We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Bay View Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bay View Resort
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Enjoyed my stay here, rooms are spacious and well equipped with hair dryer and coffee and tea facilities. Never ate at the restaurant only for breakfast. It was a good choice but don't go before 8. Very busy with people going on trips.
Hotel only about a 10 minute walk to the main shopping and entertainment area.
Only thing that I would advise against people coming here is that it is on a hill so it could be tricky for those who can't walk well or far.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cozbawz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    558
    407
    205
    167
See reviews for
151
812
58
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed here with some friends for a couple of nights and up until checking out we had a great time - mind blowing views, comfy and clean rooms, great sun lounging on the beach, nice pool and all for a pretty reasonable price.

This was somewhat marred by our experience when we checked out. We lost a room key when it fell off the key fob - this was due to some dodgy welding on the ring. When attempting to explain the situation to an older, managerial lady at the front desk we were lambasted for losing it and she demanded compensation. When attempting to explain that it was their faulty key ring to blame the lady starting screaming at us that it was "impossible".

This circular argument continued and built up to somewhat of a finale when the lady tried to demonstrate the impossibility of the keys falling off the ring by flinging it across the reception area and smashing it off the floor. To our great satisfaction and applause, the key she threw pinged off. Gratified, we declined to pay the fee and walked off to the boat (she told the staff not to take our bags).

In conclusion, this was a nice hotel and I wouldn't discourage people from going but if you're not keen on confrontation, give the manager a wide berth.

And to you manager lady, if you ever read this, I say: nothing is impossible.

Room Tip: Get a sea view, and watch out for the steep climbs up the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FrankMordaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My boyfriend and i went here in January 2014. This hotel was one of our favorite places to stay in thailand. When you get to koh phi phi you will arrive by ferry. the hotel can be seen from the bay in which you arrive. We were met by a couple of members of staff from the hotel who loaded our bags onto a boat and took us to the hotel. My boyfriend and i loved this! as we felt very spoilt!

We had read some quite bad things and mixed reviews about his hotel- and especially the 'scary' owner. However, i must say we LOVED IT! Koh phi phi is an expensive island and you can't really stay anywhere for less than £20 per person. I think we paid about £60 pernight for two with breakfast and you cannot fault it at this price! The breakfast was on for 3 hours each morning and was extremely vast (and delicious).

the hotel itself is at the end of the bay towards 'long beach'. The location for us was perfect as it looked out over the bay and we could watch the sun set in the evening. The main centre (which is tiny) is only about a 15-20 minute walk- which we liked as we are both active). at the weekends the island is much busier with large groups of travellers and in turn is a lot quieter in the week. We loved everything about the island. Go to the hippy bar! for amazing food and entertainment- FIRE SHOWS.

Koh phi phi is such an amazing place. I would advise going on some of the boat tours and island hopping days (maya beach, shark poiint, mosquito island etc...) However, if you do this try and form a small group with some other tourists as you can do it for cheap if you hire a boat. We made friends with a couple and did 2 days of island hopping (7 hours per day and it cost us 2000 TBHT per day for all of us! BARGAIN!!!).

We loved this hotel and location so much that we went back for our last night on Koh phi phi.

We definitely left a piece of our hearts there.

<3 <3 <3

Room Tip: we stayed in room 302 which we thought was the best room ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katielouisethompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. The hillside setting means the views are fantastic, but if I went again I would definitely request a sea view as I think some of the huts at the back don't have one. We found it a great base - close enough to town to wander in, but also close to quieter walks and other beaches around the island. The hut itself is fairly basic, but such a lovely view to wake up to, with a great balcony to watch the sun go down it felt special. We would love to go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Firstly, lots of previous reviewers said the staff weren't friendly. We found the staff to be pleasant and helpful but then again, we're pretty easy going and don't sweat over the little things.
Resort is located at the end of the pier beach. It's a leisurely 10 minute stroll to the main area or they have long boats for free.
Be prepared for stairs as the rooms are on a hillside but this means beautiful views. Rooms were nice, clean with private balcony (bring mosquito repellant). Wifi was full bars in the room.
Buffet breakfast was nice with lots to choose from (and the egg cook was efficient and smiley). Restaurant served decent food with prices on par with the rest of the island.
Overall, a nice stay and would come back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MikM791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We booked this hotel for our honeymoon and were shocked at how terrible the staff were. Because of an online booking error we were hoping for some hospitality but instead they screwed us over. Luckily the Andaman Hotel next door came to our rescue and saved our trip. The location is the furthest from town and not worth the walk. There are plenty of other spots on Ko Phi Phi that are much better options. My husband and I travel and lot and can confidently advise you to avoid this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coritapita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here in April for 4 nights. Its a good distance away from the town so its quiet at night but walkable into the centre. The location on the beach is amazing. That's about where the positive feedback ends. Our room was a major trek up a very steep hill so had to have a shower every time we got in our room. There are golf karts around but no staff seem to want to help. Our room didn't get serviced for 2 days and when I complained they made it sound like it was my fault. They run out of beach towels extremely quickly and then snap at you if you ask for one. The waiting staff at the beach restaurant were marginally better, the reception staff are the worst.

This place has all the makings of a good hotel but the staff let it down. Its a shame, it doesn't cost anything to be friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovefishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
818 reviews
0.8 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#14 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
#15 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
236 reviews
1.6 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#6 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View Resort

Property: Bay View Resort
Address: 69 Moo 7, Laem Hin Beach, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand (Formerly Phi Phi Bayview Resort)
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay View Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bay View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Bayview Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Bay View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing