We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Bamboo Bungalow on Ko Phi Phi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chong Khao Bungalow
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This review is for the basic non-airconditioned bungalow. As we stayed there during the "cold" season (January), the fan was sufficient to keep us cool at night. Everything was functional but very simple, e.g. there is no sink in the bathroom and the toilet needs to flushed using a bucket. There is only cold running water. That said, everything was clean and adequate for a few nights.
Plus Points:
Good location, close to a nice beach and far enough from the noisy beach bars
Basic but functional if all you need is a fan, a mattress and and a mosquito net
Minus Points:
Noisy construction site next door during the day only

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank w7fisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

My sister, father and I stayed in Chong Kao Bungalows for 2 nights in January, and I can safely say that I will never, ever go back. On arrival the staff were very rude, and baggage staff refused to help with our bags unless they were paid.
The room my sister and I were staying in, 108, had a broken, leaking sink that near flooded the bathroom when we turned on the tap, a dirty and broken toilet, blood stained sheets, no hot water, no working Internet, a broken fridge and very mediocre air conditioning. I was hardly expecting luxury but it really isn't much to ask for a clean room with working facilities.
But all of this paled in comparison to what we discovered the day after we left Phi Phi island (due to being on a bus to Bangkok for 12 hours and not needing our wallets) - our bank cards had been stolen from the room (on the only occasion that we had left handbags in there for no more than half an hour, on the morning of check out, in a locked room) and all of our bank accounts had been hacked (they didn't have our pin numbers) and completely drained. Stuck in Thailand, with -£3.26 in my account.
After a bank investigation it transpired that the cards had been brought from Phi Phi to Chonburi, hundreds of miles away in the north of Thailand to be hacked, which clearly suggests to me some sort of sophisticated operation that is in progress to trap tourists, of which Chong Kao appears to be involved.
Trust me, never ever go there - and never be foolish enough to think that locking your belongings in your room will keep them safe, there was no regard for 'guests' at all during the stay.
Oh and final word? The swimming pool that is pictured at the resort on internet sites? Doesn't exist.

Room Tip: Don't choose any room, go somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Holly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I have just stayed here for 3 nights. We booked it in early December after seeing some average reviews, and it was about the cheapest place we could find. The morning we were coming to Ko Phi Phi I looked at this place on Trip Advisor again and saw that since we booked it there had been a flurry of awful reviews. We were really anxious on what was about to await us... The terrible reviews below made me think I'd be sleeping in a delapated shack with no running water or air con and a filthy mess.

When we got there...It was absolutely fine! In fact it was pretty nice. It was a little bungalow as described, with a fairly spacious room that was clean and tidy, a flat screen TV (FOX Asia channel 17 for English shows), a HOT shower that was pleasant enough, and decent aircon. I really do not understand what the people below are fussing about. We paid £21 each a night to stay on an island which is effectively paradise. Yes it wasn't absolutely perfect, but it was cheap! And when you are on a beautiful little island with amazing weather and beaches a tons to do, you only need a bed for the night, which is what we got and I slept well every night. There was some building work going on nearby but they were only making noise between 10am and 6pm, and it wasn't loud enough to be a disturbance anyway.

Also this place was a great location, from the reception it was just 200m from a beautiful quiet beach which connected on to a more lively part (which still wasn't too crowded), and it was also only a 5/10 minute walk to the busy streets of Ton Sai, with beautiful seaside bars and restaurants. It was also especially quiet at night, something I believe is not afforded to most places on the island that are closer to the busy streets as they have clubs and bars blaring loud music.

The only annoyance for me is the wifi didn't work. However I didn't enquire at reception if the password had changed and if I had they may have fixed it.

I just wanted to leave this review for people that have booked and are now worried about staying here. For £21 a night in a beautiful island, it was fine. In England £21 would get you a lousy B&B in Blackpool, in Thailand it gets you a fairly decent place in one of the most beautiful islands in the world. These people below need to stop complaining, and if they want something better then pay more! I would happily stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Callum M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

The worst possible senario ever!
1. Disgusting room..sheets are dirty
2. No hot water...no cold water..actually no water at all.
3. The fridge doesnt work
4. Far from the town
5. Angry wierd owner..
6. Construction next to the rooms..cant sleep even during the late night hours
7. No housekeeping...no clean towels...I actually had to buy my own toilet paper.
8. They Dont accept credit cards. Only cash
9. At check out time they litteraly threw us out of the room. The owner opened the door without premission and put a big ugly plastic bag in the room and start "cleaning" it.
10. Thai kids playing soccer outside
11. Wifi doesnt work

The only good thing I had from my stay is the joy of leaving this so called hotel.
Honestly, if u want to enjoy beautiful PP island...just go ANYWHERE else..

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Yousef_Isaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The only positive thing about Chong Khao is away from the noisy pubs & restaurants. The flip side is having to walk a few blocks to find a decent restaurant. Negatives: bedroom was poorly constructed, full of mosquitos at night, staff is useless, never replace towels or bedsheets (even if you stay for a week), never clean your bungalow or the bathroom. Run away and find a bettter option in the city..

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rickspb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Positives:
- relative to other options on Phi Phi, not expensive (1000 B per night)
- fairly away from the party beach, so you don't have to stay awake until 5am due to noise (unless you want to)
- access to a smaller beach right in the backyard with some long boats available and very impressive views of the jungle, bay & cliffs
- there was an insect net dropping from the ceiling, which could be wrapped around the bed
- the staff picked us up from the Pier and carried our bags (about 30 kg worth of luggage) to the bungalow; they were also nice enough to let us leave our luggage at the reception on the departure day after the check-out time (our ferry was at 3PM and check-out was at 11AM)

Downsides:
- no hot water (despite this was advertised as included), no sink, no flush on the toilet (which was about 10 cm from the ground...)
- a loud fan
- no insulation whatsoever - light (along with insects, mosquitos and god knows what else) was coming in the bungalow through the walls, you could see outside from the crack between the wall and the roof :))
- poor internet connection
- it's a more distant location from the islands' "town center", poorly illuminated at nights, which can feel creepy
- don't be fooled by the pretty picture with the pool - nothing like that! the picture that has the "small pretty bungalow" as a description is a much more accurate representation of what you get.

Overall, would only recommend IF: you want to stay overnight on the island & would not mind sleeping on the beach, but would prefer a roof over your heads.

Room Tip: Probably the "comfort" bungalows could be a better option (they are still reasonably price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olga D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Good:
+Good aircon
+Bed
+Decent TV
+They meet you at the ferry and help to bring your baggage
+Location isn't too close to the center so relatively quiet.

Bad:
-Stuff!!! They're useless, helpless, most of them with extremely poor
English. For example we had a problem with jammed lock in a safety box.
They slowly called some service guy several times, then numerous attempts
to enter service code, then calling again, then returned with a bunch of
different keys and trying every one of them (several times) despite our
requests to find the key with a matching serial number on it... We were
prepared to worst... all our money, passports, laptops, phones were
inside. Though, finally he brought the correct key. It took in total 2
hours 15 minutes.
-Don't be surprised if your room isn't cleaned daily. When we complained
they told us we have to ask every morning to make up our room
-Smells in the bathroom pretty bad after shower (like sewers). There is
no ventilation at all
-Cut of internet for entire evening until the morning
-Several power cuts
-Construction site just outside
-Have you seen a nice swimming pool on the main photo?
Forget about it, it's fake.
-Finally, one guy, probably manager. Special thanks to him. He was so
rude... He asked to pay in advance for the rest of our stay. When we
suggested to pay day by day because we were really disappointed with the
service and described why, he just replied "No! If you don't pay, check
out now!" We were completely pissed off. So, we went and found another
place (much better:) And, obviously he refused to provide any discount
for all the problems we had.

Room Tip: Stay away from this place!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irinka_elf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.7 mi away
Phitharom Phi Phi Resort
Phitharom Phi Phi Resort
#25 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
#12 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
281 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi Hotel
Phi Phi Hotel
#8 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#6 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
650 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gypsy Sea View resort
Gypsy Sea View resort
#20 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#16 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chong Khao Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chong Khao Bungalow

Address: 231 Moo 7, Ko Phi Phi Don 81210, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: £15 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chong Khao Bungalow 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directions: Between Ao Ton Sai and Ao Lo Dalam, west of Phi Phi town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Chong Khao Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chong Khao Bungalow Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing