm in Thailand). Fruit was nice and pineapple juice was actually made out of pineapples (unlike the orange juice – avoid!)

I wouldn’t advise staying here if beach is your main focus as its quite a trek. You also have to walk past the water treatment plant (lovingly dubbed the “poo garden”) to get to Tonsai village, but it’s a quick walk – and definitely worth staying some distance from Tonsai to escape the nightly revelry. There are some tour agents, massaaaaaaaage parlours, restaurants and convenience shops at the bottom of the stairs so you don’t need to go far to get basics. Its also half way up the famous Phi Phi viewpoint so its worth heading up there early one morning to beat the crowds and admire one of the best views on Earth.

Overall we found this place a calm and clean place to retreat to after long days of diving and long nights of drinking Chang in Tonsai. Being woken up with tropical birds calling in the surrounding jungle and monkeys clambering on our balcony didn’t hurt either.

Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hatter08
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 November 2010

We have read the mixed comments about this hotel and the result is that after we stayed there we have the mixed feelings ourselves. First room was not finished (bathroom was missing paint, airconditioning work just on the highest speed which was really freezing cold and noisy or not at all) but the manager dealt with our complain immediatelly, and let us have new room at around 11pm. It did not have king size bed, but two single beds, but it was much better set up - painted bathroom, A/C operating on different speeds.etc. WE did not mind the window in between bathroom/bedroom there were blinders so if you didn't feel comfortable you can let them down and problem sorted. Sunset views from the room were amazing, and staff very friendly, free internet very handy. Breakfast was very plain and not very tasty, garden might be really nice for next season (during our stay it was in process of preparation for pool and plants) and overall I would say it was not the best place we could pick, but definatelly in Phi-Phi you could go to worth places - downtown was dreadful smell of suriagge, which probably influenced few hotels, also noise was an issue.

Date of stay: June 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 February 2024 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews