We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If You Really Must”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Phi Phi Uphill Cottage
Ranked #9 of 62 Ko Phi Phi Don B&B and Inns
Florida, USA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“If You Really Must”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I learned a lesson about staying in KPP. You need to pay more for a hotel, and you can get a really nice one for not too much more than I paid for this place and probably with a great view. I purchased a room in this place for two nights on a major Thai web seller of hotels. When I checked in the first thing I was told by the desk clerk was I could stay in a bungalow (to be avoided) for the first night and then be moved to the room I had booked for the second night (a minor inconvenience). The room I had booked wasn't bad - it looks out over a reservoir, has a nice front porch or terrace,, and the room was clean. The mattress was in need of replacement. The reason I booked this hotel was because the popular guidebook I use said noise was a problem in hotels in the center of Tonsai Village. The book was correct. I could hear the noise from my hotel, but it wasn't a problem. This hotel does the deal of a clean place to stay but don't expect to get a lot of value for your money in KPP as you do in other Thai locations.

Room Tip: If you must have a bungalow -- know that they are small especially for two people. I felt cramped a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casadetini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    33
    33
    19
    10
See reviews for
2
60
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
cairns
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Uphill was ok...actually on the lower end of ok. The Wifi is TERRIBLE and the staff are not particularly friendly. If you are going to stay here ask for a "separate bungalow" as the "bungalows" are joined wall to wall. It was hot and noisy even with the aircon on (which barely cooled at all). Also if you do decide to brave the Uphill beware the monkey invaders...if leave your clothes outside to dry the may become part of a monkey dressup game :) The "separate air con bungalows" at Uphill were 1200 baht and we found a gorgeous place two hotels before it called PP Garden Home that we decided to move to. Its not on advertised online but ask for it at the dock when you arrive on PhiPhi. The rooms are 10 times nicer, cooler, quieter and there is a great restaurant out the front. Don't be fooled by the Garden View or Garden Inn imposters...there is nowhere nicer or cheaper on the island then the real deal PP Garden home. We are paying 1000baht a night for a gorgeous room with great wifi.

Room Tip: The bungalows have a decent veiw and breeze...rooms are shabby. The "seperate bungalows"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aroundabout789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This is one of those places, if you aren't' fussy this will be more than adequate for you, however if you are looking for a place with all the added bonuses maybe look elsewhere!

We had not booked when we arrived at Phi Phi from Phuket, however the man from uphill cottage who pushed the bags up the hill still offered to take our bags for us even though we just wanted to view the room not necessarily take it. So that was a good start.

Once we got there we decided to just book one night to see how it goes, ended up staying for 4 nights. Luckily for me and my friend they only had triple rooms but they were more than happy to give us a triple room for the double price of 500 baht a night.

Overall it was pretty good, beds were fine, towels were in good condition although sometimes we got beach towels which we thought was funny. staff were friendly enough although not overly. location is good if you don't mind a bit of a walk max 10 mins into center town!

Only downsides were no fly wire on windows meaning bugs and mosquitoes can get in. Also as we only had fans we always had the windows open as it was often cooler outside especially in the evenings. Also there was only 1 power point in our whole triple room and that was powering our second fan, so this meant if we wanted to charge anything (mp3, camera,ipad) we had to unplug our fan leaving only one roof fan to cool the whole room. For some this wouldn't be a problem but just a bit of an inconvenience for us, so just letting people know. Wi-fi was average, not very strong also dropped out a lot.

Overall it was more than adequate for our needs also looked really nice from seat outside the room at sunset/dusk!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbell021094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

True to its name.. about a 10-15 min walk up hill from the beach. Quite, No TV, no fridge, no frills at all. For 800 bhat a night in low season.. it served its purpose for a place to stay with AC. Room needed a paint job , towels were to be desired (but got 2 new ones a day), just sheets on the bed, fairly cool ac, wifi worked but had a low signal. Spent three days at Phi phi don.. and only slept at the room. Not a room to spend all your free time at. Its a place to rest your head after a long day of diving, snorkeling, laying on the beach, drinking hard or taking pictures. No problems to speak of at all.. just not just much to look at either. Given the other choices at this price range.. I actually would stay here again. If your adventurous and not a picky traveler.. this fits a month long travelers budget and gets the job done.

Room Tip: Go with an AC room.. its worth it.. for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrendelATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Travelling as a three can be quite difficult when it comes to finding a room and Uphill were more than accommodating. Our room was initially made up to sleep two but they quickly moved it around and brought an extra bed in and made it up for the three of us.

These cottages are nice, the double bed is big and the aircon is good. Uphill really is a good description for it as it is a bit of an uphill walk to get there so not suitable for the less mobile.

Location is set away from the beach so you don't get the noise, but with Phi Phi being a small island you're in walking distance of everything.

The shower lets this place down. it is very very poor in terms of pressure. There was actually more pressure in the little hose near the toilet!

Worth paying one of the guys with a trolley to push your bags from the pier to Uphill Cottage as it is a bit of a walk.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

It was difficult to find cheaper accommodation on Koh phi phi that was quite and away from all of the noise/party scene, but we LOVED the uphill cottage. It is away from most of the bar scene and great value! I would suggest getting ac.. It's not too much more. The rooms were clean the staff was nice and the rooms were spacious for the price. I would stay there again! Also there is a nice delicious cafe near by- amazing banana pancakes!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EBear2751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Old A/C didn't cool the room but sure made it loud.
Door lock didn't make me feel particularly great about leaving valuables in the room.
Walls were very thin.
Website pictures aren't all that accurate.
Good wifi.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.3 mi away
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
#15 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
635 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi Hotel
Phi Phi Hotel
#8 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#10 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,597 reviews
1.1 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Papaya Phi Phi Resort
Papaya Phi Phi Resort
#4 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Uphill Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Uphill Cottage

Property: Phi Phi Uphill Cottage
Address: 140 Moo 7, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Phi Phi Uphill Cottage 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phi Phi Uphill Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing