We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great beach, not so good hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradise Resort Phi Phi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Paradise Resort Phi Phi
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great beach, not so good hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

This hotel is located in a very beautiful and empty beach (at least during low season). Our room was very spacious and overall comfortable. The view was a real plus, since we were beachfront and the walls are all glass doors with curtains for privacy. So this were the good points.
The bad points: it's impossible to contact the hotel, even get a phone number. The hotel can only be reached by boat (or trekking for like an hour) - upon arrival, we hired a taxi boat that left us in a different beach, which became a real pain. The hotel was under some kind of construction or renovation and as a consequence the restaurant was closed; no one cared about letting us know. So we ended up eating at another hotel for 2 days. Maybe because of the construction, one night there was a huge scorpion at the path when we were going back to our room. Finally, I asked for a late checkout and they denied it, even though there was like two more couples at the hotel. In summary, I would say this hotel is located in a beautiful place but is very poorly administered.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank polipatah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    222
    124
    61
    50
See reviews for
56
407
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Having read the reviews on TripAdvispr before we were slightly nervous when checking in but it all depends on what your expectations are of hotels on Phi Phi. If you are looking for high levels of service, room service and luxury amenities then pay the extra for somewhere like Outrigger, Zeavola or Holiday Inn. If you are looking for a place to stay on a great beach and with little need of the hotel staff or services, then keep reading.

Location
The hotel is located on long beach. On arrival into the port you can see long beach as the last stretch of sand on your right. On disembarking the ferry you need to carry your bags off the boat (a little tip is to ensure yours are top of the pile). From here follow the walkway out, pay the 20 Baht per person fee and then find a long tail boat. We found a man holding a sign for long beach. At first he quoted 400 Baht per person but actually the accepted price is 100 Baht per person one way and 150 Baht after 7pm. The boat will take you to long beach were you'll need to hop out into the water, ensure you are wearing flip flops and shorts. As you look to the beach you'll see another hotel named paradise on the far left, blue bay next and Paradise Resort is the next one - it's more to the right of the beach.
We choose this location as we didn't want to be in the middle of Tonsai itself.

Staff
We were greeted by a younger gentleman who checked us in quickly and showed us to the room. We saw, who we believed to be the manager, and can understand other travellers comments about him. Apart from requesting the woof password and at check out we didn't use the hotel staff. Wifi is free, you have 10hrs for every two days.

Rooms
This is probably the biggest sticking point as the hotel has the very basic rooms and then some high end rooms meaning the score rating on here is always going to vary depending on room type. We saw the high end room types and they looked great but for the top room types you could almost stay at the Holiday Inn or Outrigger. We opted for the basic room and paid £25 per room on a room only basis. The room had a double bed a couple of lights, wardrobe and a basic bathroom with the heater for the shower attached to the wall. There is a sign on the wall of the room listing what you can purchase from the hotel. This list included things such as the safe, beach towels etc - bring your own.
Each room is similar to a hut on a beach and we were one row back from the beach.

Food and drink
There was a little restaurant but it was closed for breakfast and dinner. We only had a drink in the afternoon. We ate at the paradise pearl on long beach. If you are facing the sea from the beach, it's the hotel to the far right. Here you could order cocktails for 120 Baht, beer from 90 Baht and soft drinks from 30 Baht. At lunchtime sandwiches started at 100 Baht and for dinner, Thai food started at 100 Baht.
They also have a small mini mart for any supplies you may need.

Excursions and onward travel
Evenings out in Tonsai were well priced and there were options to do tours of the islands from 500 Baht. Wee booked our onward travel to Ao Nang from long beach and including the long tail boat to Tonsai, it only cost us 450 Baht each.

Overall a good experience but if we went back on a holiday we would look at another property. There is another one next door, which I believe is called Hillside or something, which looked good. As I say, it may depend on the room type booked. It suited us but not for everyone.

I hope that was helpful, please contact me for further questions

Room Tip: Upgrade as much as possible as the lead in room types are very basic. The main photo from the manage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jame5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed in Paradise Resort for 2 nights in Phi Phi island and loved it here. Although the accommodation is a little rustic (not very luxurious at all) it still was great! We booked a Beach Font Bungalow and literally stepped onto the beach from our room. The views of Phi Phi island are beautiful, you can see Phi Phi Ley from our room. Long Beach is a fantastic beach to stay on and is away from the hustle and bustle and 'dirty' part of the island.

They even had free wifi which was great. The staff are friendly and generally stay out of your way.

The food is ok - you have to eat breakfast and dinner at the Paradise Pearl Bungalows next door - but it is a cute little restaurant, and quite busy. They make great Pina Coladas. Breakfast was very average - we ended up not eating there as it didn't look very appetizing.

Make sure when you arrive at the harbor that you don't get charged more than 100 baht for a taxi boat to the resort (5-10 min away) - we got ripped off and paid 500 baht for 2 of us, although they initially wanted to charge us 500 baht each.

Overall - a lovely stay, Phi Phi island is absolutely beautiful.

Room Tip: Stay in the Beach Bungalow rooms if possible where you have a view right on the beach. The others ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CMcLaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Paradise resort is situated on long beach which is beautiful and was the perfect location for my partner and I. It's a 30 min walk to the centre of phi phi through the jungle. Although sweaty, we thought this was a lovely walk. You pass beautiful beaches and follow a track through tress and flowers. It's all lit up and walking during sunset, you see some great views. Saying that, we did get a boat a few times. You can also get a boat back late night/early morning but this is a bit more expensive. Long beach was probably the most beautiful beach we stayed on in the whole of our 3 week trip. White sand but with some good snorkelling a few metres out. Bungalows were clean and basic but quite dark with just one window. You don't really feel like spending much time in your room as it us dark and ours was at the back so there's wasn't a view. Hotel restaurant and breakfast isn't the best- the restaurant seemed it be closed at night. Few other good restaurants around to get lunch. Staff seemed nice. The best thing about paradise resort is its location on long beach. It was a great base to explore phi phi but also to chill away from the noise and crowds.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceri-Simm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at the paradise resort for 3 nights in a standard room as that is all that was available. It wasn't the fanciest of rooms but we were already aware of that. The room was very clean, aircon worked and was close to the beach what more can you want especially when we didnt plan on spending much time in the room. Long beach is lovely and you have a great view of phi phi lay from the beach, we also went snorkelling near the beach resort and they were lots of fish close to the shore so you didnt even need a snorkel mask. The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful in helping us book transport for our onward journey to khao lak.
For the price we paid and the excellent location i would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kezb26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We accidentally ended up in long beach when I made a wrong request at the pier, but it was a good mistake. The beach here is beautiful and the views are worth seeing.
We booked directly with the hotel at a cheaper rate than Agoda or booking agencies and had an air conditioned room with sea views.
The downside to this side of the island is they charge you for everything... Ice, wifi, toilet use... Infact if they could charge you to breathe they possibly would.
Not the friendliest service and there are limited choices for eating - but, in comparison to the beach in the main part of Phi Phi Island this stop over is essential if you plan to visit the island. A long tail boat is 100 baht during the day or 150 baht return so consider that extra fee if you are paying to stay on the noisy and quite dirty other side of the island.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Phi Phi that isn't looking to party until the small hours of the morning.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Zena O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed here in the beginning of march for 3 nights (3 girls in our mid 20's with an added male guest on the roll-away bed). This is a stunning resort on a picture perfect beach. If you are looking to kick back and relax, this is the place to be. Also make sure to enjoy the beachfront massages. life doesn't get much better than this. The room we stayed in was HUGE. We loved the space with the high ceilings and the large balcony. Not only was the room big, but the bathroom was to that scale as well. Large shower with great water pressure. This hotel is just far enough from the hustle and bustle of the town. You are either a short long tail boat away (100 bht during the day and 150bht at night). OR you can be adventurous and take the trail into town. It takes about a half hour and you get to walk/hike along the beach. I recommend bringing a headlamp with you if you decide to do this at night. The trail is lit, but sometimes the lights are a bit spread out, which leaves room for tripping and falling. Maybe not the best to do after a few buckets at half past 3.

All that being said, this resort would have been perfect if not for the unfriendly staff. We were always dreading going down to breakfast because we knew we were going to be treated poorly. You could tell that none of them wanted to be there and they had no interest in serving your breakfast. I get that, but at least try to smile! Asking them to make you an omelet was like pulling teeth. The rest of the staff was also not that helpful when it came to outings or excursions or asking for advice. But this really didn't seem to bother us. If you are looking for a picture perfect beach, large comfortable rooms, and to be left alone by the staff, then this is the place for you! I would 100% go back, but this time I would just be more aware of what i was signing up for.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#4 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
1.2 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
1.4 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#14 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#5 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
2.1 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Resort Phi Phi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Resort Phi Phi

Property: Paradise Resort Phi Phi
Address: 138/1 Moo 7 | Long Beach, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Resort Phi Phi 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach Resort on a small island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Paradise Resort Phi Phi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Paradise Hotel Ko Phi Don
Paradise Resort Ko Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing