We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blanco Beach Bar
Nearby Hotels
Phi Phi Banyan Villa(Ko Phi Phi Don)
US$70
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Phi Phi The Beach Resort(Ko Phi Phi Don)
US$135
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$177
US$151
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Zeavola Resort(Ko Phi Phi Don)
US$343
US$221
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
P. P. Palm Tree Resort(Ko Phi Phi Don)
US$86
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$176
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
P.P. Erawan Palms Resort(Ko Phi Phi Don)
US$84
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$59
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Tohko Beach Resort(Ko Phi Phi Don)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Phi Phi Hotel(Ko Phi Phi Don)
US$49
US$45
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (353)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveller rating
176
64
46
27
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
64
46
27
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboat partybooze cruisegreat party hostelplace to stayfree shotssleep earlyearly nightboat touramazing locationloud musicmaya baystayed here for nightsmin walkpartiesislandbucketbackpackers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
281 - 286 of 353 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Grimey. But if you are looking for a typical budget backpacking party hostel then this will suit you. Noise 24/7, staff ok, aircon only between 5pm and 9-10am, beds miserably hard, sand everywhere, toilets smell and you never feel clean.

Only plus side is it's right on the beach with a chill out area and close to Slinky's to party.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank ewsb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights in July and it was a very average experience. It was our first hostel so we didn't have much to compare it to but looking back there is not many pros of this hostel.

The 6 bed dorm is away from the noise but extremely cramped and dark. There is no window and mosquitoes were a regular occurrence. We also woke up to find a cockroach on the floor. The beds are THE WORST - so hard and uncomfortable and you're only given half a table cloth to cover yourself. The doors are always left open there are no keys and my e-reader was stolen from under my pillow! The cleaning staff come in when they want and just clean around if you're sleeping/hungover and leave the doors wide open. You have no control over the aircon so some nights we were freezing and other nights it just wasn't on.

The showers were okay as were the toilets - could have been worse. There was a communication barrier with the staff and they weren't very personal or seem to care about your stay. You don't have to pay for a locker but bring your own padlock.

We stayed one night in a 10 bed dorm that had recently been done up and it was much bigger but closer to the noise, but definitely choose that one over the 6 bed!

The location is great for partying and it's always easy to find your way back and there's often drinking games etc happening at the bar. The dog called Vodka is ace :) So if you don't care where you sleep because you're gonna be wasted every night stay here - otherwise, there are better places only slightly further out.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank helenm1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

There is a hell, and it's called Blanco Dorms. The place is nothing as idyllic, light or clean as the photos would suggest.

There's no easy way to find the hostel - we chose to slog up the litter strewn beach until we found the hostel.

The manager/owner is hugely unhelpful and rude - the only time he bothered to be friendly was when he was trying to sell us an excursion.

The 6 bed dorm is tiny - there physically isn't enough room for 6 people unless most of you are sat on the bed.

The beds are horribly uncomfy, your don't get given a blanket, or sheet - you get a bit of cloth. I woke up covered in bites - either the beds have bed bugs or the Mosquitos get in - either way, it's extremely uncomfortable.

The showers and toilets start the day clean but quickly degenerate. The rooms have fans and air con, but there use is regulated by the manager. He'll actively come in and switch them off if he doesn't want you using them.

Outside the hostel is a rubbish dump and then a construction site.

Blanco's only redeeming feature is that it is so close to the party scene. This was great for us, but if you want to sleep, don't stay here.

I've stayed in hostels around the world, and I can go without the luxuries of hotels but this hostel was without a doubt the worst place I have ever stayed. Avoid.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Jmschofield19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Blanco hostel for 2 nights in June 2014. Hands down the worst experience I have ever had of accommodation.
The owner is unfriendly and unhelpful, and was unwilling to provide change when we paid for our room.
The dorms are cramped, with the walls and beds dirty and old. The mattresses are awful, and seem to have a lot of 'bed bugs' as we all woke up very itchy. The aircon only works sporadically.
The bathrooms and showers are dark and dirty - take flip flops to wear in the shower.
When it rains, the roof leaks awfully, and makes everything very wet.
The hostel doubles as a club, so don't expect sleep before 3am.
Overall, a terrible experience, and there is far better accommodation available on Phi Phi for the same price (or even a bit cheaper!).

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank RJHopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

If you are coming to Blanco's, you are coming to party. That being said, Blanco's is a great place to do that. There are many beachside bars within a 5 minute walk from the hostel. During the day, there are comfy lounge mattresses to chill on and then at night they are replaced by beer pong tables.

However, the rooms, showers, and toilets of this hostel are nothing to brag about. The rooms are the worst I have stayed in with stains on the walls and rock mattresses. You will get sand in the rooms but there are brooms outside to sweep it out.

Overall, the hostel is not the best but I would still stay here again for the atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews