We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended but depends on what you pay per night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Phuphaya Seaview Resort
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Recommended but depends on what you pay per night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed in the Bamboo Bungalow with AC for $45 a night including in room safe, free wi-fi and breakfast. The room was small, but nice and clean. The bathroom was large, but was not like other hotel bathrooms we had in Thailand. Since it is a bamboo bungalow, the bathroom wasn't enclosed very well-there were gaps between the bamboo walls which allowed a lizard into the bathroom and some bugs. We also had to descend 3 stairs to get into the bathroom from the main room which wasn't a big deal, just different than what we had experienced. The shower never had warm water which ended up working out fine as the walk up the hill to the hotel made us so hot and sweaty that a cool shower felt great! We ALWAYS kept the door between the bathroom and the main room closed so that bugs, lizards, etc didn't get in. Besides seeing a few bugs and a lizard in the bathroom, the rest of our room was bug free! They provide a mosquito net, but we never had to use it. The AC worked great; I even got cold at times as the hotel only provides a thin blanket but you really don't need much as it is pretty hot. Breakfast was ok-they give you a menu and you get to pick one item and one drink. They had several choices for breakfast: muesli & yogurt, eggs cooked various ways with toast and just toast with butter/jam. You also get to pick from orange juice, coffee or tea. For us this was a perfect breakfast, but don't expect a buffet with an assortment of foods. The view from the hotel is beautiful, but you pay for the view by walking up a semi-steep hill. For us, the hill wasn't bad (about a 5 min walk uphill, but the steepest part is the last part which takes less than 30 seconds to go up). If you are planning to go to the Phi Phi Viewpoint, then you can walk this hill! A staff member met us at the pier and carried our bags to the hotel for us (i think they always have someone waiting at the pier as we did not notify them what time our ferry was arriving). It was about a 15-20 min walk from the pier to the hotel. When we got to the bottom of the hill of the hotel, a small truck was waiting for us and drove us up the hill and to reception. The only negative about this place is the noise. It is loud, but if you plan on partying then it isn't a problem. We were able to sleep but it wasn't the best sleep. The internet worked great in our room and throughout the hotel; however, it NEVER worked past 8pm at night-this happened every day for four days so I don't know if they turn it off or what. This hotel wasn't our first choice (the hotels we wanted were sold out) but it was a good second choice for us. If you are on a budget, but don't want to stay in hostels, this is a good option. I would recommend staying here only if paying less than $50 a night otherwise if you are paying more, you are better off going somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yolanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    27
    42
    37
    45
See reviews for
12
83
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

The place has a beautiful view, the rooms are very clean, and the overall stay was quite pleasant, but wouldn't return.

Although, when we arrived to this "resort" (yes it is quite a bit of a climb) and had some complications with our reservation. The person at the front desk was laughing at us saying she didn't have the confirmation for our booking, even though we had a copy of it with us. She wouldn't let us use the phone, and was just laughing at us. Feeling a bit unwelcome we were left to track back down the steep hill to find a phone and contact the booking agency. Poor customer service and felt like she could have cared less to have guests stay there.

Also, it is worth noting, that the our bungalow was very loud at night from the music playing at the beach clubs, I cannot speak for the other bungalows down the hill, but ours felt like we shared a wall with a nightclub.

In speaking with other travelers, the other side of the island is much quieter at night, so if you value your sleep, go somewhere else.

All in all, would I stay here again? I think not.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobeTrekker S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

We checked into a sea view bungalow . The view was fantastic and the pool a nice place to relax and look out over the water and beach.The Air did not work and when we told the staff they told us they would get it fixed within 2 hours and they did. we booked our snorkelling tour through the hotel and the cost was the same as in any place in town. The staff were friendly and helpful although there is a language barrier with the kitchen staff. If you like to turn in early this might not be the right place for you as you can hear the music from the beach clubs but if you are happy to join in the fun then I would really recommend this place. One down fall you have to pay every time you want to access the lockers.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. Quite a few reviews have mentioned the steep hill, and that is definitely a pro and a con of this beautiful place. Its worth remembering that phi phi is an island, and therefore there are steep mountains and not every place can be built on the flat part of the island. so yes it is very steep to go up and down from the rooms, but once you've done it a couple of times its doesn't seem so bad anymore and you just get used to it. however I would not recommend this for anyone who has even the slightest difficulty walking. The pro is that you get lovely views and a nice cooling sea breeze to help with the oppressive heat.
Upon arrival at Tonsai pier, the staff were waiting to take our heavy bags in a cart up to near the hotel, and then they are transferred onto a small little van, which you get onto as well. the van takes you up the steepest part of the hill and delivers you to reception, and then again takes your bags up the steep walk to your room.
The staff are all very friendly and helpful, and the rooms are basic but very clean. We stayed in the bamboo bungalow with fan, and I would say that aircon would be nicer, but you can manage with the fan. We slept very well every night, as the hotel is located some distance from the noisy beach. you can still hear the music at night but its not too bad. unfortunately the noisy clubs are almost impossible to get away from no matter where you are on the island as the wind carries the sound.
The bathroom is fine, and the shower works well. Although made of bamboo, we had no problem with mosquitoes or any insects, and didn't even bother with the mosquito net and didn't get bitten once.
There was a safe in our room which isn't intuitive to use and no instructions are provided. If you get one you need to enter the 4-digit number and then press the A button to lock and the same to unlock. If you do the inevitable and lock it without setting a pin code, the reception can assist to get it open.
There is bar/restaurant at the bottom of the hill near the little beach where you can sit and relax, enjoy the lovely sea breeze, and have a drink. The food menu is limited but all the dishes we ate were tasty and fresh. Portions are small, but that seems to be common in Thailand.
The setting is beautiful. Lots of trees, and all of them have orchids attached, many of which are flowering, so although its steep, you just take it slowly and enjoy.
Wifi only works near reception and down at the bar/restuarant, and perhaps in some of the rooms nearby, but its fast and reliable when you're connected.
The hotel itself is very clean, and the gardens are nice. However Phi Phi island as a whole, is not. There are many places with lots of litter, and the stench of drains is common when walking to and from the hotel (but not when you're here) and there is one stream which is heavily polluted and going straight into the sea. But this is not unique to Phi Phi. The island is a bit too touristy and they don't take care of it very well, and there is still a fair amount of construction going on and when walking to the hotel you might think you have wandered into a slum area with all the junk and mess lying around. But if we came back to Phi Phi, we would stay here again, as we didn't see anywhere else that looked as nice from our walks around.

Room Tip: Bamboo bungalow with fan has a safe and tv and is made of bamboo so perhaps slightly cooler than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mach3blackbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

As we were only travelling in Thailand for 3 weeks we thought when we got to phi phi we would ditch the hostels and treat ourselves to a nice sea view bungalow. I wish we hadn't bothered. Upon arrival we were met at the bottom of the hill, when I say hill I mean Mount Everest. We had a 4x4 take us up this hill with our luggage and then were greeted with rude staff obviously sick of tourists. We were shown to our room where i felt we were staying in a done up shed. There was a double bed and a fan in the room. That was it! However I have to say the shower was nice and the bathroom was clean. Also they say they have wifi but you really don't get it in your room you have to sit by reception to get any. Didn't really notice the noise from the beach as we were there until the music stopped but some of our friends who went home early had trouble sleeping. Im an active 22 year old but suffering with a bad leg that hill was horrendous.. Just no need for it and after you have been out all day in a 35 degree heat that's the last thing you want to see. We had booked two nights there and we're staying for a further two nights in phi phi so left to find somewhere in town. For the money they are asking you it really isn't worth it. We found a lovely guesthouse just in the town on the Main Street and were paying less with our own bathroom, air con, working wi fi, tv and a mirror! Better to rock up around 11am and just have a wander until you find something.. Don't book here, we felt completely ripped off!

Room Tip: Sorry cant remember the name of e guest house we went to after we left.. But it is right near the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophiem138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

We arrived on Phi Phi for one night to do a party boat trip, and chose this place based on the photos and the price.

First mistake was when we arrived at the Pier and nobody had heard of it..and it was only located on a map in the furthest corner of the island..

It was about a 30 minute walk from the Pier, but half of it was an extremely steep, uphill climb, and was difficult to find due to no signposting. Our Bungalow looked cute from the outside, but was stinking hot and uncomfortable all night, the mosquito netting had holes, the shower barely worked, and toilet left little to the imagination.

We paid $56 a night for a Bungalow with the fan, and for that price I was expecting at least a satisfactory level of comfort..which we did not get.

The staff were lovely on check in, and it had a nice view, but that was the only good thing about this place.

Save yourselves an awful night sleep, and book once you arrive on the island and can see how far places actually are from the centre of town.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Lanta, Thailand
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

this was by far the worst place I have stayed in my 5 week trip to south east asia. first off: the price. its about 20$ cnd a night per person. we stayed at wonderful places all over thailand, cambodia and vietnam for aprox. 10$, so we figured this place would be tops. we get there and the first thing they ask was the entire stays cost. how rude.
after was our mini hike up to our shack, sorry, i mean bungalow. we arrive and notice the bug nets. we were thinking "okay, at least they give us bug nets", but it doesnt matter, as there are cockroaches and salamanders is the bathroom, not to mention the all the ants.
we took off for the beach as soon as we dropped our bags, and when we came back to our room at night, i noticed a stain on the toilet seat. and not really a stain, but more of it being unclean. just needed some elbow grease. we took a shower, but surprise, the shower doesnt really drain. we ended up standing in our own filth.
sleeping was another nightmare. deciding to use the big nets was probably a good idea, if they didnt have holes in them. on hole big enough for me to reach my arm out and grab my water bottle.the placement of the fan was a bit screwy too. it was mounted almost above the door, over one bed, but not anywhere close to the second. but it didnt matter becase the bug nets stopped the flow of the fan. i ended up sweating all night naked above my sleep sheet.
if that wasnt bad enough, the music from the beach about 1km away carried across the water, and seemed even louder. at times the djs would turn the music up even louder, so sleep was out of the question.
the next day we spoke to front desk about the state of our room, and they almost flat out told us that it was us who made the toilet seat a mess. after a couple of minutes of the back and forth we asked if we could leave a day early and get a day refund. she laughed and said no, that was not possible. but i will give the credit for at least trying to tidy it up. they cleaned the seat.
the next night, i found a dead cockroach in the shower being eaten by ants, and another one next to the sink, where i would have left my toothbrush if i could have trusted it to be safe from bugs.
also, we booked a double bed, and were shown to a twin. when we told them that we reserved a double, they said that they couldnt guarantee a double or twin. so whats the point of a reservation if they cant hold it? we had reseved it almost 3 weeks in advance.
and lastly, its called the seaview, but unless you paid even more, you had a bungalow view, with the sea beyond it.
none of this would have been such a big deal if it wasnt 20$ cnd a night per person.
dont even bother with them you can find way better for way less.

Room Tip: not there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.8 mi away
Chong Khao Bungalow
Chong Khao Bungalow
#27 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phitharom Phi Phi Resort
Phitharom Phi Phi Resort
#25 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gypsy Sea View resort
Gypsy Sea View resort
#18 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Phi Phi ViewPoint Resort
Phi Phi ViewPoint Resort
#21 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tohko Beach Resort
Tohko Beach Resort
#11 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#13 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuphaya Seaview Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuphaya Seaview Resort

Property: Phuphaya Seaview Resort
Address: 9/1 Moo 7 | Ao Nang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Phuphaya Seaview Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phuphaya Seaview Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing