We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel and highly recommended!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of PP Insula

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
PP Insula
Ranked #2 of 60 Ko Phi Phi Don B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel and highly recommended!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

After reading the reviews on TA I had booked a room at this hotel for 4 nights. There is absolutely nothing negative I can say about this hotel, it's just perfect. To begin: the staff is super friendly, very helpful and sweet. The price 1.000 Baht per night is very responsible for Phi Phi, especially considering what you get for it. The room is flawless, with a very comfi bed (with normal blankets), AC, TV, WIFI, refrigerator, balcony, complimentary bottles of water, daily cleaning and changing of towels. The location is another big plus of this hotel, close to the pier, the beach, the parties, but still quiet for a good night rest. Luckily the 'die hard' party goers are not willing to pay 1.000 Baht for a room, so they mostly stay in the crankier places.

So for the price of a guesthouse or homestay you get a 'real' hotelroom with all their amenities. You don't have to stay in all the hotels on Phi Phi to know that this hotel has by far the best value for money and therefore is a perfect option. Book ahead since they are often fully booked. If you stay more than one night and are willing to pay in front you can even get a discount. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Saw 2 rooms and both were the same, third floor has better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rinoromeyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    144
    41
    7
    5
See reviews for
15
161
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

The PP Insula has a great location and is very easy to find when arriving on Phi Phi. The hotel is very clean with hot water and air con in the rooms plus a fridge and free water. The staff were ok but did not have much conversation with them. The hotel is secure as it has a swipe pass entry system which is good. The main problem is the noise from residents. Despite there being signs everywhere asking people to be quiet and not to bang doors this happens every night when the young backpackers return from the clubs and bars at 4am and make lots of noise. Add to this that you can hear the mosque call to prayer at 5am every morning and it is not condusive to a great nights sleep. However if you like staying out late and are a young person or don't mind the noise then this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs it will make your room better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Whorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

At 1000 baht a night, this place was a bargain! The service was excellent and staff friendly at all times. The room was a decent size and was also very clean. We had a room on the third floor with views over the local market to the sea.

The room was cleaned every day and the towels changed too.

The location was good only 2 minutes from the pier and far enough from the party beach that it was quiet too. You get given a tag to open the security door at nights - a great idea!

Free in-room wifi worked great!

If I travel to Phi Phi again, I'll stay here!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank portex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

First time to Phi Phi and after searching around found this gem. Beds were super comfy, rooms were clean and modernish. Plenty of hot water. Quiet. Great location - in the middle of town away from the madness, yet close to everything if needed. Planned on staying a few days and finding something cheaper...but the price is well worth it and stayed for a week.
Amazing, friendly and accommodating staff! Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the market are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank latebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

This place is significantly cheaper than any other hotel we looked at and it is practically flawless! It is as good as any mid range hotel I've stayed in recently, it's tastefully decorated and they've got the details just right. The bathrooms have a really well thought out wet and dry area and the shower's great. Free wifi, comfy beds and no noise. Service was impecable, the front of house staff were super friendly and helpful and our rooms were made up daily and we were given fresh towels. There's no pool but the beach is just a two minute walk and for all the baht you'll save I doubt you'll care. If you really want a pool then jj residence (just next door) has a small one and looks like a good bet.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank icky_icky_ooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

We stayed on island for ten days from low end rooms from a few dollars with no window to the banyan tree.

It's a real gem, very friendly, clean rooms with emphasis on safety with secure door entry and quiet hallways so you can sleep.

Good beds and nice shower room. Wi fi works well too. Price wad 1500thb night but much better value than other bigger hotels.

Nice quiet street away from party street but good so
Ple location on small island.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lordhume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

We planned to stay on Phi Phi island for about a week. We decided to book one night at another guest house + paid in advance.
We arrived on the noon ferry and when we got to our room, it was smaller than we expected and it had no windows. Hmm..Being our first visit to the island, we hoped for a cozy feeling but this wasn't cozy at all. To make things worse, the bathroom was wet and smelled like mold - AND HAD BUGS! What a deal!! So the first night was a nightmare stuck in a dark, moldy, over-sized closet with little guests and plenty of neighborhood noise, aswell.
When the morning come, we went straight out to find a new place to stay.
We bounced around to about 6 or 7 other places and finally decided on PP Insula with is located in a building with 2 other guest houses.( a tree story building in the middle of Ton Sai pier and Loh Da Lum Beach, close to village market) We saw it last because the price was about 100-200 baht higher than the average guest house. (we paid 900 baht for a Double Bed room)
It was clear from the beginning that spending about 200 baht extra would be well worth it. All the other places had that cramped feeling due to the narrow hallways & tight staircases and then the compact rooms with only a few lights to reaveal the ordinary bed + other furniture. Just moving through the PP Insula's common spaces felt open + fresh.
The room was very specious & clean, it had a nice balcony, and the bathroom was uniquely large with a "wet" area and "dry" area. There were night tables with lamps on each side of the bed so you could actually read at night while your mate slept without some annoying blue flourescent overhead light making the room glow in that creepy depressing way. The room was indeed cozy and what better thing to have in a cozy room than FREE WIFI! We had a room on the top floor(3rd) so I could hang out on the balcony and enjoy sea view while surfing the internet. I love it! (except when the signel went down a few times but the frontdesk mentioned it might happen.) The staffs were friendly.
Another unusual thing that I really appreciated was the "security" door PP Insula uses for guest house like some kind of VIP access that requires the use of magnetic card, the door only opens for people who actually belong at the guest house and not for rowdy, trouble makers like the drunk guy who tried to get in one night while we were staying there. Considering the crowd that stays on Phi Phi, this security feature was very comforting thing.
The only thing that wasn't rosy was the smell of the water coming out of the toilet spray hose.
In the end, we ended up staying over a week and will go straight back to PP Insula if we return to Phi Phi Island.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Lovinapim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.0 mi away
Phi Phi Hotel
Phi Phi Hotel
#8 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#4 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
JJ Residence
JJ Residence
#4 of 60 in Ko Phi Phi Don
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panmanee Hotel
Panmanee Hotel
#1 of 60 in Ko Phi Phi Don
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dee Dee Beach House
Dee Dee Beach House
#3 of 60 in Ko Phi Phi Don
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PP Insula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PP Insula

Property: PP Insula
Address: 194 mu7 T. Ao-nang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your PP Insula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pp Insula Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing