We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Ao Ton Sai
from US$102.49
More Info
from US$133.77
More Info
from US$49.20
More Info
from US$87.24
More Info
Reviews (394)
Filter reviews
394 results
Traveller rating
79
127
122
48
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
127
122
48
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main pier walk around long tail crystal clear water take photos beautiful beach ferry bay boats phuket vehicle tide cliffs passengers kayaking ko
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 394 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Had a ball shopping here :) Some wonderful burmese sales people who have great wit and are great fun to haggle with :) Got gorgeous pants, jump suits ( which become pants) , hanging hand carved wooden lights , hammocks, bongs and all sorts of knick knacks from 80 - 500 bahts... yum food stalls, massage and tattoo places... fish pedicures...live grills and sea food barbecues...kids, hubby and I had a ball

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank NJLahori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Crowded, noisy, grotty, not inexpensive. Great developing world feel. Good for Thai mango smoothie, break from ferry before Longtail to 3+ - 5+ star accommodation elsewhere on Phi Phi Don.

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank LetsGoFamily2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We didn't have much time in the area as we took the boat over from Krabi for a half day just to have a look. We walked around the back part of Ton Sai and most shops and establishments were shut down for the off season. I imagine it gets pretty packed in the high season. The cliffs are beautiful and the climbing looks great (we will go back some day).
We walked over to Ton Sai on a nice coast trail from the north end of West Railay which was much preferred to the longer, hotter trail inland we took on the return that dumps you on East Railay.

Date of experience: June 2013
Thank Capitana_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

This is the place to take those postcard photos, but unfortunately it has become overrun by tourists. Others have commented that it remains interesting and I love it - just watching the people and boats! Earlier in the day is probably better as the crowds are still on their way! There are also some nice little shops and restaurants just off the beach.

Supper at Khun Va was really pleasant and reasonably priced Thai meals.

Date of experience: May 2013
Thank PeterSB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

It is a beautiful place to stay for a few days. But like any other beautiful places, there are many other fellow travellers around. There are just too many people, bicycle and carts ( ferrying goods and food to restaurants, shops etc ) on the small and narrow roads.
So if you don;t mind the ppl , then this is a nice place to stay for a few days. Otherwise, go in the low season of May to October. There will be less ppl compared to the high and peak seasons.
Go up the hill for better views.

Date of experience: May 2013
1  Thank ckpeng04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews