We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High price for bad rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arayaburi Resort - Phi Phi Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arayaburi Resort - Phi Phi Island
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“High price for bad rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We have stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. Superior bungalow for booked for the price of 90 euro per night and what was the surprise when we saw the bungalow which they called superior!
All furniture was soooo old, it was dangerous to touch it, 'cause it could brake any moment. Balcony door didn't even close.
We started arguing and got another key with same bungalow and only the third one was good. It was quite far from the main building but everything was clean and new!
So, if you pay for superior don't hesitate to argue for better bungalow. Staff on the reception are not friendly or ready to help. New bungalows start from 5 and up.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chatting_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    63
    49
    34
    18
See reviews for
19
114
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

At first we were quite happy, we got picked up by a long tail that the resort sends for every ferry. Check in was hectic as everyone arrived at the same time. Our villa was far away, so no one wanted to take us up there so say waiting for a while. Staff were friendly, but we expected more for how much we were paying. It is at one end of the strip on the beach front and we enjoyed the walk each day. The room was very basic and had a small lizard inside. The hot wAter only works if you have the air con on for 20 mins at 18 degrees (cold for overnight, so can't just get up and shower). Room was clean enough but not decorated to a high standard. We were a bit disappointed, but resorts can charge more on phi phi because of its remoteness. We picked this one because it was beachfront, but my tip would be to stay at one not beachfront as the walk and view ends up being the same and you will get more for your money.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jessamae G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

This hotel was a disappointment. It was very far from the pier and a long walk to get to. Definitely not for the elderly or handicapped. The bungalow had a porch with bay view which was pretty. We requested 3 beds and got two and a horrible cot with a camp type mattress that wasn't clean. The room was clean but the bathroom terrible. The bathroom was cement, with poor lighting, camp type shower and toilet that didn't work and constantly clogged. I felt like I was on a high end camping trip not a luxury Island Hotel! The staff at the desk was downright rude about everything - and we weren't complaining just asking questions about were to go, eat, can we have more toilet paper. The pool was lovely, the beach only 20 feet wide. Definitely stay on the other side of the island were the beach is lovely. The breakfast buffet was below average. The whole island is run down and disappointing and overly expensive.

Room Tip: Go someplace else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have once again stayed at the resort on Phi Phi, our 4th time over a period of 8 years. We always have the Grand Deluxe Villa. We were surprised that the rooms haven't been renovated or looked after since our first visit here. It seemed to be quite run down. The toilet kept blocking 'all the time' and we had to just put up with it and wait and flush and flush till it worked. There was mould and mildew in the bathroom, broken tiles. The front door was gaping, so we had to block it off each night with TShirts so the mozzies wouldn't come in. The bed was reasonably comfortable. Was reasonably clean though and each day it was cleaned out. When we first stayed at this resort, it was so much better, and it has been the last two times it has gone downhill.
It was difficult at breakfast, as there were a lot of people who were eating furiously like it was their last meal, yelling across at each other. Staff were OK, but it was difficult to explain about my food allergies, as not many speak English. Lucky I brought most of my own food. But Dinner was lovely on the beach, as usual. With lots of choices and the main waiter spoke English, so could talk to the chefs about my food allergies, so that worked out better than breakfast.
The swimming pool was good, seemed to be improved from last time we were there. So there must be some work being done on the place. We went between the pool and the beach out front to swim, depending on the tides.
Reception staff, dreadful, need to have more PR training. Treated some people terrible. They need to smile and be more courteous and helpful.
In general, if you haven't been here before, you would possibly like it, but we had the comparison to the first few times we were here. You have to have strong legs and be reasonably fit to stay here as its a climb to the rooms, we love that part though, exercise. The resort is far enough away from the maddening crowd and noise and close enough to walk to Long Beach through the lovely bush.
Massage was great. Best part of the resort, its near the pool
Took a morning trip snorkelling, very enjoyable. Swam with the reef sharks!! Saw about 20 below me, they don't bite! Thank goodness. Used Adventure Tours.
Nice week there, but we won't be back.

Room Tip: Is there one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenandGazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

I have no complains about the hotel itself, and I have no idea what other posters are talking about when referring to an open sewer near the hotel.

My gripes come from the bad information the hotel provides:
- This hotel is block "A" of the BayView resort. The bungalows are different and while I haven't been inside them they look pretty much the same. We got a bungalow with a good view of the beach for no extra charge booking with Agoda, so I'm not complaining

- The hotel location if you put it in google maps or a maps app of your choice, is plain wrong. It makes it look like the hotel is much closer to Ton Sai village than it really is. You need to walk (from the pier) to the BayView hotel, go past all the bungalows of Bay View, and then get into your bungalow. This puts the resort at about 30min walking from the pier. This has its advantages (quieter and with nice private beach) and it's actually fine so long as you know where you're going

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view of the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderlustMiquel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarragona, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We moved to this resort after a bad experience at another place (Blue Sky) on Long Beach, Phi Phi Island. The bungalows are beautiful, each with their own terrace overlooking the beach. The rooms were modern and clean and everything worked perfectly except the hot water. It was fine for me, but it wasn't hot enough for my husband. The staff were friendly and very accomodating. We ate at the restaurant a few times and it was pretty good but not great, but there are plenty of other places to eat just a short walk away.

Room Tip: Try to get a bungalow with a sea view (they might all have sea views, I'm not sure) and keep in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaTarragona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We have had a great stay at this hotel and was very surprised at the last review as we stayed in bungalow A103 (grand deluxe) the next few nights from the 8th and was very impressed. The hotel is located at the end of the beach so away from the noise of the town but only a 5 min walk across the beach into town. Our room was perfectly adequate, with an amazing sea view, with steps next to the bungalow down to the beach and a 2 min walk to the pool, which had a basic swim up pool bar (which is a little pricey in comparison to local prices but just brought the free water from the room with us). It is low season so we didn't have a problem getting a sun bed by the pool. The room was clean and was a great size. The bathroom sink area (as referred to in the last review) was clean with a few wear and tear marks but nothing to worry about. We had no problems with Mosquitos , yes there was a small gap above the door and a few ants crept in but a quick spray of insect repellent soon stopped that! It was not an issue. We woke up every morning in awe of our sea view and headed down to a very nice buffet breakfast with a chef cooking your choice of eggs, cereals, toast, rice (!) etc etc! We did not expect a 5 star hotel as it is a 3 star hotel but we were very happy with our stay and so sad to leave this amazing island. If exercise or walking is a problem then you may want to think twice as the walking to and from the bungalows is quite hilly but we didn't mind (burnt off the many cocktails we consumed at hippies bar, a 5 min walk from the hotel and a must!) We would most definitely stay here again when we return to Phi Phi.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubbles5172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#4 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phi Phi Villa Resort
Phi Phi Villa Resort
#11 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.9 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#14 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#13 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
1.7 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arayaburi Resort - Phi Phi Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arayaburi Resort - Phi Phi Island

Property: Arayaburi Resort - Phi Phi Island
Address: 69/1 Moo 7 Laem Hin Beach | Ao Nang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arayaburi Resort - Phi Phi Island 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp and Expedia so you can book your Arayaburi Resort - Phi Phi Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arayaburi Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Arayaburi Hotel Ko Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing