We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Phi Phi Sand Sea View Resort
Ranked #25 of 61 Ko Phi Phi Don B&B and Inns
New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Resort?”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This set of 10 bungalows are slightly away from all the tourist shops of Ton Sai (about a 5-10 minute walk) so the beach is a little emptier here, though the bay is still filled with countless boats, which somewhat ruins the view. Sand Sea View Resort says their bungalows are “on the beach,” and I guess this is true since they’re built on sand. They also say there is “an ocean view,” which is also technically true since you could see a sliver of blue from our deck. We were in the second bungalow, not sure how the view from #5 would be.

The sliding door to our bungalow hardly opened enough for us to get in and out. There’s a fridge and an old TV, three hooks on the wall to hang your things. Plenty of floor space, A/C and hot water, soap dispenser in the bathroom, towels and toilet paper.

There was an incredibly bad smell in the bathroom that was overwhelming by the second day. There was a door to close off the bathroom, which kept the main room ok but made the bathroom even worse.

The owner/manager (?) Koko was friendly and tried to be accommodating. We paid 1,100 Baht/night (about $37).

We moved after two nights down to Long Beach and we were MUCH happier.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyouandI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    22
    30
    11
    42
See reviews for
8
49
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

And a view of it too. We stayed in one of the huts facing the beach, the view and the locale were both EXACTLY what we were after. The staff were excellent, really really can't fault them at all. We did encounter roaches(see the pics) and the cleanliness could be questioned and some would care, but for the money, i didn't.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattlynch40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

If you are looking for budget accomodation on Koh Phi Phi and don't want to sleep in a dorm, you have to put up with fan-only rooms. Close to the beach and on the quieter end of Ton Sai harbor is the Sand Sea View Resort and it offers these kind of bungalows. I paid 700 Baht per night for a bungalow that was relatively clean. I ended up only spending one night however, because it was so hot that I couldn't sleep. The resort doesn't have much else to offer, no WiFi, not even the chairs at the beach are free. Maybe the A/C bungalows are better, but surrounding resorts looked much nicer. I wasn't a great fan of Phi Phi altogether, so maybe skip this island and explore the much more beautiful ones around?

Room Tip: invest in A/C!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shakermaker21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

A friend and I got to Phi Phi and we were told we'd be greeted at the dock by hotel staff. I showed some locals my hotel confirmation (BRING THAT) and they pointed us in the right direction. We found our guy who was helping everyone who was staying there put their luggage onto a cart that he pulled back to the hotel.

Luckily we had our itinerary so we were able to check in right away. Another group of people didn't and it was more difficult for them. The rooms are fine. They weren't dirty, they weren't air conditioned (we had mosquito nets), and they weren't fancy. I didn't spend any time in there other than sleeping so maybe I'm not picky enough but everything else about this place more than made up for the lack of fanciness.

The location, to me, was perfect. Steps from the beach, some local beach monkeys, and a great little bar The Deaf Gecko. Shops and restaurants are steps away too. It's a walk to the other side of the island but it's a great walk. There's so many things to see, like the tsunami memorial. Plus I liked being away from drunken college people (I was 30 when I was there) so it was nice to go get drunk on their turf and then go home to quiet.

Definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gomerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013 via mobile

Arrived in phi phi island and it was stunning.

Booked hotel at the pier we asked for a place on the beach for a good price as we were on a budget. We got shown the photo's and booked the place for fan room bungalow on the beach for 1000bht which was about 20 English pounds.

We waited for about 20 minutes for the trolley man to come and take us to our room.

He finially turned up and walked us down to the accomadation it was just off the beach is stunning and we thought this is the place!

We enter the room which is woven bamboo sheet for walls.

The room was very basic which we were fine with it but there were cockroach eggs in all the corners. The bed was a box surround with 2 mattress placed on top. The room was full of little insects the fan was placed over the bed.

We went out and brought some bug spray. Sprayed the room and came back later. There were dead cockroaches over the floor and little dead insects everywhere.
I felt horrible sleeping in the room but the island was full and we had booked 2 nights.
The next morning I woke up and I was covered in bites. The fan barely worked and made a loud noise but we hadn't a choice.


I Would never return this accomadtion but the island is stunning and two nights in this insect pit was worth it just being in such amazing place!

There is better accomadation on the island and if traveling in dec/ peak season I would pre book next time.

Advice dont walk to view point in afternoon as there's over 1000 steps up hill and in the heat it's painful! But it was worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SlCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

It is difficult to consider the hotel independently from the rest of the island. Phi Phi Don feels like Amsterdam central - packed with teenage party tourists and souvenir shops.
The room was spartanic and set up quite efficiently. The surroundings were quiet, as the huts are at the end of the beach. Sleeping was difficult though, as just a towel was provided as bedding. Also, the heat was unbearable. Being without A/C, one should have thought of a better air flow through the room. Using the bathroom "window" was not possible due to mosquitoes coming in and a strong smell coming back up through the drain.
If you are planning on relaxing on Phi Phi Don, book a bungalow on the hill or invest in a "real" resort.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karlusha_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

1 star property with 3 star prices. We paid 80USD a night for a non A/C room with 2 uncomfortable beds. The bedding was a large towel.
Sadly Phi Phi is a victim of it's own success. Too many people on a tiny Island. On a positive not the beaches on the other side of the Island are almost desertd and very nice

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Phi Phi Don
0.3 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#14 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coma Lounge & Hostel
Coma Lounge & Hostel
#21 of 137 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phi Phi Good View
Phi Phi Good View
#12 of 61 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chongkhao Resort
Chongkhao Resort
#14 of 61 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.7 mi away
Phi Phi Andaman Legacy
Phi Phi Andaman Legacy
#16 of 61 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.0 mi away
PP Nice Beach Resort
PP Nice Beach Resort
#36 of 61 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Sand Sea View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Sand Sea View Resort

Property: Phi Phi Sand Sea View Resort
Address: 17 M.7 T.Aonang A.Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phi Phi Sand Sea View Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phi Phi Islands are considered to be one the most beautiful tropical islands of the world, located in Krabi province southern of Thailand. It is surrounded by white sandy beaches; crystal clear sea water, fascination coral reefs and various species of fish. Phi Phi Sand Sea View Resort is located on Ton Sai bay which is a peaceful and beautiful beach. The resort offers comfortable and convenient air conditioned and fan bedrooms. The private beach is most suitable for your vacation. This is your second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Phi Phi Sand Sea View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Sand Sea View Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing