We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, amazing service, Very very dirty hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of PP Princess Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
PP Princess Resort
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing location, amazing service, Very very dirty hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Having filmed a tv series here 'sun sex and suspicious parents' just last July 1013 I have to say the hotel itself was very very basic and very dirty. Although our bathroom was gorgeous, the too and balcony itself was quite dirty. We had to complain twice about bedding having dried blood stains on them, of which the second change also had and large yellow stains. Although all of this is understandable considering the devastation caused by the Tu sunami 10 years ago. The Rea itself is in the midst of restoration. This hotel the film crew put us in PP Princess was unfortunately on a building/ recycling ground. Walking through the courtyard to our room, we had open septic taks and visible sewage piping everywhere. There was also a huge, mountain of recycling rubbish and of course all the building equipment etc etc. on the other side of the hotel was the beach literally on the sea front, this side I cannot fault at all. The vies from our broken balcony were amazing, you could see all the mountains from the island sun mounding Koh Phi Phi and the sea look insatiable.

The hotel staff were very pleasant and couldn't do enough to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We didn't have air con' which was awful as Thailand in the monsoon season is extremely humid. During our stay the heavens opened and monsoon rain came, when this happened the hotel grounds were transformed into sewage. The overpowering small of sewage was unbearable and if ever you watch our episode of this show you will see our reactions. I did unfortunately catch disenty from my stay here at the Pp Princess because we were forced to wade through this dirty water in flip flops and any open wounds your feet or toes might have were at high risk.

The hotel,offer some amazing day trips to Maya Beach and the Boat rides are great. DO NOT TOUCH THE MINi BAR! It's very very expensive and there is also a list of dos and donts so if you get anything on the sheets they change you, this list is extensive.

Everything at this hotel is on your doorstep so I'd say it's perfect for backpackers! Not for couples, definitely not for families or the elderly. There is a pool it's quite nice but very small but it does overlook the island and the sea.

All in all 5/10

Chiara :)

Room Tip: MAKE SURE YOU ASK SPECIFICALLY FOR A ROOM POOL SIDE! Otherwise you will get a room at the back overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    66
    53
    43
    68
See reviews for
24
110
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Had soooo much fun staying here ! Can't actually remember staying in the room, probably due to spending all our time at the pool bar, and in the staring at the gorgeous view !
They keep your money in the fridge behind the bar while you're in the pool, which can ring alarm bells for some, but there was no problems. One night I forgot my purse was in there and one of the staff unlocked the whole bar to get it for me, and it hadn't been touched whilst we had been away from the pool. We had no problems with theft like many of these reviews have said. The pool is a bit of a walk away from the reception and Charlie rooms, but doesn't really matter. Great DJ at the pool from about lunchtime.
Gorgeous view at breakfast with loads of choice of food and really nice crepes ! Staff are helpful and free wifi in reception.
I think our room was pretty basic but that's just Thailand for you, unless you pay a lot.
Really good location right in the middle of town.
Not the place to pick if you want to chill out quietly by the pool, but there's plenty of other places to pick if that's what you want.
I love this place, can't wait to go back, one of the best days we had in Thailand was spent here.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren_sarah_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Make you sure you ask for the new building, the other two are not worth it.
The new building its ok , clean bathroom and rooms look new.
The pool is really nice . And the staff very kindly. Near to the pier, they can go and help you with your bags, just ask them !!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

A few of us stayed here and we all were split between the hotel buildings. It is split into three buildings the oldest one has damp and problems with air-conditioning, the newer building has less issues and is nicer but the room are very small. The third building is where the pool is and a few 'luxury' rooms. The bedrooms int the building where the pool is are bigger bedrooms and have a view but they are also extremely noisy. Yes the pool is really nice but they have pool partys most days and a lot of day drinking. The pool looks over the party beach it is right beside Slinkys which is the main club/beach bar on the island. So if you want a quiet stay the building with the pool is not the one to stay in. Equally the other hotel blocks are about 600 feet or so away from where the pool is located. I heard from several guests and friends about their rooms been robbed. Nothing was broken the police were called and nothing happens and the staff paly dumb. It is a small island and everyone is in on it together the police will do nothing. The location of the hotel is a ten minute walk from the pier (Ton Sai Bay) . However really the main area on the island where shops, restaurants, bars are starts at the Pier and ends where Slinkys bar (Loh Dalum)is located. So PP Princess is right in the middle so you are located in a great spot if you want to be in the middle of the action. Don't walk on the beach at night most it is dangerous. Most of the bars are located on the beach and that is fine stay with in the beach areas he bars occupy. Don't go strolling off away from the bars own area on the beach to take a short cut home. If you are looking for a quiet romantic place to stay on PP go to Laem Thong (Palm Beach). It is the other side of the island when you get off at the pier you need to get a long boat to Laem Thong Beach area. The pier side Ton Sai Bay is some what quitter perfect to stay if you want a quiet hotel but to be able to visit the action as you please. The Loh Dalum is where all the party side at night the quiet beach bars turn into clubs this is where PP Princess is located.... Also PP princess but some beach side bungalows on their property last year. I have not stayed in them but they look nice and some look out on to the ocean. However remember the beach they llok out onto is dubbed the island tourist beach so is busy... Also the photos the hotel uses of the pool are many years old they have rusted deck hairs ripped cushions don't be fooled. Overall I wanted ok accommodation and a place to beside all the action and did not care about loud music so I like PP Princess. However I do warn a lot of the guests and friends I talked to were robbed at the hotel.

Room Tip: Get the new building the one closest to the main street. Or the one by the pool but note this one is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Someone entered my room which was locked and stole all my money. The hotel manager doesn't do anything, they pretend that they dont speak english.. horrible meals, internet doesn't work inside the rooms you have to go to the swimming pool area or reception whch is far from the rooms

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Filipe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel is absolutely horrific. Our room was damp and dirty, the air conditioning unit was so noisy and leaked water everywhere, the drain in the bathroom didnt work so when you had a shower it overflowed everywhere and to top it off we were robbed from our locked room while we SLEPT. We called the police and there was no tampering with the lock which means it was most likely the staff. When we returned home from dinner there were two of the hotel security guards watching us which makes me think they target people and all work in together. The staff were so rude and unhelpful. Everywhere else we stayed in thailand was amazing! Seriously DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakkrapun K, General Manager at PP Princess Resort, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Ellen,

I am very concerned about your experience in PP Charlie Beach Resort, Koh Phi Phi. I appreciate your review which drives us to improvement. Now that we are newly renovated in Economy and Charlie rooms, I’d like to invite you to visit us once again so you can see how improved we really are!

We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Jakkrapun Kongkaew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

stayed there in 2011 for 5 nights , the service is good and helpfull , the room are a bit small (mayb becuase we stayed in the second hotel (its devided into two hotels one more luxurios than the other)) , price is avarage and sometimes cheap , room service on spot every day. the pool is amazing right on the beach with a great view and underwater stools.
good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.2 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#14 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Hotel
Phi Phi Hotel
#8 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
1.3 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#6 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PP Princess Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PP Princess Resort

Property: PP Princess Resort
Address: 103 Moo 7, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — PP Princess Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PP Princess Resort, the coziest beach resort located right at the best location on Koh Phi Phi, Krabi.One and a half hours boat ride from Phuket or Krabi and three hundred meters walk from the main pier, you’ll discover a paradise of powdery white sand, crystal clear water, safe, clean and tranquil beach, simple rooms, and marvelous food & drinks with affordable prices. Our rooms have been built with the concept to provide necessary facilities and reasonable and affordable prices of rooms, food and drink for economy tourists. Accommodation with self - controlled air-conditioning, modern toilet with hot and cold shower, toiletries and cable T.V., coffee & tea maker, safety deposit box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Sawasdee, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your PP Princess Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pp Princess Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing