We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Resort, Impeccable Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Certificate of Excellence
Montclair, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding Resort, Impeccable Service”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We had an amazing stay at the Outrigger resort that was beautiful, peaceful and relaxing. The Outrigger is a spectacular resort nestled in the northeast shore of Phi Phi Island. Its location is elegantly placed and wonderfully secluded from some of the more visited areas of the island. I have endless accolades for the Outrigger but truly their greatest asset is their staff. I was constantly impressed with the service at Outrigger, from every level. Upon arrival, we were immediately greeted by the hotel staff, given a refreshingly cool towel, a fresh drink and then a quick walkthrough of our check-in paper work. Since we were on our honey moon, we were introduced to our resort “coordinator” Jay (he may have had a different title, but that’s how I remembered it). Jay became our friendly “face” of the resort and while he was there, assisted us with anything we needed. You are truly treated as royalty there.

As I said the hotel is elegantly situated on the bay with bungalows that line the shore and rise up into the surrounding rainforest. From dawn to dusk, the groundkeepers work on keeping the jungle from its timeless assault on the resort grounds, an assault that the staff tirelessly deter every day; from sweeping the paths, cleaning the gutters, removing creepy crawlers, to cutting back the ever encroaching foliage. And as you drive (golf cart service) or walk by, the staff stop their work, smile and voice a sing-songy Sa-wat-dee Kah or Kraup (a cheerful greeting you hear a lot at the resort) before returning to their work.

We were upgraded from the garden bungalow to the hillside villa, and at first we were concerned about this change. We had a feeling that this was done because the villas are harder to book. The problem with the villas is that they are situated on top of the hill overlooking the bay and it’s a long and steep walk up and down the hill to the pools, beach, lobby etc. When we asked about this however, we were told there was a golf cart services that we could access 24/7 whenever we needed. This turned out to be more convenient than we thought, the rides were never more than a 10 minute wait and they came whenever we requested it. If you are upgraded, please ask about this service because the Villas do have some unique amenities that may be worth this minor inconvenience.

As for food, make sure you make the quick journey to the village behind the resort, you will not be disappointed. The village is home to several restaurants, dive shops, bars and miscellaneous shops. The food here is nothing short of magnificent; fresh ingredients prepared to order. Every restaurant we dined at was amazing but two really stood out: Buffalo Head and The Red Tuna. Both demonstrate how you can take fresh ingredients, prepare it simply but expertly and provide a world class meal at a bargain price.

You can also check out the dive shops for snorkeling, scuba and other excursions. I recommend the Knockout Bar- ask for Mr. Chet.

In short, amazing honeymoon at the Outrigger Resort, phenomenal staff, service and wonderful memories, hope we can return some day.

Room Tip: The Hillside Villas have some advantages such as free Wi-Fi in the room, stunning views, larger acco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirdum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,406
    1,143
    401
    143
    96
See reviews for
559
2,630
67
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We had an amazing stay at the Outrigger resort that was beautiful, peaceful and relaxing. The Outrigger is a spectacular resort nestled in the northeast shore of Phi Phi Island. Its location is elegantly placed and wonderfully secluded from some of the more visited areas of the island. I have endless accolades for the Outrigger but truly their greatest asset is their staff. I was constantly impressed with the service at Outrigger, from every level. Upon arrival, we were immediately greeted by the hotel staff, given a refreshingly cool towel, a fresh drink and then a quick walkthrough of our check-in paper work. Since we were on our honey moon, we were introduced to our resort “coordinator” Jay (he may have had a different title, but that’s how I remembered it). Jay became our friendly “face” of the resort and while he was there, assisted us with anything we needed. You are truly treated as royalty there.

As I said the hotel is elegantly situated on the bay with bungalows that line the shore and rise up into the surrounding rainforest. From dawn to dusk, the groundkeepers work on keeping the jungle from its timeless assault on the resort grounds, an assault that the staff tirelessly deter every day; from sweeping the paths, cleaning the gutters, removing creepy crawlers, to cutting back the ever encroaching foliage. And as you drive (golf cart service) or walk by, the staff stop their work, smile and voice a sing-songy Sa-wat-dee Kah or Kraup (a cheerful greeting you hear a lot at the resort) before returning to their work.

We were upgraded from the beachfront junior suite to the hillside villa, and at first we were concerned about this change. We had a feeling that this was done because the villas are harder to book. The problem with the villas is that they are situated on top of the hill overlooking the bay and it’s a long and steep walk up and down the hill to the pools, beach, lobby etc. When we asked about this however, we were told there was a golf cart services that we could access 24/7 whenever we needed. This turned out to be more convenient than we thought, the rides were never more than a 10 minute wait and they came whenever we requested it. If you are upgraded, please ask about this service because the Villas do have some unique amenities that may be worth this minor inconvenience.

As for food, make sure you make the quick journey to the village behind the resort, you will not be disappointed. The village is home to several restaurants, dive shops, bars and miscellaneous shops. The food here is nothing short of magnificent; fresh ingredients prepared to order. Every restaurant we dined at was amazing but two really stood out: Buffalo Head and The Red Tuna. Both demonstrate how you can take fresh ingredients, prepare it simply but expertly and provide a world class meal at a bargain price.

You can also check out the dive shops for snorkeling, scuba and other excursions. I recommend the Knockout Bar- ask for Mr. Chet.

In short, amazing honeymoon at the Outrigger Resort, phenomenal staff, service and wonderful memories, hope we can return some day.

Room Tip: The Hillside Villas have some advantages such as free Wi-Fi in the room, stunning views, larger acco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My first trip to Thailand for my honeymoon was amazing because of this resort really help to made my honeymoon fabulous!! Absolutely stunning place!!,

After read some reviews about how to go there, we decided to book our transfer arrangement with the resort as we don’t want to jam on the big crowd of the public ferry and we found that our decision were right as upon landed at the Phuket Airport with first welcome from the staff who pick us up at the airport to the boat, we took the boat about 1.30 hrs by air condition Catamaran , we arrived at the resort without the big crowd and not even have to worry about our luggage as it well taking care of.

We need to transfer from the boat to the other smaller boat and transfer to the truck due to the tide is low (there is low and high tide on this beach), my first time in my life to see the tractor drive in the sea.. Wow!! amazing. The check in were quick and they send us the room before the luggage arrived, amazing all our luggage were brought to the room correctly even we didn’t told them.

Room : Our room was nice even we booked for the superior bungalow, and it not far from the beach at all. Our room was well take care by our room maid who always come with smile face and try to talk to us to ensure our need even she can’t speak reasonable English.

Trip: We booked the trip with the resort to explore the island, before we booked we had compared with the price at the village behind. Yes! The price in the resort is much higher but we decided to book at the resort because we think about our safety at sea and professional way to handle, again we made our decision right!

Food: there are some choices for you to dine in the resort and behind the village, but we decide to have all meals in the resort because we found outside restaurant the price is not much different. If compare with the place, hygiene and service, you get very much better at the resort.

Service: Service was good and the staff very friendly and helpful. Some has a little English but can see how they try to service you. This made me want to learn more Thai Culture, how they can do that!!

Overall experience were great! and we want to share our experience to you not to miss this place if you are looking for the nice touch, relaxing place and caring of Thai people.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 382Sophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

All I can say is amazing. 4th stay 2nd in a hillside villa. This time took my parents who stayed in a bungalow. Staff were more than happy to pick them up in golf buggy bring them up to our villa for the day and then take them back down at the end of the day. Food is great..... Please visit the broadbridge education centre behind the village- the kids are amazing as it the centre. Thankyou for another memorable trip:-)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Great location, excellent facilities. Beautiful Villas, pool was amazing - postcard like location. The food was brilliant - get the breakfast included - buffet was amazing. Some staff were below average in customer service. Overall would highly recommend. The beds are comfortable - best we stayed in at Thailand

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reedz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My husband and I stayed in a pool villa at the Outrigger Phi Phi Island for 4 nights in October as we had to attend a wedding on the island.
We had booked a transfer through the hotel and everything went smoothly and the hotel even sent a confirmation the day before to our hotel in Phuket which was a nice touch. During the check in process the staff was not able to cope with the limited amount of guests arriving on the boat transfer and seemed flustered. We noticed that a few guests starting to complain about the long wait.

The pool villas are located on a hill overlooking the rest of the resort and it is quite a walk from the reception and recreation. The hotel does have golf buggies however it would always take forever for them to show up wherefore many times we decided to do the long trek down after waiting for at least half an hour.

The villas have a fantastic view and a nice size pool, which was the absolute highlight of the resort. However when booking a pool villa, we expect privacy which not all the villas have. Our villa was more or less private however we were able to look straight down to the next villa’s pool from our living room which had no privacy whatsoever.

The villas (as well as the rest of the resort) are old and it shows. Paint was chipping off, wooden deck was discolored and the bathrooms were very 80s. The villas are divided into three different areas: 1. bedroom with A/C, 2. living room, kitchen and guest bathroom with A/C and 3. master bathroom with no A/C. Due to the amount of mosquitoes on the island, we constantly had to open and close the doors when walking from room to room. When closing the doors from either side, the person on the other side is effectively locked out of the room which was irritating. The bathroom, whilst large, was really the worst part. Firstly, this is an outdoor bathroom so it was full of critters and creepy crawlies. Secondly as there was no A/C, you would always be sweating whenever you had business to do inside and the towels would never dry. Lastly, the roof of the bathroom ends right above the bathtub, so it was always full of dirt, leaves, bugs, worms etc. The amenities included the usual things such as shampoo, conditioner, body wash and there was also bath salts but these were never replenished (guess we are only allowed to take one bath during the stay).

The food at this hotel was absolutely atrocious. I cannot fathom as to why people say the breakfast was nice. The first morning we went down to the restaurant for breakfast and were shocked at the bad service and the horrible food. When we arrived no one came to say hello, ask for our room number or to seat us. Eventually we just walked past the waiters and sat down on an empty table. No one came to offer us coffee, so we had to flag down a waiter and ask. When coffee did not appear, we had to ask a second waiter who finally brought us the coffee. However we also had to ask for a teaspoon and napkins. We were surrounded by dirty tables with birds eating the left overs however no one seemed to care or do anything about it. The food was just awful. There was an egg station were the chef would cook your eggs to oblivion and the buffet would include a few hot dishes but nothing was left and no one replenished it. After the first morning we decided to have the breakfast at our room instead as this is possible with the pool villas. The food was still awful (and cold) however at least we avoided the bad service in the restaurant.

Despite the harsh comments above, the worst part of this hotel was definitely the service. A couple of the staff were very friendly and would great us with a smile. However the majority including the reception, the recreation (the ladies here would not smile even if you paid them) and as mentioned above the restaurant staff were just miserable and could not be bothered. But the fiasco of our stay was when a couple of our friends came over from the Holiday Inn to have dinner with us were first denied access to our room. The reception staff would not let them come say hello even when we confirmed that they were not staying with us but they were just joining us for dinner. After 4 phone calls my husband had to walk all the way down to the reception to argue with the staff (the golf buggy did not show up) and they were finally allowed to come say hello. During this whole episode, a staff member came to the room and informed us that the transfer we had booked through the hotel was not available the next morning because their boat was full and we had to take the public ferry to Phuket. The transfer had even been confirmed by the reception the first day we arrived, so naturally we were very upset. After asking to speak to the manager the staff called the room and informed that we would be able to take the hotel transfer back to Phuket after all. During this call the staff member also felt the need to inform us again that our friends were not allowed to stay in our room…

All in all, the hotel did not live up to our expectations. We spent a lot of money to stay in a pool villa but we were let down. The only plus sides about this hotel is really the location, the private pool and the Phi Phi Village which is located behind the resort. If you do stay at this resort, make sure you go eat at Pad Thai in the village. Next time, we would probably stay at the Holiday Inn or Zeavola. It’s a shame really, the hotel does have a lot of potential if they just get their act together.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank KennyBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

My feelings on outrigger are quite mixed. Firstly, the setting of phi phi is absolutely stunning, the best I've seen in Thailand so far. The resort really is just that...A huge resort with all your needs thought of to keep you there...However this can also be a little offputting for people who want a little variety in the evenings etc.

To begin, arrival to the resort takes your breath away, with pulling up on a long tail boat to the shore, having your bags taken and a drink handed to you in what looks like paradise being a fabulous first taste. Golf buggies are available to take you and your bags to the bungalow and these are available on request throughout your stay however unless you're less able or elderly this really wouldn't be necessary.

The bungalows themselves are where I think the standards start to slip. While they are clean, spacious and perfectly functional, I wouldn't say they're five star. They're just a little shabby and in need of a repaint and freshen up. The bathroom is very dated and the paintwork chipped, mosquito nets on windows coming away etc. But they're clean and fine.

Moving back to the main resort, the infinity pool is fab, the swim up bar tempting, the loungers plentiful and in close access to the private beach...an absolutely gorgeous place to hang out.

We only ate food in the poolside bar and at breakfast and in no other part of the resort and while the food was good, again as mentioned by previous posters, the service was mixed. While some staff were really lovely and friendly, others were so unhappy, so outrigger seriously need to do something about making their staff like their workplace as it was apparent not everyone is keen on being there. So again, while its a five star setting, I wouldn't say the service is consistently five star...but not bad enough to put you off being there!

Finally, I must mention the village behind the hotel. We were very wary going to outrigger believing we'd be limited in our options. The hotel don't mention it to you (its just a blank space on their resort map!) but there's a great little village less than 5 mins walk behind the resort. Simply walk down to coconut bar, take a left and you'll hear music from the beach bar before you see it! There's a great little selection of bars, restaurants, massage places and tour providers here...All for a fraction of the price outrigger charges.

One last warning is regarding the costs. All food is subject to a 17% service charge...which really adds up. Part of this is government charge, but part goes to the hotel. I'm willing to pay for service, however when the service isn't always the friendliest, or when the exact same service is provided at much cheaper cost in the village, I know which I choose! For tours etc, outrigger charges way more, yet they have a disclaimer saying they don't accept any responsibility for the tours as it's an external provider...again they seem very happy to take money but not give the service. If booking a trip, go see Mr Chet in the knockout bar in the village. He offers a great tour for a reasonable price and takes you out in water himself, with a great lunch cooked by his wife. And because it's via longtail boat (way better than speedboat in my opinion) there's only six people so is a nice small group.

All in all outrigger is a stunning place to be but just don't expect top of the range service and be sure to visit the village and support the locals too!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Backpacker100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
1.4 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#14 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,286 reviews
2.0 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#5 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
827 reviews
1.3 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,398 reviews
1.8 mi away
Zeavola Resort
Zeavola Resort
#1 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,766 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort

Property: Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Address: 49 Moo 8 | T. Aonang, A. Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand (Formerly Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort)
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A dream-like boutique resort situated on a private 800 metre stretch of pristine white sand beach lapped by the turqoise waters of the Andaman Sea. The resort is set on 70 acres of coconut palm plantations, in the privacy of Loh Ba Gao Bay on Phi Phi Island. Accommodation is comprised of 144 traditional Thai style bungalows and 12 exclusively private Hillside Pool Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort And Spa
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi Island Village Beach Hotel
Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Phi Phi Island Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing