We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phi Phi Paradise with a Village”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2013

First and foremost, there is a village behind the resort with amazing foods, bars, and people. If you stay here you need to check it out...its safe, literally 3 minutes from the resort, and the staff doesn't know it exists? They don't want you to go.

My wife and I just returned from 4 days at the resort and we can't say enough about the location, the service, cleanliness, and atmosphere. Its literally paradise with the palm trees, clear water, warm water, and a swim up bar. We arrived using their transfer service which picked us up from our hotel and transferred us to the pier and then onto their "large" boat. I'll get back to the large boat later. The boat ride to the resort was very comfortable, air conditioned, and they did provide water. The transfer service was 2100 BHT per person. When we arrived we were all checked in at the same time and I would estimate within 10-15 minutes we were in our room via golf cart. From there our experience began.

Each day we ate breakfast at their buffet and it was adequate...they had asian and western options, an omelette station, and plenty of fruit. Lunch at the resort was also favorable with rice and noodle dishes as well as some western options. At their infinity pool they have a swim up bar with reasonable priced drinks...a bit overly priced but not outrageous. For dinner, we skipped the resort every night and went to the village behind the resort. Its literally a 3 minute walk and if you ask the front desk for a flashlight they will provide one but you do not need. We ate at Pad Thai and the Oasis and the food was so good and the prices were so much less. What a great experience and everyone was so nice.

At the resort you can book excursions for diving, to see other islands, or just get a long boat to go wherever you want. We booked the sunset cruise which was from 1pm to 7pm. Amazing experience to go swimming, snorkeling, see Maya Beach, and view the sunset literally on a private beach. You can also book tours in the village. In addition, the resort has a very good gift shop and if your not into booking a long tail boat to go to the other side of the island this is it for shopping.

The only things to consider/remember is that the resort does not have an ATM and you are secluded. So depending on your style this may be perfect or maybe something to keep in mind.

Overall, this is place to relax, forget, and get recharged. If your lucky enough to get to this part of the world frequently I'm envious. Were not and so pleased we picked this resort based on many of your reviews. Thank You.

Room Tip: Junior Beachfront Suites are a bit more but right on the beach and amazing views.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,245)
There are newer reviews for Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,760 - 1,766 of 4,245 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

Let's start with good and say that the resort is beautiful and well kept and so was our beach front mini suite with its lavish balcony overlooking the sea.

However, service is lacking in this place. You will not find anyone to help move or get a beach chair nor will there be someone to pour you some water or offer the bar menu.

If you are looking for a beach resort, don't come here. The beach is separated by a low wall between the lawn and beach which makes impossible to move the beach chairs there nor will you find parasols. Nonetheless, the infinity pool is quite big so if you can settle on such a thing, this pool ought to be more than enough to make you happy.

Breakfast left us with mixed feelings. Some good, some bad. Whilst there is a good choice of food, there is the feeling from time to time that one is having yesterday's dinner leftovers recooked as a breakfast dish. The ants crawling in the pastry baskets are also something the management should take care off, despite the problems of the weather and environment.

A couple we met there told us that it used to be different before the ownership change. So, we hope that current owners are reading this and will do good service by their resort to restoring things back to the way they used to be.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 559ThomasD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

What a fabulous week we had at this resort!
The bungalow was comfortable and elegant, the only noise to report is the exotic birds singing! The beach is nice with white sand and the water is just as warm as a bath. We did not use the swimming pool too much as I always prefer the beach but it also was beautiful, clean and warm.
We did an excursion with the hotel and it was all perfectly organised and faultless.
We had lunch every day at the Marlin restaurant and the food was always fresh and delicious. For the evenings we preferred to go to the village in order to also enjoy some more typical Thai ambiance and particularly enjoyed the Knock-Out bar that also organise brilliant excursions.
I am not sure I agree 100% with the comments about how expensive this place is. I have not tried the other restaurants of the hotel so I cannot comment but the Marlin was not that much more expensive than the village, the difference coming in the 10% included tip + 7% VAT to add to the bill. To be fair you would also leave a tip to the restaurant in the village anyway (well you should really) so the real difference is about 7%.
The hotel, beach and restaurant are very private/exclusive and beautiful and only for the use of the clients - so well of course this comes at a price. If it was as cheap as anywhere else it would be a lot busier, which is not what you are looking for when you come to this island.
All and all it was an absolute magical week, perfect for honeymooners (I would not recommend for families though as you may feel "isolated") and people who want to rest and enjoy an exclusive experience in paradise. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Next time we'll try the front beach villas. They do look well worth it!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClairettedeLondres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Upon our arrival at the resort, we were ferried from the Phi Phi Island Hopper via tractor (low tide) to the welcome area. There we were meet by one of the staff who assisted in registration and offered a cool beverage while our luggage was recovered from the boat. We were then taken to a "Junior Beachfront Suite" which is just yards from the actual ocean, amazing views with your own patio. We spent 5 days on this beautiful location. Each morning a breakfast buffet was presented at the Dolphin restaurant and for lunches we are able to move from the swimming in the ocean to the beautiful pool and enjoyed the Beach Bar nearest the pool. In the evening we enjoyed the Coconut Grill and Bar which offer a full service of fresh fish, Australian Steaks and fine wine. This was a golden nugget away from the crowd at the end of the private beach for the resort. We spent a few evenings at the Centre Bar where live entertainment. The staff was accommodating, friendly and greeted each and every person whom them met. There are many activities offered from longboat rides, scuba diving, daily excursion to the other islands are offered for the more adventurous. I would recommend this to anyone for a relaxing, restful trip.

Room Tip: Junior Beachfront Suite is perfect for viewing the ocean, suggest rooms 114, close to pool and ocean...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregB594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

In case you're skimming reviews, it's important to know that 1) there is no ATM available AT ALL at the resort, and 2) going to the village behind the hotel will make your trip. Now for a long review...

We stayed for 5 nights in late March/early April 2013 as part of our honeymoon in Thailand. The resort grounds are beautiful but quite spread out. Depending on where your bungalow is located, you may have a bit of a walk - the paths are very winding and don't necessarily get you where you're going in the quickest way possible. But you're on vacation, right?

Overall, everything was lovely and we did have a great time - but I will list a few of the reasons that I didn't give the hotel a 5, because it's important to decide if any of these issues are dealbreakers before you stay here. Plus some tips that will help you enjoy the place! The beach and pool are among the nicest we've seen.

On check-in, they told us we had been "upgraded" because of our honeymoon to a deluxe gardenview bungalow. These are at the very outskirts of the resort, look a bit newer than anything else but otherwise identical, and are close to no amenities (except for the little village which I will mention). We tried to pay for a real upgrade to get to a better location - after checking our file (to find out what date we were leaving), they told us there was nothing available until after we left. Subsequently, they called our room 3 nights later and tried to offer us another "upgrade" in order to get us to move for our last night - because the resort was filling up the next day and they needed our room. So were there upgrades available or not? We declined as by that point we knew our way around and didn't want to have to pack up early.

They gave us one room key with an attached card that had to be in the wall in order for the electricity (and air conditioning) to run. I understand that they are trying to conserve energy, but I was not able to spend the day in 40C weather and return to a room that had been shut all day with no cool air. A 5 star hotel should definitely have air conditioning. We detached the card from the key and left it in the wall all the time, and nothing was said. Unfortunately, the bathroom had all open screen windows, so we had to keep the door closed at all times to have any chance of cooling the bedroom. As a result, the bathroom was always hot and muggy - basically hotter than outside. We understood from others that the older (and better located) bungalows didn't have this key card, and the bathrooms had windows that closed.

The included breakfast is adequate, but not as good as some other hotels we visited in Thailand. The omelette station was great - though they tend to undercook eggs in Thailand by Canadian standards. If you just ask them to leave them cooking longer, they're happy to oblige. We ate lunch poolside a couple of days, and it was adequate - though nothing special. The Thai food was definitely better in the village. Drinks at the swim up bar were priced high (150-250 baht for cocktails), but still lower than typical hotel bar prices. Beer was reasonable (considering we were at a hotel) at 105 baht for a can. We filled our mini bar with cans from Tonsai (35 baht each) and the village behind the hotel (50 baht each) and drank them poolside with no questions from hotel staff.

It is somewhat complicated to get to Tonsai Bay (the main beach, shopping and restaurant area on Phi Phi). You can walk for about 40 minutes of hills in 40C weather - but if you are planning to stay after dark, even the locals won't walk back because of snakes. The resort offers a daily ferry (for 200 baht per person each way), but it only leaves at 10:30 and returns at 3:00. Since it takes about half an hour to get there, it doesn't leave you much time. The other option is to rent a longtail boat - for 1800 baht, they will take you there and wait up to 4 hours in the evening and bring you back. The prices continue to go up the later in the day (or night) you want to go. These boats don't have lights on them, and when you return to the resort after dark, the tide is out, so you have a bit of a dark walk back into shore.

There is a small village behind the resort that is great. Unless you ask directly about how to get there, the hotel staff will tell you there is nowhere to eat or drink except the resort or Tonsai Bay (see above). We ate at Oasis and Pad Thai, both of which were amazing. The village is less than 5 minutes' walk away. There are cheaper massages available there as well.

We spent a day on a longboat tour with 3 other couples that was absolutely amazing - snorkeling and all the sights you expect to see, plus unexpected lunch and fresh fruit. We organized it through Poo (yes), who owns the Beach Bar in the village. Such a wonderful guy - the 8 of us ended up drinking at his bar into the late evening afterwards! (And he kindly let us paint on the side of his shed.) And the tour was less than half what the resort was charging (we paid 1200 baht per person). Hi to Maura and Antony, Carrie and Todd, and Istell and Nico!

I mentioned this at the start - but it's important enough to say again. There is no ATM at the resort. We had to pay 1800 baht and spend 3 hours to go to Tonsai Bay to get cash to pay for the tour we booked off-resort.

Overall, the policies at the resort seem to be constructed in order to keep you at the resort (restricting easy access to Tonsai, lying and saying there is nowhere to eat except the resort when there are several inexpensive restaurants and bars with real culture within easy walking distance, and not having an ATM so you have to charge everything to your room and hence stay on the resort). I respect capitalism as much as the next person, but the priority should be making sure that guests who have flown for days have the best trip possible. Ultimately, if that doesn't seem to be your priority, you don't get 5 stars from me.

Room Tip: Avoid deluxe gardenview bungalows if you have mobility problems.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KandCMarch16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Superb location for total relaxation, sunbathing, swimming eating and great for the last few days of our holiday when that's all we wanted to do. The restaurants are good, good choices of food and the bungalows cute. This is a well managed immaculate resort, in an idyllic location which was a great experience for the end of our tour of seeing the 'real' Thailand. Perfect if you only want to sit still

Room Tip: We had a garden bungalow, peaceful and secluded a few minutes walk from the sea and pool, restaurant...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I stayed at the outrigger on phi phi island with my partner in March 2013. I found the staff to be very friendly and I much appreciated their welcome experience at checkin. We arrived via longboat and were met with a tractor which drove out into the ocean to pick up us and our luggage. It's an experience I'm sure I'll never have again and was pretty amazing. The staff presented us with cold towels, a non alcoholic cocktail and a seat as they guided us through checkin.

The rooms are clean and have good facilities. We were given a complimentary upgrade and I loved the rain shower head in the bathroom. You are discouraged from drinking tap water and instead given complimentary bottled water.

Though the resort is in excellent condition it sprawls across quite a distance making their only pool difficult to get to from the other side. It s open only until 6pm and the pool bar closes then too - this is much more a honeymoon retreat than a party destination. That being said the cocktail menu is good - I'd recommend a Singapore sling. If you're of the fit persuasion be advised the gym has only one treadmill and no air conditioning.

As this is resort style there is no local town to walk and wander into and you are at the mercy of the resort restaurants. Stick with their Thai options, they are tastier, cheaper and less likely to cause disappointment. Avoid the toasted ham and cheese sandwich. The restaurants are almost as expensive as eating out in Sydney - this is not cheap Thailand.

To get to the resort you have two options once you arrive at Ton Sai bay ferry port: 1. Hire a speedboat 2. Get a longboat to the resort (around 200baht or $7 per person). Though the hotel staff are friendly don't expect them to assist in speaking with your next destination. Transfers to phi phi island (Ton Sai bay) from Phuket are around 400baht per person, plus the longboat cost to and from the resort.

I'd stay again but would go with a group of friends and get a speedboat direct from phuket to the resort ($700).

Room Tip: If you wish to use the pool frequently don't go for a deluxe garden view as this is at the oppos...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimmer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
1.4 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#15 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,296 reviews
2.0 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#5 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
836 reviews
2.2 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Zeavola Resort
Zeavola Resort
#1 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,776 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
1.6 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#10 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort

Address: 49 Moo 8 | T. Aonang, A. Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand (Formerly Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort)
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: £96 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A dream-like boutique resort situated on a private 800 metre stretch of pristine white sand beach lapped by the turqoise waters of the Andaman Sea. The resort is set on 70 acres of coconut palm plantations, in the privacy of Loh Ba Gao Bay on Phi Phi Island. Accommodation is comprised of 144 traditional Thai style bungalows and 12 exclusively private Hillside Pool Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Agoda, Expedia, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort And Spa
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi Island Village Beach Hotel
Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Phi Phi Island Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing