We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mama Beach Residence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I didn't know what to expect when I booked this hotel for 2 nights while staying in Ko Phi Phi Islands. This hotel is located at the end of the island and is peaceful and quiet, yet only a few minutes away from all the craziness. We had a ground floor room that opened up to the beach just a few steps away. We spent lots of time sitting on the front porch staring at the water. There's a small tiki bar here as well if you want to sit and enjoy some drinks on the beach. We were here in the off-season, so finding a lounge chair wasn't a problem. The swimming area is roped off so you don't have to worry about any of the boats getting too close when you're swimming. The wi-fi didn't work well the entire time we were there, but who cares, I needed to unplug anyway. The rooms were clean and the pillows were comfortable. Bathroom was clean and the staff was attentive if we needed anything. You can walk to everything here on the Phi Phi Islands.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    273
    114
    40
    51
See reviews for
100
501
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
colchester
Level Contributor
193 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Booked the Mama beach , because I had been to Ko phi phi before it's on the best part of the two beaches , with amazing views , and peace and quite . A short walk from the pier and the nightlife of the other beach . We booked a beach front room which had amazing views from the front . The resort is well kept , with nice rattan day beds , and loungers on the beach . The Mama beach is run by a French couple who told us they had a French chef who cooked beautiful French food , had French wine and cheeses , but why anyone would want to come to Thailand to eat French food when Thai food is amazing . The room was nice , bathroom ok , but the view from the room was amazing !. Breakfast was ok . The only thing wrong with the Mama beach is there is major construction going on both sides and the back of the resort . The work started at 7 am and went onto 9 pm . There was a barge they was filling , cranes , Jack hammers and cement mixers . It was so noisy and filled with Thai builders hammering everywhere . There was no hot water in our room , the towels were threadbare and did not smell fresh .. The bathroom is open so the construction noise comes flooding in your room .We had booked for four days the owners offered us a discount or full refund , he suggested we try the resort for one night , big miss take should have checked out straight away . As we checked out the owner called his wife to give us a refund for the night as he was on his phone , she saw us and vanished , no refund!!!!! .I was so glad to leave the Mama beach and go to the outrigger Which is amazing . I would recommend anyone who has booked the Mama beach to cancel until all the construction is done , which will be a while as they are building a new resort behind , then the resort will be great again .

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank colchesteradrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

First of all the view from this hotel is just wow.. stunning. Located right on the beach and at the end so its like your own private beach!

On arrival the rooms were standard but what we expected, it was small but enough room from 3 people, the bathroom was good and clean. The actual grounds of the lodge were beautiful, and the beach was stunning, on the beach there was a bar that belonged to the lodge and the cocktails were great! The staff were amazing, genuine and friendly. Our rooms were always done by the the time we got back from our outings.

Over all the rooms were perfect for what we needed, staff were great and helpful, the food was lovely and fresh, but the beach and the view is what made it the best part of my trip! It was heaven!

Although its on the same side of the island as the pier its very quiet and clean and not far from all the excitement!

I defiantly recommend staying here.. in fact if i were to go back i would stay nowhere else but here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rolo1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
266 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

It is a beautiful remote island and Mama is at the quiet end of the island. If you want a refuge, awesome, if you want the crazy scene, its not that far a walk, but that is a very good thing. The remoteness and beauty of Mama's is a strong point for us. They just need to be more generous about their wi-fi. I know your at the end of the world, but they could provide the wi fi they claim they provide at the bar, that claims to have wi fi with out hassles. I hate to quibble in such a beautiful place, but I opted to pay extra for these luxuries.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dkazooman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and loved it. It is about a 10 minute walk from the pier. Someone from the hotel carried our luggage back to the pier the day we left which we appreciated. There was construction going on next door and the staff were very apologetic about it, but it really didn't bother us much. We ate at the cafe here several times and enjoyed everything we tried. We especially enjoyed the fresh juice and fruit in the morning.

There are loungers with umbrellas in front of the hotel so you can relax right on the beach with great views of the water or of the nearby rock climbers. There is not much nightlife on this side of the beach, but a quick 10 minute walk will take you closer to the pier where there is a little more activity.

Overall, it was a very quiet and relaxing stay. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krystal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is on the quiet side of the island, it has a nice private sun bed area on the beach. The staff here are very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much. Breakfast was good and cooked fresh to order.
The room was a good size with a lovely balcony overlooking the beach and out to sea with 2 very comfortable chairs.
The only thing I didn't like was that it had an open bathroom, with curtains across for privacy, I think it would have been nice not to have had the bathroom left open and to be enclosed. But to be far the staff came in at night time and sprayed for mosquitos each night and we didn't have one mosquito bite whilst staying there. Not too sure breathing in the mosquito repellent was the best thing for our health but it worked.
Would recommend this hotel to any one considering going to Koh Phi Phi.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Loved it ! Probably the best hotel in Phi Phi location: really the best location in the island. Amazing beach and sea. calm and not far from the action and nightlife (10 mins walk to the tongsai pier and he village) Comfy beds and linen Christine is friendly and very helpful (and very professional)
Bathroom and shower not great. Water of the sink is almost non existent rooms are basic, look like residential beach chalets in France AC could be replaced with a better one breakfast can be improved excursion from the hotel a bit expensive (go talk to vendors on the way to the pier) didn't try lunch/dinner didn't try the massage on the beach of the hotel. Very gay-friendly hotel :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kas_Bxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#14 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,269 reviews
1.3 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
818 reviews
1.8 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#6 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,379 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
1.2 mi away
Viking Natures Resort
Viking Natures Resort
#1 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Beach Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Beach Residence

Property: Mama Beach Residence
Address: 199 Moo 7, Ton Sai Bay | Phi phi island 81000 Krabi province, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 88 Speciality Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mama Beach Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Mama Beach Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mama Beach Residence Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing