We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“power beach with no power”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Phi Phi Power Beach Resort
Ranked #60 of 62 Ko Phi Phi Don B&B and Inns
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“power beach with no power”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We arrived at the power beach resort at night to find the whole place in complete darkness. The staff just sat us down and then carried on doing whatever they were doing.
After a while we asked when we could go to our room and they didn't seem to have a clue what was going on and it was almost like they weren't even expecting us.
The room itself was okay, huge bed, sea view etc. But after digging out a torch to use the toilet all I found was cockroaches and an ice cold shower.
Within an hour of being here I was in tears.
The management couldn't care less about anyone's complaints and the whole attitude of the place was terrible.
The location is either a 1000tbh (£20) boat ride away or an hours trek through the jungle. The only positive of this is you are far away from all the noise and have a nice quite beach to yourself.
We made the most of our experience staying here but was glad to get away after 3 long nights.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alice_harding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    2
    1
    3
    37
See reviews for
1
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Basically, we landed on Koh Phi Phi without having booked anything in advance expecting there to be at least a small choice of rooms - there wasn't, so we ended up with Power Resort and no wonder it was the only hotel on the island still available! We begrudged paying as much as we did being backpackers but it looked nice from the brochure and the situation sounded beautiful so we didn't dwell on it.
It is definitely NOT worth the money. The brochure lies and the beach is definitely nothing special. They obviously chose the name power resort to be ironic as they had at least three power cuts while we were there. People were trying to check in and they just abandoned them in the dark! Luckily we already checked in so we headed to the restaurant at the neighbouring resort (FAR better, stayed there the following night for less money, nicer beach, nicer staff!).
When we finally decided we'd have to return to our actually resort at some point, it was to more disappointment. The whole bungalow shook with every step, it smelt musty and left the smell on my clothes, the bathroom was like a concrete prison cell and the gaps in the floor were so big any number of bugs could crawl in. In fact I found the biggest spider I've ever seen hiding in my towel. It's like they've rushed to finish the place and done a rubbish job in the process.
The reception area doesn't have any information regarding tours or the local area but we did book a great half day tour again with the resort next door (Relax Beach Resort). Basically, go next door.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Beirut, Lebanon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I will try to sum up as much as i can, this was the worst experience i've ever had in my life! total rip off for even 1$ (we paid 90$).
The hotel is far away from everything and can only be reached by boat, so you cannot go out at night to escape the miserable experience.
There was no electricity!!!!! rooms were full of bugs!!!!!!! Girls with us started crying after this experience!

DO NOT EVER GO THERE!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't EVER go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orange county
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Ok so we made the mistake of thinking we were booking the Phi Phi Beach Resort, which Expedia told us was the same as the Phi Phi Power Beach Resort. Expedia advertised this hotel (if you can call it that) as having a restaurant, wireless internet, stretch of beach, and fitness facilities. Upon arriving at this sad, tiny inn, the receptionist told us there is NO restaurant, NO wireless internet, NO electricity in fact from 6am to 6p, only a .15 mile sand area infront of the hotel which is both dirty and bug infested, and clearly no fitness facility or any other for that matter.

The hotel rep said we had to go next door to the Relax Beach Resort for a restaurant, coffee shop, convenience store, and to book any activities. HOW DOES ANY HOTEL NOT HAVE A PLACE TO BOOK ACTIVITIES?!

After an hour of sitting in our room miserable, having no electricity to freshen up, we decided to go to another hotel. We booked the Cabana Hotel on the main pier town. It is much nicer appointed, has a pool, restaurant, breakfast in mornings, and gym. It is of course, a little louder as it is in the main town and there are partyers, but we did not find the noise interfered with our sleep (it dies down at midnight). Also, this hotel had an actual stretch of beach and plenty of places nearby to eat and see. We are hoping Expedia will refund the power beach hotel as it was completely misrepresented by them as having a gym, restaurant, internet etc

Unless you are a fugitive on the run looking for an obscure place to hide or a writer looking to sequester yourself until you produce a novel, just don't book this. You will be SO disappointed, and for an island this pretty its just not worth it to have bad accomodations ruin your experience.

That being said, the Phi Phi Beach Resort looked nice from our longtail boat. Its off the main town area so it has seclusion, but it is a very short ride to town if you want more action.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minal p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This place advertised it's self as beautiful remote get away with great food, service and a stunning beach with easy connection to phi phi centre but that was all lies!!.
If it wasn't for the resort next door we would have been stuck with no regular food or water and no means of escape.
Our room cost over £100 a night and was supposed to be a six night magical experience.... We lasted four ( but still were forced to pay for six).
Our room relatively nice until the shower water was brown a sewage leak underneath left it stinking and a broken air con that dripped a bazaar fishy water, oh and toilet that didn't flush stairs that were an obstacle course and a bed possibly made of stone.
On complaining we were met with aggression and a "tough luck" response, never have I seen such a blatant rip off merchant.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbydkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vientiane, Laos
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Having arrived in Ko Phi Phi we booked this accommodation at TonSai Pier. We were looking for a cosy bungalow with beach front view, aircon and internet. It seemed to be a good and quiet choice, as the sales person mentioned this resort had opened only 6 month ago, would offer power supply 24hrs and has a private beach. Also the glossy brochure promised a nice stay. After prepaying the full amount for 3 nights, we headed off, a 15 minutes drive with a long boat included in the rate. Our luggage was carried to an inviting beach front bungalow and we were welcomed with a refreshing drink in the restaurant. What a beautiful view overlooking the ocean! This was the positive impression so far.

Unfortunately, our bungalow was clammy and smelled mouldy. The furniture looked like a quick and dirty solution to furnish a room: worn out matresses on a wabbly wooden palette and a tiny "closet" without doors and shelves. A shabby plaid covered the bed. The floor was dirty from the beginning. We were grateful to have 2 chairs and a small table on our nice balcony, as that was the interior. During our stay, the room was not cleaned at all. Although there seemed to be a group of staff hanging around, playing pool or just passing time. To exchange at least the towels, I went to the reception.

Power was obviously off every day from 12-3pm, which was mentioned on a sign at the reception. Finally, it was off some more hours at night and also temporarily during the days. So no aircon and no way to open the windows at night because of a missing mosquito net.

The beach was private but dirty and with lots of rocks. During high tide the beach disappeared completely. Swimming was only possible during high tide or with shoes. Also expect the fisherman from the neighbourhood to start their roaring longboat engines when they leave around 7am.

We went to the restaurant once and had a good Thai curry for a reasonable price. We refrained from booking a day trip with this resort, as it was offered at 2400 THB per person and the average price is 1000 THB. During 2 nights of our stay, we were the only guests.

As a good lucky (but only) alternative, we used the restaurant, tour offers and stunning beach at Relax Beach Resort, which is only 30m walking distance. Therefore we had some great experiences at Ko Phi Phi, but would never return to Power Beach Resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vewa79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed here on or around the 6-8th May 2013, what can I say, seemed to start well, very warm welcome etc. Then it all went to pot !! Very slow service at meal times, meals very random and small portions, bathroom in the room pretty awful and rip off trips!! Do not get fooled into thinking that the long tail boat snorkelling day trips are a deal because they are not.....when a bunch of us who had shared the trip (French and British) made a complaint, the main receptionist's lovely manner changed rapidly, no discount, no compromise !! Take our advice, go straight to the resort next door !!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonesy8141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Phi Phi Don
0.9 mi away
PP Red Tuna Hut
PP Red Tuna Hut
#33 of 125 in Ao Nang
53 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rantee Cliff Beach Resort
Rantee Cliff Beach Resort
#27 of 62 in Ko Phi Phi Don
131 reviews
0.9 mi away
Phi Phi Ba Gao Bay Resort
Phi Phi Ba Gao Bay Resort
#20 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Phi Phi Phu Chalet Beach Resort
Phi Phi Phu Chalet Beach Resort
#12 of 62 in Ko Phi Phi Don
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
#3 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Power Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Power Beach Resort

Property: Phi Phi Power Beach Resort
Address: Phak-nam Beach, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Phi Phi Power Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Phi Phi Power Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing