We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel I would stay here again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Galway
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel I would stay here again.”
Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

Location is amazing. Pool is gorgeous. Rooms are a little bit dated but its probably one of the nicest hotels on the island. As soon as you get off the ferry the hotel is just to the left which is very handy. Breakfast wasn't great flies all over the food. Overall great hotel would definitely stay here again :)

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    427
    352
    162
    131
See reviews for
141
575
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

At beach vacations, my husband and I typically like to spend the day lounging about and the evenings people watching at restaurants and bars. Because of this, we decided to pick a hotel at the main strip on Phi Phi instead of nicer places like Outtrigger and Holiday Inn, both of which do not have walking access to the main area. Phi Phi Island Cabana was reasonably satisfactory based in our requirements.

Location: This hotel sits on the narrow end of the main strip, which means while its front entrance exits to the main road that takes you to the docks and the restaurant/bar area, the back is right on the small cove where the sandy beach is. Lounge chairs are set around the pool area which also has a great view of the cove. The hotel is a 5 minute walk to the busy area, but set far enough that the party noises really do not become a bother, especially if you stay in a pool view room.

Property: This hotel is showing its age, especially since it was not that well constructed or well maintained to begin with. This is extra evident around the pool area. Many of the showers around the pool are broken, the waterfall in the pool has broken lights with bare wires showing, lots of cracked tiles everywhere. The pool is large by Phi Phi standards and probably the nicest one on the main beach, with plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas all around. We came during the peak season of Lunar New Years but still didn't have problems finding seats. The breakfast dining room looks like a company cafeteria, the gym is a total joke with about 5 pieces of low quality equipments. (No treadmills in the gym, but we did spot them broken and dusty stored haphazardly in a stairwell.)

Room: About what you would expect at a 3 star place in Thailand. It is reasonably clean with just the necessities. What I found most annoying was that there was no drying rack - not even one of those lines in the bathroom. There are also no robes provided, which was a bit inconvenient. The tv is an old CRT, and there are very few outlets available and none at all in the bathroom. The bed is pretty hard and took some getting use to. The A/C is not overly cold but does work.

Miscellaneous: wifi is available but not free, not even in public areas. You pay for a period of time that expires after 24 or 48 hours depending on the package. We like having Internet access 24/7 so this was a major annoyance.

Service: check in was easy even though the front desk isn't overly welcoming. Our request for a pool view room was rejected because we were told all of them were occupied. House keeping seem proficient, the room is always clean. Don't expect service at breakfast, just do things yourself. Food at breakfast is not great but edible.

Overall: good hotel to stay if you want a nice view, nice pool, and easy access to night life. Just don't expect a 5 star resort. This place can earn a solid 3 star in similar regions but probably more like 2 stars in more developed countries.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank norahyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Though it is located in the best possible place and the condition of the hotel and the service is horrible. I got a bargain special deal from AGODA only 187USD a night and the real value of such hotel can’t be more than 50-60USD a night. If you can cancel your order NOW.

Room Tip: No good rooms. I checked 7-8 of them and they are no good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Uri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed 6 nights and loved it. The hotel runs across the island so it has water on both sides. We had great views from our room and spent fab days at the pool.

The staff were efficient and helpful.

We ate at the hotel restaurant several nights and the food was tasty.

Most importantly it is very near to everything yet far enough away from the nightclubs so that we had no noise disturbance whatsoever.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lalikini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

We booked this place based on the pics on its website - they are not very true to life as the place is very rough around the edges. The rooms are ok but the pool area is poor with not enough loungers (lots broken), very tatty towels and a grimy pool. It's far too pricey for what you're getting.

I wish I had read the reviews on here before booking and paying for 4 nights upfront.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeShee1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Placing in quiet part of island. But service is not on a level. When we entered to our room, bath towels were absent. We waited about 5 hours and after 5 calls to receiption we got them. Room was noise, no isolation and in nights we "spent" time with surroundin discobars. We tried to book place in a boat for all day trip, paid money and ... did not find places on boat.

Room Tip: Ask room to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We stayed at the hotel for three nights as we needed to be close to the centre of Phi Phi. The central location of the hotel (a minute walk to the centre, but far enough from the noise) is a huge plus. The beautiful view of the lagoon from our room was also a great plus. The rooms are comfortable and sufficiently large and the pool is fantastic. More sun lounges are needed though.

There are several issues with this hotel that REALLY require improvement.

Firstly, the staff - the people on reception are some of the unfriendliest I met in Thailand. Never a smile or a greeting, not interested in helping at all. Same applies to some of the staff at breakfast - you are made to feel really unwelcome. Two members of hotel staff watched as we lugged our bags to a boat and didn't make a move to help. They were two men, we were two women and an elderly man. Not impressive.
Reception staff are the first people your customers interact with - for goodness sake train them to at least to a standard where they will not look at guests like they are vermin.

Second - the bathroom. Bathroom is extremely dated. The toilet seat was discoloured and looked like it was stained with goodness knows what (it was in fact clean, but so old that it looked disgusting). The bathrooms are comfortable enough, they just need retouching. At least change the toilet lids please.

Third - wifi. Every other place I stayed in Thailand has free wifi. Cabana wants to charge $5 a day for wifi access. I had mobile internet via a cheap pre-paid sim card, so it didn't matter much, but it is a really bad look. Please get with the times and consider what you are doing to your reputation.

Overall, it is a decent hotel, comfortable and in a good location. But improvement is definitely needed if it is to keep up with the game.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyte_of_fancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.3 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
635 reviews
1.2 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#5 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
827 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
#15 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,398 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#10 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel

Property: Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Address: 58 Moo 7 Tambol Ao-Nang | Amphur Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Hotel Phi Island Cabana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing