We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE MOST PERFECT PLACE IN THAILAND!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zeavola Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Zeavola Resort
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Certificate of Excellence
Melb, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“THE MOST PERFECT PLACE IN THAILAND!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is our SIXTH (6th) time to Zeavola, in six years. Don't get us wrong, we like to explore new cities, new countries and new hotels and places - but this place is so special, we can't help but continue to return year on year, for six years in a row! We even got married here last year, which adds to our love of the hotel, staff, island, and the surrounds.
we can not rave enough about Zeavola - it's a luxurious hotel, based in the rustic grounds of Phi Phi Island, all villas have an indoor/outdoor component, all walkways are sand, the beach is white sand with turquoise perfect clear water, and palms swaying in the breeze. The Staff are amazing, credit to all of them, who have become like our 2nd family, and the GM - Florian, will go over and above to make your stay special, and welcome you back - and if it is your first time, Florian will go out of his way to welcome you and the staff will ensure that you feel like home the second you get off the speedboat from Phuket.
this is THE place to come to if you're planning to go to Phi Phi Island, it is away from the throng of the Phi Phi island village, but it's simplicity, beauty, tranquillity and peacefulness will suit most to get out of the rat-race and take two steps back and relax. The staff will do anything to make your time perfect, and the food is fantastic, reasonably priced and you can not beat sitting on tables in the sand, with waves lapping infront of you, under a clear starry night, and eating great thai and western food, cocktails and so forth. There is a gypsy village further down the beach if you need variety away from eating at the hotel every night - and other than eating and sleeping, expect to while away your days on beanbags or daybeds on the sand and swim in clear water.
We love Zeavola, and our Zeavola family, and are already planning our 7th trip for 2015.
If you haven't been to this very special place - start planning and booking. We've sent two couples there already and they are now raving about it to friends like "they" found it - so start planning and book this heavenly place in.
BIG SPECIAL thanks to Florian (GM), Chackie, Sa, Won, Pa, Chef, Ead, Igque, and everyone else at Zeavola for welcoming us back with open arms - we miss you!!!

Room Tip: All garden villas have an indoor/outdoor aspect - but remember to pack mosquito repellent as it is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Noodlesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,065
    338
    141
    75
    64
See reviews for
187
1,154
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We enjoyed Zeavola but it was not quite as we expected. Firstly, whilst a beautiful novel setting and a super experience this is not in my opinion a luxury resort but more of a back to nature, rustic experience of a high calibre, 'back to simplicity' describes it perfectly. Having seen Ko Phi Phi, I can well believe this is the best on offer.

The hotels either side rather ruined the beach, especially when 37 people jump off each speedboat (and there were many) that moars up every lunchtime at the beach to attend the next door hotel's lunch. The endless boat noise was quite hard work and unfortunately the pool was disappointing as an alternative.

Make sure you bring bug spray and do not be suprised to find cockroaches dead on bathroom floors which happened to me a couple of times. Cleanliness was good overall but ashame that the beach does not get cleaned enough and on many occasions I found cigarette butts by my feet or near the shower on the beach.

The staff are friendly, the dive centre super as was the spa but it was the little touches we thought were a bit missing.

The prices are rather high for food and drink, (we also stayed in Layana on Ko Lanta and Rayavadee on Railay/Krabi). One has to remember that the food has to be brought in by boat, this coupled with the fact that this resort is on a very popular island so it is understandable.

I would recommend Zeavola but I would just bear the above in mind.

Room Tip: I would say Garden suite is, rooms 6,8 are good, up away from the beach and private enough. Outdoor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I liked the web site and the sell.... when we got there it was a whole different feel....the rooms are nice but actually only glorified camping bungalow style ...out door showers , smelly bathroom and tonnes of mosquitos day and night and very hard to control...rooms are comfortable with all the usual air con , bedding etc tv was random reception and wifi unbearably slow... so don't expect any thing great here... food is good but very expensive for the quality and offering.... the staff are great and try hard but don't seem so happy with the amount of hours they work or the fact that there is nothing to do on this beach....it a 30 min boat ride to town for 700- 1000 baht each way and the other food and shops on this beach are over priced and perhaps jaded by tourists ...its a great example of change for the worse and not what thailand used to be , there are way better hotels and beaches for the price. .... we left early and luckily found better places for half the price ....i would not go back here in hurry and don't recommend this beach or hotel

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mabudo_likes_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Beautiful beach, beautiful villas, in general friendly staff. Stayed 01-04 May 2014 and did not experience any noise on the beach from surrounding hotel boats as described in some reviews. Almost perfect paradise, with some small issues to call it perfect.

Reception and check-in – perfect.

Villas – beautiful room. Free Wi-Fi. Complimentary water, coffee and tea in room. Negative – on first day complimentary coffee cream in fridge was 2 weeks past best before date (!). Second day – refill of coffee was done, but no refill of coffee cream. Lot of mosquitoes as to be expected (hotel on the beach in the forest). Anti mosquito appliances used here are not very efficient. Almost not possible to sit on the terrace of the villa without being eaten. In Bali had the same issue with the hotel being in rainforest. They solved the issue much more efficiently by placing anti mosquito candles on the terrace. On the first day the anti mosquito racket was not working. Had to call reception to replace it (hotel of this standard should check such things while doing room cleaning).

Breakfast – A la carte breakfast. Almost perfect. Good food. Slow service. Two days in a row had to wait about 20 minutes until someone noticed. Ordered pizza, no fork was provided, had to ask. These small things actually matter in 5 star resort.

Restaurant dinner – had party of three. Each got different menus with different food listings and this on two different occasions. They have European kitchen and Thai kitchen. Had to share the menus both nights. Service good, but not perfect. Food OK. Understanding of English is not very good. Restaurant outside the hotel territory on the beach “Jasmine” had at the same time very friendly and smiling staff and great prices.

Beach – picture perfect paradise. Comfortable sun-beds. Good service.

SPA – very friendly service. Best massage in Thailand so far.

Diving center – took a 4 hour boat trip with snorkeling. Very friendly boat-driver. Perfect private tour around the island.

In general this is a good hotel. Would not rate it a 5 start, because of small issues. These don’t ruin your vacation, but lack of attention to small things doesn’t leave you the impression you have spent your time in the perfect paradise.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ervin1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

My Wife and I spent 4 nights at Zeavola in April. Zeavola can split opinion, while it is luxurious and does take you back to nature, it is not for everyone due to the following reasons:

1) The rooms are all air conditioned, but the seating area is outdoor and with the number of mosquitos that is not always enjoyable. The shower/toilet is in an enclosed room but becomes like a sauna after use as I wont dare open the windows due to the mosquitos. When staying here be prepared for the fact that you are on a beautiful tropical island, so expect to see and hear various creatures during your stay.

2) The hotel is excellent, I didn't wear shoes during my whole stay. The rooms are clean and large enough, the out door space can be made more private by closing the bamboo blinds, there is also an outdoor shower which is nice. I really liked the feel of being back in nature personally. The grounds are really well kept and the walkways are all sand rather than concrete.

3) The food is very good here, there are a lot of breakfast options and we had lunch a couple of times. The staff are helpful, but on a number of occasions they pass you the menu and then wait for you to order. I asked them to come back after 5 minutes on a number of occasions. Staying on food, you can venture into the other hotels for food if you want, or you could go to Jasmine's the only restaurant on the beach not owned by the hotels. It is part of the gypsy village (a couple of shops and Jasmine's) but is considerable cheaper than hotels. It gets very busy at night, during the day try their mix fruit cocktails, they are great.

4) The swimming pool is not on the beach, part is a few minutes back and is quite secluded. Personally I would have preferred it on or close to the beach. I used the pool once and it was quite which was a bonus but there were not enough lounge chairs for all the people there.

5) The location of the hotel needs clarifying. The beach for me is not great, there are far more beautiful beaches in Thailand. The main problem is the number of speed boats and tractor that are on the beach transporting tourists to the various hotels on the beach. Because there are no roads to the hotel everything comes via the beach, for that reason I didn't find the beach relaxing and quite dirty. If you turn right at the beach up to the holiday inn, the beach there is much nicer and quieter. The seating on the beach didn't work for me, as you still on large leather bean bags, which get very hot in the sun and are not comfortable. I would have preferred traditional beach seats.

6) Staying on the location, staying at Zeavola means you are about a 30 minute long tail boat ride to the main town (each way). The problem with this is the expense, from memory it cost approx. 1000thb for the journey, which if you do this a couple of times during your stay adds up. You can get a long tail 24 hours a day. The hotel does organise transfers but they cost more than longtail. Alternatively there a couple of ferries that take you to the main town, which are considerable cheaper than long tail, all be it a lot slower.

7) For day trips definitely head to bamboo island, monkey island and Maya bay (where the Beach was filmed)

Overall the stay at Zeavola was enjoyable, I like the concept very much, the real problem for me was the beach wasn't very nice, having travelled half way around the world to get here I was looking for paradise and the beach here does not give you that.

Room Tip: You can ask for a room with a shower and toilet connected to the bedroom, rather than having to vent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irfan_Khan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Enjoyed a nice Girl's Weekend here in April 2014. It was my 3rd time on Phi Phi Island and my 1st time to stay at Zeavola. We stayed in a pool villa on the hill and it had a wonderful view! There were quite a few stairs but the view was worth it. We even had a monkey visit us on our deck our first day there!!

We were a bit concerned when we first arrived as the beach was very crowded and not very private it appeared...but we had no problem during our stay and enjoyed our beach lounging very much. There are 2 times a day when the beach gets busy due to the unloading and loading of passengers checking in and out, however other than those brief periods, it was relatively quiet and the water was beautiful.

We were also very impressed with the food...wonderful salads, hot breakfast choices and good wraps and fish. The service is a bit laid back but not neglectful...just not rushing you. We enjoyed it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbhodge24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Overall absolutely beautiful hotel!!! just really really bad service in the Takada restaurant. Waiters seated us on several occasions yet with no menu and had to ask. Overall slow staff with a don't care attitude. Such a shame. :(

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
3.7 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
2.9 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
2.8 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#14 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
3.9 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#6 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zeavola Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zeavola Resort

Property: Zeavola Resort
Address: 11 Moo 8 Laem Tong, Koh Phi Phi | Ao Nang, Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#3 Family Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zeavola Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelbag, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Destinology, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zeavola Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zeavola Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Zeavola Hotel Krabi
Zeavola Resort Krabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing