We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families (too)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great for families (too)”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed at Relax Beach w/ our kids (3 & 7yrs). Loved that our youngest could play in the shade under the big tree on the beach while the older snorkeled nearby. Restaurant menu was comparatively varied. The resort may be on the more expensive side but it was worth the splash.
Yes, there were bugs - and a small, friendly frog - but where in Thailand don't they have bugs? We stayed over Christmas which was nice and we would absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Garden View Bungalow which was close to the beach to have a breeze and a peek to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    383
    159
    112
    113
See reviews for
164
687
44
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

It is the best hotel I've ever stayed. The islands are the best I've ever seen. And above, I have not stopped spinning around the island to meet people. It is a wonderful place. The food and service is perfect people. They are alert to any desire you have and do not hesitate to please you! To come up with the perfect partner. For friends is better any other hostel where you can meet people that this binge like you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Wow what a beautiful part of the world to be in. You spend your hard earned cash, you time and energy travelling to the other side of the world to a small beach resort on koh Phi Phi... the beach here is amazing not to mention the cozy little rooms tucked away in the trees. Nothing could spoil this right? WRONG This resort is totally destroyed by their terrible TERRIBLE staff and service. We arrive, day one. A sign is held up high to travel to the resort by boat... little did we realize we have to pay for this their and back... its 150 baht by the way about £2.70 e/w. Ok we can skip that. How about checking into your room, going down for dinner @ 8.30 pm to be told quite abruptly dinner closed at 8.30 and when your girlfriend can't decide on her order in 30 seconds, the short tempered staff member huffs and puffs and rolls her eyes. Dinner closes at 8.30?!?! Ok... lets move on. Now for most people sleeping in on holiday is a must - right? Not here, at relax beach resort they build a cabin right next door to you at 7am. BANG BANG drill drill.... So you walk down to complain to be promised a new room (which we were given) with 1000baht off the price (just over £24) thats great when you only pay £30 for the room anyway! (lets come back to this later).... So, internet is 50 baht ... why the hell are we paying for internet these days? tours are overpriced and you have to RENT EVERYTHING (snorkeling etc).Oh and by the way you only get electricity in your room from 6pm to 6am... again stumped. Note there is a water shortage on the island so dont think you're getting a fresh hot shower... its cold sea water all the way! (suppose thats not the resorts fault)... So after 2 days its check out time... lets get the bill. So that 1000baht refund for my room, not a refund... thats how much they are charging me so i saved .... wait for it.... £6!!!!! Oh thank you relax resort for your rude staff and rubbish customer service... i'll never come anywhere near this place again!

Room Tip: Just dont visit this place go anywhere else but here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emdosmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Sure, it's a beautiful view. But the huts are simple, and in April, water was in short supply, so we were showering in smelly, brackish water. Unless you are willing to take a boat to some other part of the island, you are stuck eating and drinking there. The menu was okay, but after a few days (especially for vegetarians) it is dull. Apart from one or two people, the restaurant staff were surly and incompetent. And if you value food hygiene, then DON'T use the restaurant bathroom, or you'll see all the kitchen staff use the toilet then head straight back to the kitchen without washing their hands! Euch! At Relax, and Koh Phi Phi generally, you are paying for the view.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PenhPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had been experiencing different aspects of Thailand, wanting to get a well rounded education of this beautiful country and it's people. Coming here from Canada in april the warmth was greatly appreciated and so was the AC in our accommodations. We arrived at Phi Phi and grabbed a long boat taxi to Relax Beach Resort, once in the boat I mentioned to my wife that the electricity was turned off in the cottages during the day; she said there was no way she was going to stay without AC from 6am to 6pm, I said that I just wanted to experience the beauty of this place for a day. We traveled over the clear blue water, landed and were given the kind of cottage that is dreamed about in exotic vacations. With drop down netting suspended above the beds, rich brown woods, thatched roofs and overlooking the Gulf of Thailand. The restaurant and bar situated along the beach, again in rich brown woods and hanging lights. From the trees with branches extending over the water (at high tide) were a couple of hammocks, completing the picturesque resort. After about 4 hours my wife asked if we could book another night. We enjoyed everything, the food was well rounded and fairly priced, the staff were excellent and we made friendships that we will miss and wonder how there life is going to work out. The monkeys come down at specific times and shake the branches of fruit trees to get the ripe fruit to drop for feeding. The daily excursions to nearby islands provide other beautiful beaches, snorkeling with tropical fish in the corals, which we would have missed if we had left. The second day my wife suggested we book another day, and we did.On the morning of the 4th day I said we should get on with our exploring Thailand, and my wife thought we should just stay at Relax and enjoy our days that were available; big change from her initial thoughts. We were so glad we had made Relax a choice and we went on with our exploring.

Room Tip: In concerns to childrens activities, I choose this because of the beach and the possiblity of explor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights looking for a relaxing break on a beautiful beach after two nights partying by the main town (fun but very dirty and the main sewage outlet for the island). Relax was beautiful on approach & has great snorkelling off the beach (although tides do go down early, alike much of the island-so swimming is not always possible-but a beautiful beach none the less).

I was shocked by the managers unhelpful, rude and unwelcoming attitude on arrival. As friendly people, we are extremely easy to get on with, but the 'famous Thai smile' was seldom seen (with the exception of a lovely older waitress). The place is not cheap for what it is and I would have expected more. It felt as though their main priority was to get every penny they could from us, there was no charm and their customer service was dire. Hardly relaxing!!

I have travelled extensively & work in the travel industry; the place has bags of potential and with limited expectations does deliver in many ways. However, the owners would be wise to train their staff- most are young and sweet, but hardly spoke a word of English and just have no idea. Some seemed annoyed and bored and like it was a chore to do anything. Most looked miserable, there is no tipping culture due to the lack of basic training, therefore I imagine little incentive to impress or charm guests and limited worker satisfaction. A real shame as with a few tweaks this place could be magical. It seems that they are not interested in that and get enough bookings through their lonely planet review so why bother?!!!

We paid for one of the nicer rooms, which we could not fault if you don't mind no hot water ect..as we didn't. The trips snorkelling to near by islands were fun, although we did find the full day too much & didn't appreciate the last stop (on the most beautiful beach but we were all sunned out by then, hungry & tired).

Has potential- but overpriced & badly run.

Room Tip: If you can bear to give your money to these unwelcoming penny pinchers, go for a nicer room, in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tashawd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was our second stay after visiting it 3 years ago. This time for 5 nights. It is surely the best located beach hotel, not only on Phi Phi Island, but also most probably in all of Thailand.
Right on a wonderful beach with many of the bungalows being lapped at by the warm waters of the Adaman Sea at high tide. Very good snorkeling can be done straight from the beach. And believe me, there is not many other places where you can do that in Thailand.
The food a wee bit expensive comparing with lets say similar dishes in Ao Nang but the food this time was very fresh and tasty and most probably better than anywhere else that we went on our 15 day visit in Thailand.
Our unhappiness was with the bungalow this time: We were told that we can't book a coral bungalow because they were being renovated. That was obviously not the truth as they were occupied by others during our visit. We took the recommended beachfront bungalow instead and was very disappointed. They must be the worst designed bungalows in the world! Differently from the coral bungalows, these have their bathrooms attached to the back of the bungalow resulting in no free flow of air through the bungalow...and believe me, they become steaming hot! It was very difficult to sleep in the evenings...and don't even think about an afternoon nap! Air conditioning could solve the problem. Make sure you go for the coral beach bungalows and not for the beachfront bungalows.
Another problem is that we were not warned that there would be no fresh piped water in the shower. So you take your shower with sea water and they are very skimpy with their bottled water: don't dare asking for an extra bottle! You receive one bottle (5 litre) fresh water to wash your face and brush your teeth every 2 days.
We were also not always happy with the service in the restaurant. There were some of the waiters that could be described as rude, but then there were also some of them that were very sweet.
We also still feel that the breakfast and transfer by long boat should be included in the price as you do not have any option but to make use of it.
We may perhaps reconsider next time if we are going to include Relax in our itinerary, but then again...where else are you going to get such an amazing location?!!!

Room Tip: What ever you do, don't go for the beachfront bungalows. The coral bungalows are far better and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monkeyman717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
1.7 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
818 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Viking Natures Resort
Viking Natures Resort
#1 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#6 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,378 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
2.2 mi away
Zeavola Resort
Zeavola Resort
#1 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort

Property: Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
Address: Phak Nam Bay, Moo 8, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 88 Speciality Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Relax Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing