We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we would have stayed longer!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Certificate of Excellence
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wish we would have stayed longer!!”
Reviewed 24 December 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights with my wife, her parents & our 7 year old son. Only regret is that we didn’t stay here longer as we broke up our stay between multiple hotels in multiple locations (Laguna Phuket, Patong, here, & a hotel near the airport). This all inclusive hotel has it all, seclusion, beauty, ambiance, beauty, wonderfully friendly staff, beauty, multiple excursion options, & did I mention BEAUTY!!

It should be noted that it takes a 2 hour ferry ride to/from the resort, then a short 100 yard long tail boat ride to the shore. I noticed that many people commented “dislike” of the long tail boat ride to shore but my family absolutely loved it, stating that the long tail ride was “part of the trip’s charm”. If anything could be changed it would be a faster commute on the ferry. Upon arriving at the shore, the hotel even has a little de-boarding platform/ladder that keeps everyone from getting their feet/shoes wet.

Upon getting ashore we were escorted to a shaded seating area where the staff tended to us with cool eucalyptuses infused towels & an ice cold drink, while at the same time our luggage was separated from everyone else’s and taken to our room by porters. My son was intrigued by a neat looking shell at his feet that contained a hermit crab, while everyone took in an absolutely breath taking view. The check in process was smooth, streamlined, and quite efficient. We were impressed that no one seemed worried about obtaining credit card information for incidentals while on the island. The path to our room was a beautiful stroll along brick pavers and lush tropical landscaping with orchids flowering upon every palm tree which were planted inside of coconut shells affixed to the trunks of palm trees.

Our room was a small bungalow with its own porch deck & a drying rack in front for wet swim wear. Prior to going up the steps to the deck, there is a small bucket of water with flower petals floating on the surface & a coconut affixed to a handle to dip water out of the bucket to wash sand off your feet prior to entering your room. These water bins are also located as you exit the beach.

Inside the room was a king size bed & a separate single mattress for our son. We were received with a balloon animal on the bed. The floors were surprisingly spotless without a single grain of sand though we were practically right on the beach. The room is well laid out with a TV, Desk, belongings safe, & refrigerator. The beds were more comfortable than any of the other rooms we stayed in while in Thailand & the pillows were nice & soft. Housekeeping left us a porcelain tropical island frog keychain as a farewell memento on their last visit to our room which was a very nice touch that even the Four Seasons did not add to their five star services.

The front desk personnel were always helpful and full of smiles with each inquiry or need.

The infinity pool that dropped off into the beach and ocean on the far end from the front desk was breath-taking but there were no restroom facilities for changing or use.

The sunset bar is a must do experience! Although “quite a hike to the top” per my wife (really not bad), it was well-worth the exercise. Drinks could be colder and the mixed drinks were mediocre.

The beach was fabulous with sunsets, sunrises, lounge chairs, swings, hammocks, and sitting tables. It is groomed every morning. The water is shallow and calm enough for my seven year old who liked to venture out to its roped limits and my mother-in-law who doesn’t know how to swim.

The dive shop accommodated my desire to dive, my family’s interest in snorkeling, and did not charge for my mother-in-law to come along. My diving instructor brought along a helper to snorkel with my son and even provided one of the diver instructor’s own personal masks that was a better fit than the ones provided by the shop. I was able to dive in multiple locations.

The food was decent with some variety & “made to order” eggs for breakfast. For dinner they had the buffet as well as a display of fresh catch items for a little more $$. Our only issue was that there was not a lot of choices for a 7 year old who is used to a more Western influenced diet.

As we departed, the staff gathered to perform a ceremonial drum & percussion performance and remained on the beach to wave farewell until the last guest had departed to the ferry.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sboxrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,128
    878
    300
    115
    89
See reviews for
464
1,411
47
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Phi phi as a whole seems to be overpriced for the quality of accommodation you get. The resort is very nice with beautiful gardens and a long stretch of white sand beach. Our bungalow was nice but a bit dated and in need of a revamp. More 3 star than 4. There are newer rooms so would suggest getting one of those.
Overall the staff were friendly and efficient but not with food and drinks. Food and drinks were overpriced and service was very slow. We ordered food which took ages to come out and then was cold so suggest restaurant next door along the beach which was very good and better value.
Good spot to relax but most people we met there agreed you would not want to be there more than a couple of nights as very cut off from anything else.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richbrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nithas S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this review, 3 April 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to upload your review and comments like the one you have provided give our team continue motivated in delivering high standards of service.

We hope you will be back to our resort soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annemasse, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

My wife & I stayed 2 nights in this hotel

LOCATION
Great beach: clear water, big beautiful trees. The best I've ever seen!
You have to take a longtail boat to go there (negociate the price!)
There are 3 other hotel around and one restaurant. 

ROOMS
Big: 30m2
With all the equipment needed. Bathroom was functional but not charming (maybe the new rooms have better bathroom)
Soundproof

ACCOMODATION
Everything you wanted: 2 great swimming pools, good (but expensive) restaurant, huge breakfast buffet, tours, snooker, etc...

SERVICES
Just great (as required for such a hotel)
My only complain: we have requested a pick-up at Phi-Phi port, but the reception suguest us to take a long-tail boat by our own: bad idea! The loading port was 500m from the hotel, no one was waiting for us, and there was not indication about the location of the hotel. We had to carry our bags in the sand. We arrived sweaty and tired at the reception. I complained to the manager and we got a compasation. I still don't understand why we didn't get a pick-up because other customers did get one. 

CONCLUSION
I recommand this hotel. But insist to have a pick-up managed by the hotel

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damslapougne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

sure, the view is breathtaking and the waters clear. But the hotel and their quality of service has little to do with that. A few things dissappointed me at this resort (and Ive been to more than a few in Asia). After a long ride to the resort, we were packed into a longtail. Now, i am adventurous and a longtail might be good for a cruise. But the least the hotel could do is think of something better to ferry the passengers to the shore after a grueling travel commute.
Plus, the level of service was just not there. Staff had to be reminded to clean my room. Front desk was friendly depending whom you spoke with. The buffet spread was repeated every single day, was not very good in quality and it was not cheap. lastly, we had a coral seaview room with an attached outdoor shower. The lock to that door to go into the room was flimsy and could be easily broken into.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nithas S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this review, 14 February 2016
Dear Don,

We thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are very grateful for the feedback provided.

I have shared your comments with our team member who are currently working on the service issues you have highlighted.

We thank you once again for sharing your experience with us and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again next time soonest.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okinawa, Japan
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2011

An anniversary trip to remember! We upgraded our room at arrival for a more secluded area on beachfront which paid off. The room had an outdoor shower and a deck leading right to the beach. Most of the day and all evening, it was as if the beach was only ours. On our anniversary morning, we took a 3 hr snorkling trip around the island. The water temperature was just perfect and the air was just right. It was so awesome. The water was so clear and the surroundings were absolutely gorgeous! Our tail boat driver was name "Lek." He was super nice and gave us ample time at each of the snorkling location. There's no place else at Phi Phi to stay but here. Holiday Inn Phi Phi knows how to do it right.

Room Tip: Rooms right on the beach is worth the upgrade. If you're traveling with a large group, check wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

A resort as it should be, well landscaped, nicely appointed bungalows (garden view is cheaper but great too - in the middle if leafy banana and palm trees) good restaurant. On a very nice stretch of beach. Yes it has all the standards (eg great beds) you expect in from an international chain but coupled with Thai hospitality it feels like the perfect mix. Suited for couples and families, and everyone who needs a break from a busy life.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jitse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phi phi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We are currently staying at the Holiday Inn, which is an amazing resort. Scenically it is very beautiful, and the staff are very helpful. It is much quieter than Tonsai Bay which we like.
Today we walked from the Holiday Inn to Tonsai Bay. We had previously been advised against it by hotel staff but decided to try anyway.
It turned out to be a lovely 90 minute walk with some moderate uphill and downhill and several stops to drink and admire the view along the way. The first third of the walk from Holiday Inn, continuing on past the turn off to Phi Phi Village is paved. We followed red and white signs along the whole route which was very clearly marked. We did ask locals to confirm for us that we were on the best route.
We enjoyed a day at Tonsai Bay and took the ferry back (not the long boats, the ferry is much cheaper). Well worth the effort.
You could also take a couple of detours to two lookouts however it was hot and sticky so we decided not to do that.

Room Tip: Rooms around the infinity pool are the newest
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
3.4 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
2.5 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#14 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
2.6 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Zeavola Resort
Zeavola Resort
#1 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
3.6 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#6 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
Address: Lam Tong Beach, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sawasdee-krab! Welcome to Paradise. Where else in the world can you walk from your bungalow straight on to a magnificent white sandy beach with coral reefs teeming with marine life? The resort is fully accessible from Phuket or Krabi. Guests from all over the world escape to Phi Phi to experience the tropical haven of Laem Tong Beach national park where Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island is situated. Tonsai Bay, the island's main township, can be reached within 35 minutes by long tail boat offering more than 100 shops, restaurants, bars and the fascinating sea view point. Water sports activities, including snorkeling, diving, canoeing, fishing and long-tail boat charters are available. For your convenience, contact the reservations team to assist you with your transfer bookings by speed boat or ferry from either Phuket or Krabi. To ensure a warm & efficient welcome, please provide us with your arrival and departure details ie. flight number and hotel or transfer details before and after your stay. Thank you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Holiday Inn Phi Island
Phi Island Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ko Phi Phi Don
Ko Phi Phi Don Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing