We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location & rooms, bad management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location & rooms, bad management”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights looking for a relaxing break on a beautiful beach after two nights partying by the main town (fun but very dirty and the main sewage outlet for the island). Relax was beautiful on approach & has great snorkelling off the beach (although tides do go down early, alike much of the island-so swimming is not always possible-but a beautiful beach none the less).

I was shocked by the managers unhelpful, rude and unwelcoming attitude on arrival. As friendly people, we are extremely easy to get on with, but the 'famous Thai smile' was seldom seen (with the exception of a lovely older waitress). The place is not cheap for what it is and I would have expected more. It felt as though their main priority was to get every penny they could from us, there was no charm and their customer service was dire. Hardly relaxing!!

I have travelled extensively & work in the travel industry; the place has bags of potential and with limited expectations does deliver in many ways. However, the owners would be wise to train their staff- most are young and sweet, but hardly spoke a word of English and just have no idea. Some seemed annoyed and bored and like it was a chore to do anything. Most looked miserable, there is no tipping culture due to the lack of basic training, therefore I imagine little incentive to impress or charm guests and limited worker satisfaction. A real shame as with a few tweaks this place could be magical. It seems that they are not interested in that and get enough bookings through their lonely planet review so why bother?!!!

We paid for one of the nicer rooms, which we could not fault if you don't mind no hot water ect..as we didn't. The trips snorkelling to near by islands were fun, although we did find the full day too much & didn't appreciate the last stop (on the most beautiful beach but we were all sunned out by then, hungry & tired).

Has potential- but overpriced & badly run.

Room Tip: If you can bear to give your money to these unwelcoming penny pinchers, go for a nicer room, in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tashawd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    379
    158
    109
    112
See reviews for
162
680
44
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was our second stay after visiting it 3 years ago. This time for 5 nights. It is surely the best located beach hotel, not only on Phi Phi Island, but also most probably in all of Thailand.
Right on a wonderful beach with many of the bungalows being lapped at by the warm waters of the Adaman Sea at high tide. Very good snorkeling can be done straight from the beach. And believe me, there is not many other places where you can do that in Thailand.
The food a wee bit expensive comparing with lets say similar dishes in Ao Nang but the food this time was very fresh and tasty and most probably better than anywhere else that we went on our 15 day visit in Thailand.
Our unhappiness was with the bungalow this time: We were told that we can't book a coral bungalow because they were being renovated. That was obviously not the truth as they were occupied by others during our visit. We took the recommended beachfront bungalow instead and was very disappointed. They must be the worst designed bungalows in the world! Differently from the coral bungalows, these have their bathrooms attached to the back of the bungalow resulting in no free flow of air through the bungalow...and believe me, they become steaming hot! It was very difficult to sleep in the evenings...and don't even think about an afternoon nap! Air conditioning could solve the problem. Make sure you go for the coral beach bungalows and not for the beachfront bungalows.
Another problem is that we were not warned that there would be no fresh piped water in the shower. So you take your shower with sea water and they are very skimpy with their bottled water: don't dare asking for an extra bottle! You receive one bottle (5 litre) fresh water to wash your face and brush your teeth every 2 days.
We were also not always happy with the service in the restaurant. There were some of the waiters that could be described as rude, but then there were also some of them that were very sweet.
We also still feel that the breakfast and transfer by long boat should be included in the price as you do not have any option but to make use of it.
We may perhaps reconsider next time if we are going to include Relax in our itinerary, but then again...where else are you going to get such an amazing location?!!!

Room Tip: What ever you do, don't go for the beachfront bungalows. The coral bungalows are far better and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monkeyman717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yaounde, Cameroon
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We enjoyed our one week stay at Phi Phi Relax beach resort. Give the affordable price, it delivers on its promises: quiet bungalows, not too crowded beautiful beach, good for snorkling, for fish and crabs, not for coral. The restaurant is ok, not cheap, but not too expensive, lot of choice, and some staff are more friendly than others (trainees more eager?). The bungalow itself was confortable, wifi access (small fee), with basic shower. The big problem, on Phi Phi island is the lack of fresh water. So you take your shower with sea water, with the hotel providing you with additional bottled water for smaller showers and brushing teeth. The trip to the village by long boat is ok, as well as to Phi Phi Lei, but expect this smaller island to be very crowded!!! Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: some rooms almost on the beach, so no privacy but convenient, some rooms behind, nice view (top view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pascal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed 3 times there and always a great and relaxing moment. If you look for resort style hotel, please don't even consider this one. But if you are looking for a few days in an amazing location to read, enjoy fresh fish and good fruit juice... This is a sure bet.
Price a bit expensive but front beach bungalows definitively make you feel happy and forget all the rest every morning.

I recommend this place and will come back again and again.
Special mention to the waitress for her kindness, smile and proactivity

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Great resort in the middle of nature, beautiful beach and friendly welcoming atmosphere! Snorchling right in front of the resort restaurant, authentic wooden/palmtree bungalows, staff speaks very basic English but didnt have any problems, very helpful. Great food in the restaurant! Saw monkeys there too! Take money with you to the View Point. Probably not for single party travellers. We really liked a lot our four nights there!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZuziQuatro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Seriously negative reviewers, what is the point in staying in a remote resort when you expect electricity and internet 24/7?? This place is fantastic and the food is gorgeous! Our room was amazing and so so clean with fantastic views, yes the electricity goes off early in the morning meaning the fan goes off and it gets a bit warm but you're in the jungle what else do you want?! I don't understand people who expect modern western amenities in the middle of the Thai jungle? This place is definitely relaxing, far from the touristy centre and the staff are great! Yes as another reviewer mentioned, we had to jump off the boat waist deep but it all added to the experience and everyone on our boat had a laugh about it; sometimes the sea can be rough meaning they can't get right into shore. The bar is brilliant and they don't hold back on the measures, and the food is delicious. Huge portions for a good price. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and wished we had more time at the place. There's some beautiful fish close to shore meaning snorkelling is a lot of fun and you can spot plenty monkeys in the jungle trees! If you're looking for an authentic jungle stay away from the madness of tonsai village, then this is the place for you! Perfect for honeymoons and couples/families wanting to enjoy some peace and quiet.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Habibti25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We were VERY disappointed by the "no services" offered by this hotel:
- Expensive shuttle between the pier of Ko Phi Phi and the resort (300 bath/person for the round trip by long tail boat), same price then from Phuket pier to Ko Phi Phi pier!
- Too expensive for what is offered, really basics installations, all they wanted is your money!
-Check out at 11.00 a.m. otherwise fees (50 % of the room rates if check out at 11.30 and 100 % if check out later)
-Restraurant too expensive and impossible to eat somewhere else.
- Impossible to keep of the food in the bungalow.
- Unpleasant and rude staff at the reception and at the restaurant, no customer care.
- Very uncomfortable bedding, very hard bed and pillows.
- Shower of salt and cold water.
- Astronomical fees for the breaking of equipment of snorkling borrowed.
- No electricity between 6.00 a.m. and 6.00 p.m., cut automatically.
- No mosquito nets on windows and enormous holes in the roof, walls and bathroom.
-Path badly lightened between the restaurant and the bungalows, paving stones are badly installed, very dangerous.
- Many sea urchins in the water... DANGEROUS!
-Uncomfortable supplied beach chairs.
-Acces to internet not included (50 bath/ stay), wi-fi only at the reception.
-Paying by credit card extra 3% of your total bill and no withdraw machine at the resort.
-We could ear everything that was going on inside the bungalows around.

Conclusion we don't recommande and won't ever return to this hotel!!!
Everthing was about what you can't do, not very relaxing.
Sleeping on the hardess beds and pillows ever, still not relaxing.
Swimming with sea orchins, again not relaxing.
Staff rude and unpleasant, once more not relaxing.
Too expensive and alot of fees, another time not relaxing.

Please consider this review, we stayed there for 3 nights. We are back packers that have travel alot!!

Room Tip: We add a bungalow on very right of the beach (#26). ALL the employees were showering, laughing, talk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaSauterelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
1.7 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#6 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Viking Natures Resort
Viking Natures Resort
#1 of 86 in Ko Phi Phi Don
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
0.8 mi away
Tohko Beach Resort
Tohko Beach Resort
#11 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort

Property: Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
Address: Phak Nam Bay, Moo 8, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 86 Speciality Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Relax Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing