We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our family was very surprised with how nice this was for the price. Beach location pretty much unbeatable. Good rooms, not too fancy and comfortable. Overall resort was low key and good for R&R. Prices for meals a little more expensive than street food but not too much and it was affordable to eat in the resort all meals (including free breakfast - at our other hotel in Phuket it would have been $60 for a family of four). Opportunites for making it even better-
a) Better communication on specifically how to get there. I see many compliants on this board about having to take the seperate 30-40 minute long tail boat ride from Tonsai Bay - we did too for 2,000 baht for 4 people. Should be a seperate email sent to guests that you can take a ferry straight there for the free Holiday Inn 5 minute longboat ride. We figured this out too late. On return it worked great.
b) Sunset bar. Awesome view - but not well marketed. Only found it by chance exploring the resort. Should be listed as a must do at the resort.
c) Walk to the next bay - it is possible to walk to the next bay for a quick change of scenary - again not well marketed and a golf cart going back and forth would be nice.

But overall great place and great staff.

Room Tip: Worth the extra for beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JLC1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nithas S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear JLC1232014,

Thank you very much for your kind review.
All here at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi would like to welcome you back next year and show you our ongoing work with improving our beautiful resort.

Regarding your comments I would like to inform you that we have taken them to heart.
Our team is working on the arrival experience when taking the ferries, we are opening a new lounge at the ferry terminal i Phuket shortly to assist guests with the journey. The Sunset Bar have new signs on the way to make it easy to find it and a weekly highlight letter in the guest rooms will give you clear information on what is happening in the resort during the week, to be implemented shortly as well. The walk down to the neighboring village is going to be part of our new jogging track that will be marked with color codes for different distances and destinations. So thank you very much for all your great feedback and we hope that you will return to experience our resort once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

621 - 627 of 2,579 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

From the moment we got here to the moment we left we had a brilliant stay here. The hotel is stunning, very well maintained and clean. The beach is stunning. If you are looking for some R&R this is the place to stay. The staff are very friendly and engaging. They make you feel very welcome from the minute you arrive. The waiters and waitresses are great. Can't do enough for you. Food was excellent in the restaurant.

Rooms are spacious, clean and well maintained. Air con was really good too. The adult only pool is great. Stunning views from the infinity pool. Loads of activities to do here to keep you entertained during the day (be aware this resort is 30 mins from the main town so there is no nightlife here if that's what you are looking for).

Only negative thing about the hotel is they make you take a long tail boat per couple and charge 1000 baht each. When we arrived in the pier at phi phi there were 3 other couples all waiting to go the resort but we were all made get separate boats which seems like a bit of a scam.

I would highly recommend this hotel and if I come back to phi phi will stay here.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank dubsfordsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nithas S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear dubsfordsam,

We would like to thank you for taking your time with this review.
All of us here at Holiday Inn Phi Phi would love to see you back again and hope that we will have the pleasure next year.
Regarding the long-tail boat transfer I would only like to point out that once a booking for a long-tail boat transfer is made it is considered as a private transfer. However your have a good point and I will take it in for our future plans.

Hope to see you back soon on our paradise island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Arrived here on honeymoon & received a very warm welcome with a complimentary drink and chat with a manager. Staff here are genuinely friendly and could not do enough for us especially the waiters (Bank, Tao, Phi, Joe). Our room was a Coral Delux villa and lovely: cleaned every day with fresh sheets, towels & water. Free unlimited speedy wifi. The location is the clincher: the beach is beautiful. Snorkels and fins are provided free and there's also an adult pool that we used a lot. The food is very good too; we ate in the hotel every day but I know that we were paying a lot compared to normal Thai prices. We had a private meal on the beach that was a special treat. The first aid office came in very handy when my husband was ill and provided antibiotics. The sunset bar is fab too. The negatives are few: they charge you 1000baht per couple for transfers on long tail boats instead of allowing several people to share & the hotel attracts a lot of Chinese tourists (fine) but they take a LOT of photos which can sometimes encroach on your relaxation. There is literally no nightlife and everything shuts down around 10.30 but it's perfect for serious r'n'r. I'd recommend renting a local long tail and doing a trip to Maya Bay (the beach from The Beach), the blue lagoon (amazing!), Monkey Island and snorkelling at Shark Point if you're gutsy enough! As a couple, we loved this place and will definitely return in the future.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nithas S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Jenny B,

We would like to thank you for review and compliments to our beautiful resort.
Your praise of our colleges have been forwarded to them and we would all like to welcome you back in the future.
Regarding the long-tail boat transfer I would only like to point out that very few of our guests go for this option at check out.

Looking forward to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

You have to see this beautiful beach.
We spend 3 days here. The experience we had was various.

ACCOMMODATION: the hotel grounds are well maintained. The actual rooms (we had bungalow on the second raw from the beach) was quite dated and dark. The floors were heavily scratched and furniture is old. The good thing is that it was clean. I would expect a newer rooms for a 4 star hotel. You cant really leave curtains open as everyone can see in. We were relocated to coral sea room which was a little better (newer)

CHECK IN: when we arrived and been given keys, We have been told to approach activity centre staff so they can show us our room. When we did, they just pointed in the detection where we should go. No one told us about any activities that hotel provides either (and there is a lot) i only found out on my last day when i was walking to check out. All other hotels i have been too, we have been shown our room and explained what hotel is offering.
It also took over 1.5 hours to deliver our bags from reception :(.

ACTIVITIES: later that day we approached reception in regards to a day trip to nearby islands (the reason why we went to this part of the island in the first place). I have asked the gentleman at reception about the weather for tomorrow. He said that it is unpredictable and best to check in the morning. I have asked him if i shall book for a trip now or best to wait for tomorrow. He said no need to book as there is plenty of boats and if the weather is good, we can just go. He also mentioned that he will let the activity centre know anyway. Next morning, the weather looked good, so we approached the activity centre. To our surprise, they said that all the boats are gone and that we needed to make booking..., so we had to go and look for a private boat :(. My advise just book it anyway.

CHECK OUT: when we arrived we agreed that we can check out at 12:15pm. On the day of our check out, at 11:50 the staff came in and collected our luggage (that was fine). Literally 2 min later phone rings and advises me that my check out was at 11:30. I didn't bother asking them why they send a guy to pick up luggage now and not earlier and that our check out is at 12:15pm. I just said that we leave the room at 12, in return she said that we have 8 minutes left.... I felt that we were simply kicked out!!!!!

SERVICE: i cant fault them in Beeing nice and polite but the staff don't know what they are doing or simply there is poor communication between them. I hope they read my comments and improve on that.

We also walked around all other hotels on the island and Holiday inn has the best grounds.

To Conclude, it is beautiful there and everyone is nice but the service needs improving and rooms needs updating (haven't seen the garden or front beach bungalows).

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Vitaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nithas S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Vitaust,

Thank you very much for taking the time to sharing your experience about your stay.
I am sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed the service that you had to wait for 1.5 hours for your suitcase to be deliver which is not part of our standards.

We are surprise to hear that you had a difficult time to arranged the trip and there was none available we will bring this issue to our attention to improve our services.

We are sorry to hear that you have an issue during check out which is not our standard.

Thank you once again for sharing you valuable comment to us which we will have it discuss and improve our service.

We wish to have you back to our resort once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was a lovely stay. On arrival by long tail boat the staff are ready to help, beach front restaurants, 2 swimming pools (1 adult only). On a lovely paradise beach with white sands and blue water. The tide comes quite far in at times but still beach area. not too busy, quieter end of phi phi but it is a 25min long tail trip from the main part so not that easy to get back and forth especially late at night if you want to go out in town. Beach is shared with a few other hotels so you can go to different restaurants or bars but not much else. Breakfast was not great for a large chain hotel, could definitely be improved.

Room Tip: We chose the seafront suites and they were raised up slightly with large balcony and great sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nithas S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Tara K.

Thank you for your short and sweet review about our hotel!

We are sorry to head that you didn't enjoy our breakfast we will definitely pass on the comment to our Executive Chef to improve our service.

We hope to have you back with us someday in the future soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

we had a great experience here - the staff spoke very good english, service was great, the beach front was BEAUTIFUL and the food was diverse and delicious. lots of different options for accommodation type with normal rooms and bungalows. we had a bungalow which was very cute with its own little verandah. the pools are very clean and the whole place is relaxing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephane d, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Sarah H,

Thank you for your short and sweet review about our hotel!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back back to our resort soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

From the moment we checked in everything was great, the room was incredible, clean, fresh and with an amazing view of the beautiful beach. They have an adults only pool where you can spend you mornings or evenings just enjoying yourself in complete silence! Everyone is so nice and always attentive, making sure your stay is unforgettable! definitely worth the money!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vica937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nithas S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Vica937

Thank you for your short and sweet review about our hotel!

We hope you will be back to our resort soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
2.6 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#16 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,306 reviews
3.5 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#5 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
838 reviews
1.5 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,422 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zeavola Resort
Zeavola Resort
#1 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,787 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#9 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island

Address: Lam Tong Beach, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: £101 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sawasdee-krab! Welcome to Paradise. Where else in the world can you walk from your bungalow straight on to a magnificent white sandy beach with coral reefs teeming with marine life? The resort is fully accessible from Phuket or Krabi. Guests from all over the world escape to Phi Phi to experience the tropical haven of Laem Tong Beach national park where Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island is situated. Tonsai Bay, the island's main township, can be reached within 35 minutes by long tail boat offering more than 100 shops, restaurants, bars and the fascinating sea view point. Water sports activities, including snorkeling, diving, canoeing, fishing and long-tail boat charters are available. For your convenience, contact the reservations team to assist you with your transfer bookings by speed boat or ferry from either Phuket or Krabi. To ensure a warm & efficient welcome, please provide us with your arrival and departure details ie. flight number and hotel or transfer details before and after your stay. Thank you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Holiday Inn Phi Island
Phi Island Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ko Phi Phi Don
Ko Phi Phi Don Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing