We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Takada restaurant extremely poor service”
Review of Zeavola Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Zeavola Resort
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Overall absolutely beautiful hotel!!! just really really bad service in the Takada restaurant. Waiters seated us on several occasions yet with no menu and had to ask. Overall slow staff with a don't care attitude. Such a shame. :(

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

544 - 550 of 1,807 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

The only reason for not giving this resort 5 stars is there isn't a gym. Other than that the resort is exceptional and very reasonably priced . The location is incredible with the most stunning views we saw the whole trip in Thailand. The resort and area is quiet so three nights is long enough. The activities, day grips and spa were all outstanding. The ambience feels so traditional thailand far from the commercial resorts any where else. This hotel is beautiful and authentic and would definitely return and reccommend to anyone else travelling to thailand.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We were engaged in Thailand and it was our dream to come back and get married in Thailand, and last month on the 8th of March, that is exactly what we did!
We had never been to phi phi island but after finding the Zeavola resort online, we felt like we has found the perfect place to have our wedding! This was solidified after taking a pre wedding trip to the Zeavola Resort last October!!!! We fell in love with everything about the island and the resort! If you want decadence, romance, nature, seclusion and beauty the Zeavola is the place for you!
The staff were unbelievable! The general manager Khun Florian was so understanding and bent over backwards to accommodate all our wedding needs! For months leading up to the wedding we would send emails and correspond with wedding planners about details of the wedding and the staff were extremely professional, prompt, helpful and friendly!!!
We would like to make special mention of Khun Abdullah, Deerake, Gai, Sak, Pa, Soy and gorgeous Geneivive and all the staff for organising our day and making it as special as it could possibly be!!!! We are forever grateful!

From the moment we arrived on the 3rd of March ( along with our 40+ guests) we were treated like royalty and everything just fell into place fabulously!
One of the many things that set the Zeavola Resort apart, from every other resort is their meticulous and personalised attention to detail! From the photos they take and then leave as gifts in your room, to the way you are greeted by all staff, the way the ladies and gentlemen who turn down/ clean the rooms are so friendly gracious and efficient! To how our wedding guests (whether staying at zeavola or not) were welcome to use all the facilities at the Resort at their leisure! To the beautiful set up they left on our bed the night of our wedding flowers notes and chocolate !!!

We stayed a week at the resort in one of the Pool Villa suites a.k.a. " heaven on earth" we loved this room it was sooooooo romantic and secluded it was a perfect place to spend our honeymoon alone together, but also to entertain many of our friends who would come and enjoy our private pool!
As for the wedding day, there were so many things that made the day so special for us, for example on our pre trip to the Resort we had seen a specific spot in the garden at the entrance to the reception area where we wished to have our love tree planted, and when we emailed and asked about it being kept for us the staff made sure that spot stayed ours for the remaining 6 months until our wedding took place!
Also the unthinkable happened on my wedding day and one of my bridesmaids dress's completely ripped at the seem down one side about an hr before the ceremony was to start, in a flat spin my mother rang the reception to ask if some safety pins could be brought up and 5 minutes later a wonderful woman arrived with a sewing kit and she proceeded to sew the dress back together together!
Thus potentially saving the day!
These are the types of things you cannot plan for on a wedding day and no matter what curveballs appeared the Zeavola staff met them with a smile, laugh and solution!!!!
My hair was done in the Spa and was done beautifully by the lovely Soy!
And if you want a massage, they have amazing treatments in the spa!!!
Another beautiful touch that the Zeavola Resort brings to a wedding day is the drum procession that escorts bridal parties to the ceremony, the singing the laughing the dancing with all the staff and the bridal parties was moment that will stay with us forever.
Oooooh and the food !!!! It was un-paralleled in quality and quantity !!!
Everything about our stay was heaven !!!!
In our eyes the Zeavola Resort is the best Resort on the island by far!!!
We have some amazing memories with friends family and staff from our stay at Zeavola ones we will never forget, and we are so happy we chose the Zeavola for our wedding we would recommend this resort 150% to anyone looking to marry there!!!
We cannot wait to come back, ( we plan to for our anniversary) see all the staff and water our love tree !!!

Thank you from the bottom of our Hearts Zeavola !!!!
Love Joel and Veena

Room Tip: The pool villa is absolute heaven if you are on your honeymoon or having your wedding at the Zeavola...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed 5 nights by myself for much needed break last week. The charm of Zeavola to me is its seclusion and the escape from crowds. The blending of 5-star with natural surrounds was refreshing and made me feel very much part of the island rather than a visitor. Staff were friendly and genuine even if communication on the odd occasion was a challenge. Spa treatments were lovely and my room was immaculate and well maintained. Ticked all the boxes for me and will go again if I get the opportunity.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed four nights at Zeavola and had a fantastic experience. The accomodation and staff at the reception and breakfast restaurant are great. The resort is in great condition and would definately come back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dutchy214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights at the end of our honeymoon after visiting various other parts of Thailand. Our review below is a mixture of positives and negatives.
We arrived at the Marina slightly early and were met by Sek who was warm, friendly and chatty. We were offered complimentary drinks and cake whilst we waited for speedboat at a lovely bar over looking the stunning marina. This was a great service provided by the hotel and arrived within an hour.
We were met on the beach by a friendly member of staff with cold flannels that smelled of peppermint/eucalyptus - and a delicious hibiscus tea drink. We were then introduced to the duty manager, Abdullah and shown to our hut/cottage. We were very impressed with our room which overlooked the swimming pool. We especially liked the authenticity of the room and felt like we were actually living the island life. The room was cleaned daily and they even had an evening dress down service at night, where we received a different gift/token each night.

The downsides of the room... We started the week with 2 beach towels, 2 bath towels, 2 hand towels, 2 flannels and a shower mat. We had fresh towels daily but each day one of these items went down in quantity. By the 2nd day the shower mat had gone, 3rd day we had no hand towels, and 4th day the flannels had gone and by the last day we only had left the 2 beach towels and 2 bath towels. They also supplied us with 2 sachets of mosquito wipes, which we assumed would be replenished but never were. Neither were the cotton buds, cotton wool, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, or body lotion. We had come from a 3 star hotel in Koh Samui and these complimentary items were replenished daily so this was disappointing considering Zeavola is meant to be a 5 star.

The hotel is advertised as having 2 restaurants, Baxil (Thai cuisine) and Tacada (fine dining). This is even stated in the hotel map we were given with their opening times. On our first night we decided to head to Baxil for Thai cuisine but were extremely disappointed to be told by the duty manager that this was now closed as 'we found our guests preferred to eat overlooking the sea at Tacada'. So we headed to Tacada and sat in darkness with only a tea- light candle for light so we could barely see anything. We had to use a torch to view the menu. We both had salads for starter - a portion that was big enough to be served as a main dish. We used the torches on our phones to see our plates of food and what we were eating, which were both swimming in salad dressing. Then for main course, we both had the roasted duck. This was over-cooked, dry and chewy, served with an overly-cheesy risotto. Luckily the starter had filled us up. We found this restaurant to be very expensive for the quality we received and if we had had this meal in the UK we would've sent it back. But try explaining this to staff who just about understood 'can we have 2 cokes please'.
Previous comments by other guests also mention the lack of English this is a huge problem but we also found that they also lack general restaurant skills and experience. They handed us the menus and waited by our table until we had decided what to eat and drink, which was very off putting and made us feel rushed and uncomfortable. Then as soon as we put our last mouthful of food into our mouths and put our cutlery together on the plate, they were there, removing the plates whilst we were still chewing our food!!

The next nights for dinner, we ventured down the beach and to Sawasdee, Jasmine's and even the Holiday Inn where we had our best meals and half the price of the hotel. All the staff at these restaurants had better lighting, better English and waiting experience.

The breakfast in the hotel was lovely and a wide choice for all. We even liked the fresh doughnuts each morning with choices of different sugary toppings. They have a cooked menu to choose from and also lots of croissants, cereals, breads for toast, fruits and salads.

We both took advantage of a 2 for 1 offer on a massage at the Spa which was excellent! Yes, you could probably find them cheaper down the beach but we've had massages before and both felt revitalised and amazing by the end of it. We had the massages laying next to each other which I liked and she also finished my massage off with a French plait in my hair! Very nice touch. We would both recommend a spa treatment in the hotel and you won't be disappointed.

We knew the hotel was going to be secluded but didn't realise just how much. When we checked in we were given a map and shown where the ATM was but when we came back the next day to find out how to get there, the receptionist, Apple, advised us we would need to get a long tail boat there and could not walk to it. To do this, we would need to pay 1700 baht for a 2 hour excursion/trip. Just to visit the cash point. We also needed more sun cream and were told the only shop was the hotel Boutique that sold a small travel sized bottle for equivalent to £10! We then found a local shop down the beach to the right that sold reasonably priced sun cream, snacks, drinks etc.
As well as the above long tail boat trip, the hotel offers a variety of different ones to visit different islands. But, most of them required a minimum of 4 people (???) and were over priced. We managed to speak to the long tail boats parked outside the local shop and bargained with them for a trip that was longer and cheaper than what he hotel offered. It was our best, and only, day out in Phi Phi.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

This is not New York, don't expect to get a city hotel or even something close to that, but you'll get the best island experience for people who appreciate the beauty of a real natural resort.
Yes, there are many small bugs in the close surrounding of your so called "room". Many birds whistle all day above you, there are some Mosquitos that love your sweet blood... But it's worth it! You're going to stay in a cabin that has all the facilities you'll need. AC, nice and spacious bathroom, very quiet jungle like surroundings, many more small items that make you happy, great king size bed, very friendly stuff, that remember your first name after 2 nights, great breakfast, best food you can get in the area, wonderful views, the beach is just there, outside the resort, and above all you're getting the feeling that Florian the manager and all the stuff are there just for you, doing their best to serve you and to give you the feeling you're expecting to have when you're having a vacation or celebrating an important date in your life. Honeymoon, anniversary, birthday, you name it.
Go there, stay there, give your self at lease 4 nights there - you will not regret. (We stayed 7 nights).
Take the long tail boat to Bamboo Island, it's a must, lay on the warm sand, read a book, listen to your music, kiss your mate, that all you need!
Enjoy your life. Zeavola is the place for you!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ofer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
2.8 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#17 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,311 reviews
2.9 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#5 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
656 reviews
3.7 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#6 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
3.9 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zeavola Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zeavola Resort

Address: 11 Moo 8 Laem Tong, Ao Nang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#3 Family Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: £176 - £411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zeavola Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Zeavola Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zeavola Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Zeavola Hotel Krabi
Zeavola Resort Krabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing