We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HUGE desapointement!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“HUGE desapointement!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We were VERY disappointed by the "no services" offered by this hotel:
- Expensive shuttle between the pier of Ko Phi Phi and the resort (300 bath/person for the round trip by long tail boat), same price then from Phuket pier to Ko Phi Phi pier!
- Too expensive for what is offered, really basics installations, all they wanted is your money!
-Check out at 11.00 a.m. otherwise fees (50 % of the room rates if check out at 11.30 and 100 % if check out later)
-Restraurant too expensive and impossible to eat somewhere else.
- Impossible to keep of the food in the bungalow.
- Unpleasant and rude staff at the reception and at the restaurant, no customer care.
- Very uncomfortable bedding, very hard bed and pillows.
- Shower of salt and cold water.
- Astronomical fees for the breaking of equipment of snorkling borrowed.
- No electricity between 6.00 a.m. and 6.00 p.m., cut automatically.
- No mosquito nets on windows and enormous holes in the roof, walls and bathroom.
-Path badly lightened between the restaurant and the bungalows, paving stones are badly installed, very dangerous.
- Many sea urchins in the water... DANGEROUS!
-Uncomfortable supplied beach chairs.
-Acces to internet not included (50 bath/ stay), wi-fi only at the reception.
-Paying by credit card extra 3% of your total bill and no withdraw machine at the resort.
-We could ear everything that was going on inside the bungalows around.

Conclusion we don't recommande and won't ever return to this hotel!!!
Everthing was about what you can't do, not very relaxing.
Sleeping on the hardess beds and pillows ever, still not relaxing.
Swimming with sea orchins, again not relaxing.
Staff rude and unpleasant, once more not relaxing.
Too expensive and alot of fees, another time not relaxing.

Please consider this review, we stayed there for 3 nights. We are back packers that have travel alot!!

Room Tip: We add a bungalow on very right of the beach (#26). ALL the employees were showering, laughing, talk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaSauterelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    372
    154
    108
    108
See reviews for
153
666
44
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I think you get the picture from the other reviewers, if you want electricity 24*7, hot and cold running water, TVs in your room, etc. then this isn't going to be the place for you. If on the other hand you are looking for tropical island living, with the jungle stretching up over you and the beach and sea on the other side, then this is paradise. It is pretty isolated and you have to get a long tailed boat, which takes about 25 minutes, to get there with your bags.Then there is the fun part of wading the last few feet through the sea, Robinson Crusoe style, to the beach. If you want, you can walk to Tonsai in just under an hour in daylight, worth it, as the views from the view point at the top of the island are spectacular. I wouldn't recommend trying to walk back in the dark as it is very much a jungle path down to Relax, and there certainly are no street lights.

It is very much a 'chill out' sort of place, the restaurant takes its last orders at 9:00 in the evening, though the bar is open late. You aren't going to get the wild night life of the town here. What you can do though is get up early and watch the incredible sunrise over the mainland to the east and just chill out in a hammock on the beach till breakfast.

The beach and the snorkeling off the beach is very good. If you have never dived before, you can even try a short sample scuba dive from the beach at high tide.

We found the staff there very friendly and helpful. It is a little on the pricey side for Thailand but this perhaps is justified by the fact that absolutely everything has to be shipped in by boat.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Please read our review, as we are very honest people and are in the hotel industry ourselves, therefore we know how things work.. This was a disgrace of a resort, worst place we have ever stayed in our life!




Apon arrival, you're made to jump in to the sea to get to the resort.. Was nearly sick from the 40minute boat ride to the middle of no where! Not very nice in the rain. Once we arrived, there were so many hidden extras. Check out at 11am and you were any later than 11, they charged 50% of room rate or after 11.30, they charged 100% of room rate.. Made you pay 50/100 baht a day to use wifi and could only use it around the reception area.. 
No atmosphere, no customer care, just rude rude people!
We decided to take a walk in to the town, which was 1hr30 hike up and down the mountains, as they wouldn't take us in on the shuttle boat.
If you are staying in a resort that is no where near any shops or any life, then they should offer shuttles free of charge at certain times of the day.. They charged us 300 baht every time we wanted to get to the pier.
No shuttle boat from the pier would take us back to the resort, because it was that far away, therefore phoned the resort at 6 to see if they could pick us up.
They said no and said the last boat was at 5pm.. Did not say anywhere that the last boat was 5pm!!
They refused to pick us up and told us to stay elsewhere or on the beach as they were not picking us up.
We ended up having to pay 1,200 baht to get back to the resort. Absolute rip off!!
We then wanted to take a nice shower.. No fresh water!! Only sea water.. The sea was cleaner than the bungalows and would have preferred to wash in the sea than their cold sea water shower. No electric from 6am till 6pm.. Therefore you wake up sticky as all the fans get switched off and no charge on mobile phones.
The worst part for us, was we wanted to dine in the restaurant and we said we didn't have cash, only card.. The lady at the front desk of the restaurant SNATCHED my husbands wallet from his hand and started looking for money..
I've never ever been treated so bad, who do they think they are snatching wallets from people's hands..
We were fooled from the pictures, looks like a lovely green resort.. No grass in sight, no lights to walk up to the bungalow with steps that aren't even placed correctly, meaning you fall over in the dark!
Walls weren't even painted, still had plaster board and smudged mosquito blood.
If we had paid 20€ a night, then maybe I would have let this go.. But we paid 45€ which was a complete rip off when there are no facilities!!
I honestly can't believe how bad this place was, we stayed only one night and checked out early and went back to Phuket.
Very disappointed as the whole experience gave us a negative vibe about phi phi..
Please pay attention to this post and take my advice!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed there for 3 days and we absolutely loved it. I wasn't sure about the whole "no electricity during the day" and "no hot water" thing, but once you get there you seem to stop caring about everything. After almost two weeks spent travelling around Thailand I truly did find a little paradise there. Time seem to stop there. You can rent a snorkelling mask there for 50 baht per day and it's definitely recommended. I spent all three days exploring the marine world there, the water is so clear! We had the top see view bungalow booked, which undoubtedly had a breathtaking view, but was quite a way up. It's ok once you know the road, but anyway if you are going to stay there be careful climbing up, I haven't noticed one of the steps ( was too distracted by the view ) and fell down quite badly. I'm very glad the guy who helped to carry the bag ran to call a doctor without even asking to do that, 5 min later all the cuts were desinfected and bandaged. But even this accident didn't spoil our stay.
Haven't noticed any mosquitos or cockroaches in the bungalow. Were waiting for monkeys' visit, but no luck here :)
Now to minuses ( no one is perfect). Prices in the restaurant are a bit higher due to transportation I think. Anyway, try to check your bill every time cause sometimes there can be added smth that you haven't ordered. Mistake or not it's better to check it, cause once you do check out in the end I bet you won't remember every little thing you had. Regarding transfers I think they could be free of charge for customers. You still have got another option to get to the main land, having a walk through the jungles, which I think is worth doing at least once. The viewpoint over the island is a must see.

Room Tip: top see view bungalow if you like watching sunrise and not afraid of climbing :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 785Diana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

This was my second stay at relax beach so I knew what to expect. If you want secluded beach peace and quiet this is place for you but don't expect mod con's. 2-3 nights is enough here. For the price I really thing there should be electric and hot water they are making a lot of money here on tourists. On our check out day they actually turned off the water in the shower a load of ants came out of shower head when we turned it on. Don't get me wrong we really enjoyed our stay the lovely beach and views from huts but this will be our last time here was glad to get into proper hotel room. Would recommend for short stay but could be so much nicer if owners weren't so interested in making money and thought a little more about guests.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

TO SUM UP: Loved this resort. Perfect for people looking for peace and quiet with a crystal-clear water private beach, excellent for families (the staff loved children). Not for people looking for a five-star experience. Better suited to those who don't mind roughing it a little, who don't mind leaving behind the comforts of home for a new experience and adventure.

I'm surprised by how much negativity this resort is getting, personally my partner and myself loved it, its perfect for anyone wanting to stay in a little slice of paradise without the noise and distractions. The beach was amazing, unlike other resorts we saw, it wasn't boxed off and it had many fish that were not shy to swim right up to you in waist deep water! Watch out for sea urchins though, they are everywhere on the island. When we arrived from Phuket the wharf is covered in people holding signs for hotels and resorts, they held our bags for us while we explored the main town until it was time for the boat to leave. The staff were all lovely and accommodating, and always down to have a chat and a laugh. There was only one lady at the restaurant that was a little rude, we called her Grumpy, but we managed a smile before our week was up! Our room was nicely spread for our arrival, with towels and a little decoration of flowers. The balcony was awesome, with little mat lounges to lay on, and there's always exotic wildlife to spot, whether it be a tiny bat, a giant lizard or bright blue butterfly.

But there are some things you need to know first: Know that you are going to be secluded, its a beautiful, private beach with only the one restaurant and bar. The only way in or out is an hour hike up the mountain to the View Point/Tonsai (main town, and I personally wouldn't opt for this option at night in the middle of a jungle) or by longboat, in which times are restricting due to the tide. The restaurant - being the only one available - is more expensive then you'll find in town and, depending on what your order, not so great on quality. Breakfast was always delicious, the specials going on at night were amazing, but all the Western food I tried wasn't worth paying for. The bar has over 90 cocktails, have fun with that, we sure did. You only have electricity from roughly 6pm - 6am, usually this was until 7am, but lets be honest - this wasn't a problem, who wants to stay in the room all day? We had the Relax Bungalow, about two rows back from the water. Its empty aside from a bed with a mosquito net and a place to hang your clothes, the bathroom was technically "outside" and was separate from the main room by a shower curtain. There is no hot water, and you must be careful not to overflow the toilets. Be prepared you may share your room with a wandering visitor (we had a little lizard, no biggy). But who cares? We were only there to sleep, didn't need a lot of furniture, it was an experience we'll never forget.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kassandrasacco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

From the moment the long boat brought us in to Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort I was amazed and taken back by the beauty of this resort. It's not your typical 5 star resort. Electricity runs from 6pm - 6am. The huts are basic but the traditional Thai Hut construction and views are amazing. The hotel staff was very accommodating. There were a lot of guests but it seemed so harmonious how everyone went about their stay enjoying the beach and the resort. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this resort over any of the fancier ones on the island. It is located on a remote site of the island. Check out their website ! I'll be back again !

Room Tip: Huts along the beach are nice and pricey. We initially wanted those huts but they were booked. We st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HafaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
1.2 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#4 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.8 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#5 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Viking Natures Resort
Viking Natures Resort
#1 of 86 in Ko Phi Phi Don
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
0.5 mi away
Tohko Beach Resort
Tohko Beach Resort
#10 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort

Property: Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
Address: Phak Nam Bay, Moo 8, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 86 Speciality Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Relax Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing