We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Certificate of Excellence
Dhaka
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“fantastic!!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

my family and I stayed at the hotel in April, the only way to sum it up was magical. The location, the staff everything was awesome. My 6 year old son had an awesome time. Day trips to the various snorkelling sites was incredible and easy to arrange. The daily beach games are a lot of fun. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The rooms are more basic than normal but thats ok you should be out in the great scenery

Room Tip: any bungalow on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lowell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nithas S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Lowel C


Thank you for your kind review and all of us here at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island hope that we will have the privilege of welcoming you and your family to our beautiful resort next year.
The marvels and wonders are awaiting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,138
    882
    302
    116
    90
See reviews for
468
1,422
47
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed in a garden bungalow mid July 2014. We decided to finish our trip on phi phi island as we'd heard fantastic things about it.

Once being transported from the ferry to our hotel we were told to go to the lobby but not instructed where this was, we got a little lost and found some other people being directed to where the restaurant was.... Once taken a seat it was another 15 minutes until a gentleman asked for our itinerary and passports, away he took them without saying what he required them for or where he was taking them, we got quite worried and distraught over this as my mother has had her details used in fraud in the past. A few moments later another lady came and asked for our passports and itinerary again and with great confusion back and forth we explained another staff member had taken it, this went on for some time until another staff member spoke over us quite rudely and said they'll be available from reception in 1 hour... We were not impressed at the rudeness, especially when we were on the topic of when we were checking out and that those details were in our itinerary, idiot.... As we sat patiently we saw other people being brought refreshments, we had not been offered and were waiting close to 30 minutes by this stage, I had to speak up and ask for a refreshment. We just felt as though we were a burden to staff, not a paying guest.

After some time we went to our room, the rooms were very nice and clean and I would highly recommend them to anybody!

We were quite tired at this stage so decided to go to the restaurant in the hotel, let me firstly say, don't waste your money, we both ordered meals with meat in them, I had a chicken green curry and I had to pick out close to half the chicken because it had chewy parts through it (gristle or fat) and was overpriced, my partner had the spaghetti bolognaise and the mince was fatty and stringy, not sure if this was then beef or some other strange dark meat animal... All in all the meals were just as much, if not more to what you would pay in Australia however of awful quality. We did not realise there were restaurants out the front along the beach, they are far better in not only quality but also price...

The next day we had booked a private 4 hour snorkelling tour to phi phi leh. We were lucky enough to have clear blue skies and great weather for this. Our tour guide was friendly and kind however didn't speak much English so wasn't able to explain much to us, not his fault of course. We went to maya bay which was good however when he told us we were heading back we were a little surprised as we had a few more stops to go, however we thought we may had run out of time... When we got back we saw that we still had 40 minutes left of our tour so we were a little annoyed here.

The bonus part of the holiday inn is they supply free hire of snorkelling gear to use on tours and out the front of the hotel. The staff at the tour desk were helpful and friendly.

For the remainder of our stay here we just swam in the water and wondered up and down the beach, it was quite peaceful and relaxing for the most part.

I've stayed in several different Holiday Inn's around the world and I must say I will be steering clear of any in the future where English is not there first language.

All in all, the rooms were lovely and romantic, the customer service was below average and it was well overpriced. Definitely isn't value for money if that's what you're looking for when you go away.

Cheers!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mitchk1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nithas S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Mitchk1988

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us.

I would also like to thank you for being a loyal guest of the Holiday Inn Family of hotels and wish that you would consider returning to our lovely hotel in the future.

Regarding your experience at check in I would only like to explain that here at Holiday Inn Phi Phi we have most of our guests arriving two times during the day as stipulated buy the ferry time table. This can unfortunately lead to some delay in the check in process, however your experience should not have happened and we do apologize for the confusion. We are currently working on revising our procedures to minimize waiting time and give friendly, correct and clear information to give you an enjoyable sense of arrival.

I have personally brought your comments to the attention of our executive chef for his review. Food quality should always be of high standard and we do apologize if you felt that is was not the case. We do understand that prices are lower at local restaurants however they do in turn not surrender to any Health and Safety aspects of food handling and other processes put in place at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi to ensure your safety.

The excursions organized to other islands are an essential part of staying at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi. We do apologize for the short coming and lack of timing on the part of the boat captain. I would only like to inform you that we are developing information guide slates that together with coral and fish identification slates will give you much better information on your day out and help your boat captain to explain the destination in details. Including photos and detailed information of the destination in multiple languages.

Enjoy your future travels and thank you once again for your constructive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Gorgeous beachfront locale. Truly. We were quite pleased with our stay at Koh Phi Phi's Holiday Inn. We booked a room the day we checked in and were upgraded upon arrival. (perks of the low season, perhaps?) Our room had an amazing, unobstructed view overlooking the infinity pool straight out to the sea. I think we pinched ourselves a few times. Service was good, breakfast fine, and activities readily available.

Do be aware that this hotel is located on the far north end of Koh Phi Phi Don, which is away from the busier town area around Tonsai Bay, and can only be accessed by boat. For families, it's probably perfect, and during high season it may be livelier by the hotel. But if you are looking for readily available nightlife and variety of restaurants, this could be inconvenient.

That said, it's worth at least one night's stay!

Room Tip: The rooms around the south end of the resort, near the infinity pool, are a good bet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErinLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephane d, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear ErinL W,

Thank you for this positive comment, I sincerely appreciate your kind feedback on our absolutely spectacular scenery.

Thank you for having stayed with us and for writing this review, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards

Stephane Duvacher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Great customer service, Great amenities and activities for customers. But the rooms could be better. We booked a villa for triple sharing however but most of the things were just for two, we had to ask for additional towel, additional blanket, etc.. room should've been prepared for three. Dinner and Breakfast Buffet could be better. ;) Overall, still had a good time. :)

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TheBaronfromManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nithas S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear TheBaronfromManila,

Thank you for taking your time to share comments of our resort.

We are surprise to hear that the amenities set up was not up to your expectation which is not our standard.

We will pass on your comments about Dinner and Breakfast Buffet to our executive chef to look into it.

Anyway we hope to see you back at our resort once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed at Holiday Day for 5 days in November for our Honeymoon. The resort is on Laem Tong Beach on the far side of the Koh Phi Phi Don island. The beach is very quiet and idle to base yourselves for a nice vacation.

The resort itself is bang on the beach and occupies a major part of it. A lot of the villas have direct beachfront access. Even the ones that do not have direct access are barely a walk of 2-3 minutes away. Our experience at the resort was amazing. They were generous to give us a huge upgrade and we ended up with a King Sea Coral View bungalow.

Resort – Amazing. Direct on the beach. The beach front acts as sort of a private beach. 2 swimming pools nicely laid out.

Bungalow – Very comfortable. The room was very spacious and very elegantly done up. The views from the balcony was amazing. The best part was the outdoor shower which was brilliantly done. We enjoyed the stay in the room as much as we enjoyed Koh Phi Phi.

Food – Breakfast was a downer. The café was at a superb location but the breakfast itself was not upto mark. Looked like they were recycling stale stuff with very little variety to go with. Even for the main meals they were kinda ok, but you will be able to easily find much more value for your money.

Sunset Bar – Simply Amazing. Walk up that flight of stair and enjoy the sunset. You will remember it for a long time.

Hospitality – Very warm and hospitable stuff made the stay pleasant throughout.
They have a nice shrine inside the campus. A fireshow worth the time happens twice a week outside the resort on the beach. The resort also lends out DVD’s that can be played through in house entertainment system just in case you are not in a mood to venture outside.

All in all, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the newer wing of the hotel. They are closer to the sea and are much nicer, though y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManishPreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nithas S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear ManishPreet,

Thank you very much for you kind review about our resort.

We would be delight to see you back here at our paradise once again, the sunset bar is waiting for you.

For the breakfast, we will pass on your comments to our executive chef to have a look at both of our breakfast restaurants.

Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel in a nice place. The hotel is simple and there is no fun around. Don't await a 5 star accommodation. It is out of civilization, so don't complain that there is nothing around and the rooms are old and simple. Nothing special, but beach and island there is special. Place is quiet except the frogs outside, but this is nature. Hotel staff is friendly and well trained. Even though the GM is French, we felt very comfortable. (Small joke: we had the World Cup quarterfinal Ger-fra and I was the only German within 20 French, Stephane don't take it personally)
Breakfast is ok. Asian style buffet. But as "Chinese" I am used to it. Also used to a lot of Chinese, but in this case well manored mostly shanghainese.
The only thing I have to complain is the horrible bread in the morning.
Restaurant on the beach is also good and much better as the other hotel restaurants around.
Only real Thai restaurant on the end of the hotel. Real thai style, slowly, slowly. Nothing if u have a problem with waiting. The guy is alone and he don't care how many people are there or not!
One more thing: if u have a problem with sea sickness don't go there.
Hopefully Thai government can keep this island clean. Tonsay bay is already same as Patong beach. If they go on like this, ocean will be dead soon. If u want to walk there 90min through the jungle, but only if you are good on foot.
Will go there again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marco E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nithas S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Marco,

Thank you for your kind words and we would be delighted to see you back again.
We have taken your comments on board and we will look in to it.
We working with the local government on programs to protect our beautiful island and keep it as a paradise for generations to come.

Looking forward to welcome you for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our family was very surprised with how nice this was for the price. Beach location pretty much unbeatable. Good rooms, not too fancy and comfortable. Overall resort was low key and good for R&R. Prices for meals a little more expensive than street food but not too much and it was affordable to eat in the resort all meals (including free breakfast - at our other hotel in Phuket it would have been $60 for a family of four). Opportunites for making it even better-
a) Better communication on specifically how to get there. I see many compliants on this board about having to take the seperate 30-40 minute long tail boat ride from Tonsai Bay - we did too for 2,000 baht for 4 people. Should be a seperate email sent to guests that you can take a ferry straight there for the free Holiday Inn 5 minute longboat ride. We figured this out too late. On return it worked great.
b) Sunset bar. Awesome view - but not well marketed. Only found it by chance exploring the resort. Should be listed as a must do at the resort.
c) Walk to the next bay - it is possible to walk to the next bay for a quick change of scenary - again not well marketed and a golf cart going back and forth would be nice.

But overall great place and great staff.

Room Tip: Worth the extra for beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JLC1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nithas S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear JLC1232014,

Thank you very much for your kind review.
All here at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi would like to welcome you back next year and show you our ongoing work with improving our beautiful resort.

Regarding your comments I would like to inform you that we have taken them to heart.
Our team is working on the arrival experience when taking the ferries, we are opening a new lounge at the ferry terminal i Phuket shortly to assist guests with the journey. The Sunset Bar have new signs on the way to make it easy to find it and a weekly highlight letter in the guest rooms will give you clear information on what is happening in the resort during the week, to be implemented shortly as well. The walk down to the neighboring village is going to be part of our new jogging track that will be marked with color codes for different distances and destinations. So thank you very much for all your great feedback and we hope that you will return to experience our resort once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
2.5 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#15 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,275 reviews
3.4 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#5 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
821 reviews
2.6 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
3.6 mi away
No photo provided
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,390 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Zeavola Resort
#1 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
Address: Lam Tong Beach, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sawasdee-krab! Welcome to Paradise. Where else in the world can you walk from your bungalow straight on to a magnificent white sandy beach with coral reefs teeming with marine life? The resort is fully accessible from Phuket or Krabi. Guests from all over the world escape to Phi Phi to experience the tropical haven of Laem Tong Beach national park where Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island is situated. Tonsai Bay, the island's main township, can be reached within 35 minutes by long tail boat offering more than 100 shops, restaurants, bars and the fascinating sea view point. Water sports activities, including snorkeling, diving, canoeing, fishing and long-tail boat charters are available. For your convenience, contact the reservations team to assist you with your transfer bookings by speed boat or ferry from either Phuket or Krabi. To ensure a warm & efficient welcome, please provide us with your arrival and departure details ie. flight number and hotel or transfer details before and after your stay. Thank you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Holiday Inn Phi Island
Phi Island Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ko Phi Phi Don
Ko Phi Phi Don Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing