We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel with worst staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arayaburi Resort - Phi Phi Island
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Hotel has very good location and a different experience it was. But staff was damn rude , they were treating us as we were staying for free. Hotel is on hill and i was refused by one of the staff member for shuttle service to my room when i was not well

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anuj V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

When you arrive a Phi Phi pier there is a representative from the resort to meet you and you are transported by boat over to the resort. The greeting is not typically Thai at check in, by European standards it is fine but compared to other hotels I have stayed with in Thailand I would say the welcome is less friendly, not unfriendly, but less friendly.
The rooms are large beech huts that are built on stilts and are located across a steep hill behind the reception building. If you have any problems with your health just don't come here, the trek to the room is challenging in the heat and the place is inaccessible for people with disabilities.
The bedroom is basic but is air conditioned and has a TV.
The bathroom we had was a bit disgusting. The toilet would not flush, this was the same in a lot of places around the island, I would advise you to hold onto excrement and deposit it in a toilet far from your bedroom. In addition to this I'm afraid toilet paper is a novelty on Phi Phi too.
The beech at the front of this hotel is a real winner, probably one of the most beautiful I have ever been on, spend as much time here as you can, its fantastic.
The food in this resort is fine, I ate nicer food in Phi Phi, I ate worse food in Phi Phi, it's pretty bland inoffensive food.
This is a place that a group in their 20's would enjoy but for older people and families it's not ideal.

Room Tip: You need to be physically fit to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimbarry100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The bungalow was good enough, a little bit far from the beach but the location of the Resort is good because is really close of Long Beach (the best beach in my opinion) but the service of the spa was good and the food and breakfast excellent.

The only thing is the employees of the front desk are not nice and their English is bad.

But in gral was good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FAZ79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We have stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. Superior bungalow for booked for the price of 90 euro per night and what was the surprise when we saw the bungalow which they called superior!
All furniture was soooo old, it was dangerous to touch it, 'cause it could brake any moment. Balcony door didn't even close.
We started arguing and got another key with same bungalow and only the third one was good. It was quite far from the main building but everything was clean and new!
So, if you pay for superior don't hesitate to argue for better bungalow. Staff on the reception are not friendly or ready to help. New bungalows start from 5 and up.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chatting_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

At first we were quite happy, we got picked up by a long tail that the resort sends for every ferry. Check in was hectic as everyone arrived at the same time. Our villa was far away, so no one wanted to take us up there so say waiting for a while. Staff were friendly, but we expected more for how much we were paying. It is at one end of the strip on the beach front and we enjoyed the walk each day. The room was very basic and had a small lizard inside. The hot wAter only works if you have the air con on for 20 mins at 18 degrees (cold for overnight, so can't just get up and shower). Room was clean enough but not decorated to a high standard. We were a bit disappointed, but resorts can charge more on phi phi because of its remoteness. We picked this one because it was beachfront, but my tip would be to stay at one not beachfront as the walk and view ends up being the same and you will get more for your money.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jessamae G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This hotel was a disappointment. It was very far from the pier and a long walk to get to. Definitely not for the elderly or handicapped. The bungalow had a porch with bay view which was pretty. We requested 3 beds and got two and a horrible cot with a camp type mattress that wasn't clean. The room was clean but the bathroom terrible. The bathroom was cement, with poor lighting, camp type shower and toilet that didn't work and constantly clogged. I felt like I was on a high end camping trip not a luxury Island Hotel! The staff at the desk was downright rude about everything - and we weren't complaining just asking questions about were to go, eat, can we have more toilet paper. The pool was lovely, the beach only 20 feet wide. Definitely stay on the other side of the island were the beach is lovely. The breakfast buffet was below average. The whole island is run down and disappointing and overly expensive.

Room Tip: Go someplace else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have once again stayed at the resort on Phi Phi, our 4th time over a period of 8 years. We always have the Grand Deluxe Villa. We were surprised that the rooms haven't been renovated or looked after since our first visit here. It seemed to be quite run down. The toilet kept blocking 'all the time' and we had to just put up with it and wait and flush and flush till it worked. There was mould and mildew in the bathroom, broken tiles. The front door was gaping, so we had to block it off each night with TShirts so the mozzies wouldn't come in. The bed was reasonably comfortable. Was reasonably clean though and each day it was cleaned out. When we first stayed at this resort, it was so much better, and it has been the last two times it has gone downhill.
It was difficult at breakfast, as there were a lot of people who were eating furiously like it was their last meal, yelling across at each other. Staff were OK, but it was difficult to explain about my food allergies, as not many speak English. Lucky I brought most of my own food. But Dinner was lovely on the beach, as usual. With lots of choices and the main waiter spoke English, so could talk to the chefs about my food allergies, so that worked out better than breakfast.
The swimming pool was good, seemed to be improved from last time we were there. So there must be some work being done on the place. We went between the pool and the beach out front to swim, depending on the tides.
Reception staff, dreadful, need to have more PR training. Treated some people terrible. They need to smile and be more courteous and helpful.
In general, if you haven't been here before, you would possibly like it, but we had the comparison to the first few times we were here. You have to have strong legs and be reasonably fit to stay here as its a climb to the rooms, we love that part though, exercise. The resort is far enough away from the maddening crowd and noise and close enough to walk to Long Beach through the lovely bush.
Massage was great. Best part of the resort, its near the pool
Took a morning trip snorkelling, very enjoyable. Swam with the reef sharks!! Saw about 20 below me, they don't bite! Thank goodness. Used Adventure Tours.
Nice week there, but we won't be back.

Room Tip: Is there one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenandGazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.8 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#18 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,317 reviews
0.5 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#6 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
662 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
#9 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Phi Phi Villa Resort
Phi Phi Villa Resort
#13 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
614 reviews
0 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#10 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,693 reviews
0.8 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arayaburi Resort - Phi Phi Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arayaburi Resort - Phi Phi Island

Address: 69/1 Moo 7 Laem Hin Beach | Ao Nang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: £66 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arayaburi Resort - Phi Phi Island 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Arayaburi Resort - Phi Phi Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arayaburi Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Arayaburi Hotel Ko Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing