We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food - service a bit slow”
Review of PP Red Tuna

PP Red Tuna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Thai
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Food - service a bit slow”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We had a lovely meal at Red Tuna, the food was great all cooked in the open kitchen. The service was a bit slow.
We arrived and ordered some drinks which didnt come... we had to remind the waiter that we had ordered drinks.
The food came and it was all amazing apart from one dish was missing.
Apart from those few errors the food was one of the best we had in the area... would 100% return. We had the set fish menu which was great

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaraT1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    23
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Food is good but not great. Service bad and bill wrong.”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at the same bungalows so we ate here twice in the end. The food is good - not great and expensive for what it is (compared to Thailand in general).
The service was lacking. There is really just one cook and one or two other person helping out, so we waited 1 hour. Make sure they get your order right, as the one night they brought as different food.
On top of that, as already described by other reviewers, you do need to watch your bill: They added 5 beers we didn't have and increased the prices of dishes compared to the menu.

Tip: Only go there if there is no more than 1 table occupied and watch the bill. Also we preferred the restaurant Pad Thai on the other side of the village.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best food in Thai, but check your bill carefully”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The food was the best we had in Thai. Quite nice atmosphere.
Only two problems - there is only one cook so we had to wait an hour for our food, which we did not mind.
We had a problem with a bill. We ordered shrimp on grill for 250 Bath. There was a picture of a plate with three shrimps on the menu. We had four shrimps (normal size, nothing extraordinary). When we got the bill they tried to charge us 250 per shrimp. In total 1000 Bath. We argued and showed them the picture on the menu. At the end they reduced the charge to 250, which was still the largest item on the bill. But again, the food was best we had in Thai.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JAnMarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Island Feel + good food”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Red Tuna was one of the restaurants recommended to us by our diving guide (the other recommendation was called "Pad Thai"). There's great atmosphere, a very island feel, rustic tables and dim light.

The food is cooked from scratch while you wait, so you know you're getting it fresh. The menus have photos which helps, as the waiters don't really speak English.

We recommend this as an alternative to the restaurants in The Outrigger resort which are double the price (and in our experience, probably not as good!).

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroAidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chilled Out!”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We booked a 2 night stay at Red Tuna Hut and took home some of our best memories from Phi Phi. This place is more of a relaxed place compared to the party atmosphere of Tonsai. The rooms are clean and comfortable, however please pack some mosquito repellent as you will need it. There are two ways to get here; via boat (800 Baht) from Tonsai Pier, or a tricky 2.5 hour hike through the jungles, all the way past viewpoints 1, 4 & 5. We took the hike!! If you do intend to make the hike, please ensure that you follow all the signs towards Laemtong and/or Phi Phi Village. The initial path goes uphill towards Phi Phi viewpoint, and the rest are basically small, tricky, and scarcely marked paths. When you arrive at Phi Phi Village, just ask for the Outrigger Hotel, and Red Tuna Hut is just behind it. A plate of fried rice here will set you back by anywhere between 100 - 180 Baht, while a large beer at the grocery store will set you back by about 80 - 100 Baht.

Finally, please do make friends with the owner of the place, Mr. Tuna, for he is an excellent person who is both friendly and knowledgeable about the island!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nighthawk1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed PP Red Tuna also viewed

Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 
Krabi Town, Krabi Province
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 

Been to PP Red Tuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing