We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the beach. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Phi Phi Rimlay Cottage
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Close to the beach. ”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Little hotel, nice design room, close to the beach. Yet you will meet lot offerrings from thw tourist agency surround the hotel. You will get the cheaper room price if you buy from Internet rather than from direct reservation from front office.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Ira T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    14
    17
    15
    16
See reviews for
2
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

If you find concrete soft, stay here for sore bones and muscles in the morning. I would say when you wake up, but you likely will not have slept. At 5am you will be abruptly enjoying the incredibly loud recitation of the mosque next door. But don't worry, you'll probably be awake anyway. Aside from these two 'minor' issues the room was clean and the staff were helpful.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Nicely situated in a quiet'ish area of PP, this place could be great. Its not though and that's mostly down to the attitude of the front of house staff.
We booked and paid in advanced for a twin, so what, they had no twins free(i know how PP works so this was never a shock) unless we wanted to pay more. No apologies for over booking and even jokes made about our sexuality when we'd have to share a bed.
It was a shame as the hotel itself is nice but overall it's only ever as good as it's staff.
BTW it may have been due to our nocturnal activities but we didn't hear the mosque at 6am once.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattlynch40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

About everything that could go wrong does go wrong at this place.

We should have seen the writing on the wall when we tried to get a seat but couldn't catch anyone's attention. Plenty of waiters were standing around but no one was coming to seat us. At last we got someone to seat us, and were delighted that we got the last ocean front table. What seemed lucky at first turned into a nightmare midway into dinner! But let me review this restaurant systematically:

Service: absolutely horrid. Took forever to get a waiter to take our order, took forever for each thing to come, and somethings never did. Twice my husband had to go find the waiter to make sure our drinks are still coming. The final time the waiter pointed to where the drinks are sitting at the window and told him to go get it himself. My husband's entree never came, and when we finally decided to pay and walk out, they tried to stick us with someone else's bill that was twice as much as our Own. When that issue was sorted through, we were being over charged on our own bill. We each ordered a fish entree that was 300 baht on the menu, but on the bill it was 350 each. They also charged us for one extra beer that we didn't order and didn't get. It took a bit of arguing to get them to take the things that didn't come off the bill, then adjust the prices according to the menu.

Atmosphere: What attracted us to this place at first. The restaurant was quite lovely, running alongside the ocean and has a rustic look to it with romantic, dim lighting. Little did we know that this also helped to bring about the traumatic event to come! When my husband stepped away to inquire about the drinks, a cockroach at least 1.5" long crawled across the table. I freaked out internally and told him about it when he came back, and at the same time started to notice a lot of "movements" all around me. All cockroaches, scuttling all around us!! I have a strong phobia of insects and he told me that it was a good thing I had my back towards the wall, bc I really don't want to see what was behind me! I ran out of there without looking back but the it took a lot of scrubbing in the shower to get the disgust out of me.

Food: Mediocre. Husband had a Caesar salad that was ok but nothing to write home about, an order of garlic bread tasted nice but not too special. His steamed fish never came, while my fried red snapper in sweet Thai chili sauce was a bit over cooked and on the dry side.

Overall: cockroach infested, dishonest, inattentive staff, mediocre food. Avoid at all cost!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank norahyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Stayed tere 3 nights, brand new rooms ( i was the first one using them). TV & AC okay, not to many channels, no WIFI. bad service - i had to change rooms do to lack of water in the shower. next to a masque, so there was a 6AM wake up call. no pool.
2250 BHT per night, about 70 USD. there travel office is the most expencive around, laundry is double than the guy next door. far away from down town but yet, noisy.

Not coming back

Room Tip: upper lever has a better sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Assaf31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

arrived on Phi Phi with no accommodation booked. Luggage collected from boat port. Staff not amazing. Bungalow basic, especially bathroom/wet room. Quite spacious. Bed was ok to sleep on. A/C which was much needed. No drinking facilities except 'drinking' water in fridge. 7650B for three nights. Breakfast not very good. Fresh fruit salad which was lovely, then all options are eggs on toast with some fake tasting meat. Jam was off and butter melted. Meat I couldn't eat and one day the eggs tasted off. Enjoyed fruit salad and fresh juice - which was also very nice. Good location!! Overpriced for what we got. Did smell of sewers outside bungalow.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mctc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Arrived on Phi Phi with no accommodation booked and ended up staying here as all the decent places were booked out. It was about a 10/15 min walk to the center, where all the action is. We sated in a bungalow. The room was just ok, nothing fantastic for the money we paid. We have stayed in a lot of nicer places for far less money. Our room was situated between the men's public toilets and the women's, which made sitting out on the porch unbearable with the smell of sewage.

The staff weren't very helpful unless you were booking something and giving them money, other than that they where more interested in Facebook.

The island itself was beautiful, picturesque views all around.

I don't think this hotel was worth the money we paid and the breakfast was a joke, they provide you with a menu and no matter what you order, you'll probably will end up with just eggs and toast.

Room Tip: Don't take a bungalow at the left hand side (there is only two). They are between the public Men...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.0 mi away
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
#15 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
236 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
818 reviews
0.0 mi away
PP Casita
PP Casita
#10 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#12 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,565 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panmanee Hotel
Panmanee Hotel
#3 of 61 in Ko Phi Phi Don
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
JJ Residence
JJ Residence
#5 of 61 in Ko Phi Phi Don
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Rimlay Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Rimlay Cottage

Property: Phi Phi Rimlay Cottage
Address: 1 Moo 7 (Tonsai Bay) Aonang Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 88 Speciality Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Phi Phi Rimlay Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Sawasdee and Priceline so you can book your Phi Phi Rimlay Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing